Developer Turtle Rock Studios and publisher 2K Games are allowing any Xbox One or PC owner to play the full version of Evolve for free starting on Sept. 4 at 12:01 a.m. Pacific time (3:01 a.m. Eastern time). The sci-fi 4v1 first-person shooter was released earlier this year.

2K Games says:

"You can experience everything Evolve has to offer: Four Monsters, 18 Hunters across four unique classes, five game modes, 19 maps, and the newly released Hunt 2.0 - all playable for free this weekend. Following the free weekend, players that purchase the game will retain the progress they earn in the base game (not DLC unlocks)."

Anyone who has already bought the full game can still try out all the post-release DLC characters for free this weekend. The Xbox One free play period will end at 11:59 p.m. Pacific time on Sept. 6 (2:59 a.m. Eastern time) while PC players get a few extra hours before it end at 10 a.m. Pacific time on Sept. 7 (1 p.m. Eastern time).

Source: Evolve