Here's an interesting tidbit about Microsoft's My Phone sync service, which is still in beta but will go mainstream as part of the Oct. 6 Super Duper Windows Mobile 6.5 launch day. According to this pic posted on Twitter by I Started Something's @longzheng, a fee "may apply" if you need to "locate a lost phone on a map, remotely lock it or wipe it clean" using My Phone.

The reasoning behind that? Your guess is as good as ours at the moment. Maybe it's to prevent overuse. Maybe it's to prevent abuse. Maybe it's just a pain to do. Anybody have a better idea?