Halo Infinite beta faces servers errors as first multiplayer test begins

Halo Infinite
Halo Infinite (Image credit: Xbox Game Studios)

Microsoft has launched its first Halo Infinite beta, providing the latest hands-on opportunity with the next iteration of its sci-fi shooter. The test, formally dubbed the Halo Infinite technical preview, promises two weekends with various multiplayer maps and modes. The first Halo Infinite play session has gone live, with multiplayer matchmaking restricted to scheduled four-hour playtimes.

The first session in the Halo Infinite schedule kicked off at 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT/6 p.m. BST on Sept. 24, opening the preview build to the globe, allowing for matchmaking against real-world players. The sudden influx in players has unsurprisingly pushed Halo Infinite to its limit, with some experiencing connectivity issues on console and PC.

The issue appears to be isolated to only certain players, with some unable to log in to Halo Infinite, facing a lengthy initial loading screen. Matchmaking seems to operate a little smoother once in the menus, albeit with server errors still a possibility, given the work-in-progress nature of the build. However, like all scheduled Halo Infinite beta times, servers are expected to remain online for four hours, before going offline, and returning at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT/1 a.m. BST.

While there's no formal workaround, those encountering issues are best waiting it out until the initial rush subsides. We've found success in restarting the game, or your console/PC, to improve the chances of a successful log-in. Our ongoing list of Halo Infinite bugs and launch issues tracks prevalent errors players may encounter throughout the test.

Matt Brown is Windows Central's Senior Editor, Xbox & PC, at Future. Following over seven years of professional consumer technology and gaming coverage, he’s focused on the world of Microsoft's gaming efforts. You can follow him on Twitter @mattjbrown.