Skip to main content

Windows Phone 8.1 Update 1 rolling out to Developer Preview users

Microsoft is rolling out the Update 1 release for Windows Phone 8.1 Developer Preview versions, as Microsoft promised they would do last week.

WPCentral has received a number of tips from readers who have installed the Developer Preview version of Windows Phone 8.1 on their smartphones, telling us that they have a new update to download.. These reports are collaborated by similar reports in posts in our message board forums.

update 1

One tipster send us the screenshot of his update, shown above, which shows the versions numbers of what looks like two separate updates: 8.10.12400.899 and 8.10.14147.180. It would appear that the latter version numbers is in fact Update 1.

As we have reported before Update 1, also known as GDR 1, adds a few new features to Windows Phone 8.1. The biggest feature is Live Folders, which allows users to dynamically create folders on the Start screen. Other new features include the Apps Corner, SMS merge and forwarding and much more. It should also add Cortana support for the UK and China, and India, Australia, and Canada residents can check out the US version of Cortana officially for the first time.

What do you think of Microsoft releasing Update for Windows Phone 8.1 Developer Preview users and if you are one of them, what do you think of the new features and improvements.

Thanks to all of our readers who tipped us!

1000 Comments
  • Oh man :o
    this is awesome, my 930 should be delivered today too :D
  • got it (I'm still working on August update for xbox)
  • If you need an invite, let me know.
  • I would love an invite. My gamer tag is xxxx VIPER xxxx. Thanks
  • I would like one please. GT is TheLostTaichou.
  • Can I get an invite also?  GT: WesdaRuler
  • I would love an invite if you have any more. BlueFrogSlayer
  • Send me an invite please! :). D0minuce. The 0 is a zero.
  • Me too guys.. anuchazz is my GT :D
  • That's would make my day my gamertag is jpspiderman
  • I'd like an invite please. zombiekillin. Thank you very much.
  • If possible an invite would be amazing! GT is IzaacJ
  • I woild love an invite. was a beta tester for xbox 360... If you dont mind my gamertag is sy kane :)
  • Would love an invite too. Gamer tag: MrAdelphi02   Thanks :D
  • GT: blumattgic
  • If you could please send me one. Gamertag: AussieMS
  • GT: NLZerox
  • can i get an invite too please? GT: thatuxguy
  • Me too, gamer tag: khundara
  • Yes please invite I never get invited gt: GameHEADtime thank you!!!
  • I know you're probably quite annoyed with all of these responses, so I apologize if I am adding to that. I am an Xbox fan and so was quite disappointed when I wasn't invited to be a beta tester (I strangely seem to miss out on all of these things), so an invite would be outstanding if it is not too much trouble. Thanks! My gamertag is HarbingerOfAres
  • Please Please send me an invite, that would make my week haha GT: ChiSox1906
  • me too!!: switchke   thx man :D
  • jigerdoodles117 :)
  • I was supposed to have gotten an invite from widergod. Never came. Would still like to get one. GT is ljam2003. Thx.
  • Invite please Maxpower818
  • I would love an invite. My gamertag is afernandez1027  , Thank you
  • I've been trying to get an invite too, been asking but no one has done so.... gt is wonder1070 if you're able to. Thanks
  • Can you help with an invite User:  guariol
  • Would love an invite as well. GT warzone3
  • If you aren't sick of this already, me too please :D BarnesMorgan2
  • Let me get in on requesting an invite as well: dead jim
  • Would love an invite to the preview - GT: DeeEmV1 Thanks!
  • Me too, GameTag langlovefeng
  • Holly at me too WPC- Fam: Siang247
    THX in advance :-) Posted via Windows Phone Central App
  • Me: ProvenMaXi32
  • I would love to get an invite too! GT: benjaxrivera
  • Hi Friend, I'm in India and facing freezing problems with my Lumia 920 purchased last year in December 2013. The phone is currently with Windows Phone 8.1 Cyan update. Since then the screen freezes once a week or sometimes once in 2-3 weeks. Please suggest how can I install 8.1 Update 1 Developer Preview in case if it has addressed any of the issues prevailing. Please suggest. Thanks Mukund  
  • Me too? :) TortuousSplash  
  • Hey! I'm crazy looking for the update! Can you send me an invite as well bro? My GT is Antonopoulos92
  • Now we can perform internet sharing via Bluetooth OR WiFi! :)
  • GT XeroJC07
  • Just seen a screenshot appear on my twitter timeline from one of my friends back in the UK :) https://twitter.com/ZeroInfinite/status/496269000876523520
  • Hahaha wpcentral today you guyz are late. And users are lookin mpre advance.
  • Or you know time zones
  • I think on the contrary we should thank wpcentral team for educating us and making us aware of these things.. Thanks Guys!!
  • Well, they do help some of us. I, for one only recently did a hard reset and just now realized that I forgot to sign in through the developer preview app. :D
  • I did the same, thank you wpcentral for the updates!
  • Haha you are so stupid. Why are u even on this site posting u mindless fool.
  • Updating my 620 right now :D
  • Me too :) 620 FTW! :D
  • +620
  • +620 ;)
  • +620
  • +620 !!
  • +520
  • My 720 pakistan Cv
  • did you install it ,i had the update now it is stuck on boot installation?  
  • Me too
  • lucky u
  • Read this article, checked for update, and installed it. But I cannot create folders as far as I know...
  • Okay, these folders are pretty fancy looking.
  • 1020 is updated. Most of my issues have gone away. Much faster overall, WordFlow is even faster.
  • Yeah Pretty darn cool!  I love the way they implemented it.
     
  • Live Folders are surprisingly good! Quick and smooth to open, and the animation of the micro-tiles dropping out is cute too. Beats the pants off App Folders, but that was always a stop-gap. This makes playlists much more useful: you could always pin XBM playlists, but for some reason the small tiles had no title, so you couldn't tell them apart unless they were at least medium-sized: daft. But now I can put a bunch inside a folder, and not have them take up the whole screen! Games! By putting all my games in one folder, it's like having the old hub back! Way the hell faster than using the Games app, which is totally pointless now.
     
  • Where do you find the settings to do the folders?
  • There are no settings for the folders.  You simply drag one live tile on top of another live tile and it forms a folder, just like in iOS and Android.  You and resize the live tiles within the folder as well, and all live tiles show the number when you get a new message.  Also, still shows up in Action Center. Example:  If you get an email for Yahoo, Yahoo icon shows a 1 on the small icon in the live tile folder.  You will also get a notification in the action center.  Tapping the live tile folder expands the folder to show all the live tiles within it (Yahoo Live Tile shows email if set to "wide", shows number of emails if set to Med or Small).  Tapping the Yahoo live tile opens the Yahoo email and  you can read it. To move a live tile out of the folder, just tap the folder, expand and drag the live tile out of the folder onto your start screen. Hope this helps.
  • Yes they are very...very nice!  We just need the ability to create any size tile we want and the circle will be complete.  I'd like my folder to take up the entire row and a 1 to 2 tile wide vertile tile option at least.    
  • where is the samsung update for 8.1 ? The legal one not the developer mod
  • Someone doesn't know what legal means...
  • Not working, it downloads ok, starts installing then stops with the error cannot be opened, tried 5 times, this sucks donkeys.
  • My login at developer mode could not connect do to mail account fail ! my backup account is not in order anymore ! 30 day waiting period ! And other steps as found on google also no good outcome ! So now i have to wait for the update for regulars .  
  • Uhhm need help.My 521 has been updating for hours... 
  • downloading already :)
  • How much size to download?
  • It does not tell as far as I'm concerned
  • One hundred percents
  • +100
  • LOL
     
  • Its 21 MB.  
  • you've been fooled spidey!
  • Around 180MB
  • Hell yeah!
  • i have just downloaded the developer for preview. but i have not registered as paid user. how do i download it on my lumia 620 ??
  • I'm guessing you're taking about a paid developer account. But if your a casual user, just create an app studio account. Search wpcentral for "Preview for developers". You'll get the answer.
  • Its free just register for free developer account.
  • Around 200mb. Checked using Data sense
  • That's plenty big!
  • I LOVE LIVE FOLDERSS!!! :D
  • How do you get to them? I just installed the update and I don't see it.
  • Press and hold a tile like you're going to resize it and drag it on top of another tile. Give the folder a name, resize the tiles in the folder if you want. Play around, have fun.
  • Thank you! I guess I just wasnt lining them up correctly.
  • Thanks for the tip! I was going crazy trying to find how the Live Folders worked!
  • I have a 1520 with official AT&T 8.1 + Cyan. I had to rollback to 8.0 to get that. I knew this update 1 was coming this week, so I reinstalled preview for developers, and I have the update plus kept cyan and all the rest. Beautiful.
  • I started thw download. Bring it on :)
  • Bing it on? :D
  • Awesome!!
  • Still showing "Your phone is up to date"....
  • Make sure you've checked the box in preview for developers app
  • Yup, it's checked but there's no update :/
  • Hmm that's weird i got the update after the second try !
  • Maybe its still not world wide available... btw I'm from Serbia..
  • Why would you still have the preview for developers app installed? It doesn't do anything after the initial set up?
  • Sure it does. It enables you to get updates like today's.
  • Restart your phone and try again (If you haven't tried yet)
  • Hmm
  • Very deep
  • Is he still thinking?
  • Updating my 1520
  • I know this wasn't confirmed but rumored but does anyone know if double wide, double height tile is in this update?
  • According to Daniel, it was a faked rumor. Then again, several Nokia Facebook pages published different pictures but with the same double-height tile.
  • I think that the apps have to specifically enable the double wide/high tiles with an update when the SDK has support for it, if they included the new sizes.
  • Can the update 1 be downloaded over 3g connection
  • it isn't.
  • what country are you in ?  Nothing yet on my 1520 in UK
  • I have 1520 in UK. Its almost 3pm and I've checked through developer preview app and update is now downloading
  • Downloading here in Italy...Lumia 820 DP
  • Downloading here in Philippines. +1320
  • Hi.. im also from the Philippines, how were you able to get the update? thanks! Nothing shows when i check for update. 
  • Do you have a developer preview installed?
  • Developer preview? er.. no? is that an app? How do i get that?
  • Yup. Its an app. Download directly from the store and when installed, accept the terms and conditions. Go to settings then check your phone update. Bam!
  • Perfetto
  • Downloading in Mexico
    +720 :D
  • How much is the update size for 720??
  • 153mb (data sense info)
  • Were you able to download over data, not Wi-Fi?
  • Downloading here in Egypt +520 :D
  • +520 Brazil ;D
  • Downloading in Belgium as well...
  • +930
  • Do anyone knows what will the new features in this?
  • Lol don't you follow the wpcentral news?
  • Big is, native folder support
  • Cortana in beta form or the UK and China...
  • I guess you don't visit this site too much :D You might want to read this, http://www.wpcentral.com/official-update-1-windows-phone-81-next-week-preview
  • Most important is Cortana alpha.. For India!
  • You're lucky! Here in Sweden WP is growing fast (according to one of the biggest SPs polls WP was the best mobile OS available) and Cortana will never get here probably, like Bing Rewards, Siri, TellMe or any real voice command or PA. Wouldn't mind if Cortana was speaking English as long as she understand Swedish, specifically å,ä,ö.
  • I'll second this from Denmark...!
  • how do you use that? I'm in Australia
  • Yes, it offers you to read the article first before posting.:)
  • Checking
  • Well, damn! Posted via Windows Phone Central App
  • Currently downloading it on my 820
  • Can't find the folders option
  • i haven't got the update installed yet, but i think you drag a tile onto another tile
  • Yeah.. Just drag a tile onto another tile and let go. Folder opens which can rename. Tap folder to open folder view and again to close. Live thumbnails toi. Very nice!!!!
  • Love the new folders option, it is smooth and looks great, and really easy to use.
  • Just open App Folders/Create a Folder/Give it a name/Add App...
  • That's...not what he was talking about...
  • I figure it out later but the post was alrady up... Sorry SABIONDO..
  • Yea that's defintely not working and neither is mulitple select on text messages for forwarding or deletion.  Hmm interesting it looks like it failed to update on the HTC 8X
  • In the post it says there might be two updates at the same time, maybe you only received the first one and will get the other one later today.
  • Just hold an app on top of another for a longer period of time :p I couldn't get it to work at first too :)
  • Downloading as I type this
  • OMG ME TOO BUT AS I TYPE THIS!
  • Me too
  • Installing as i type this
  • Making a call while installing :)
  • Enjoying the new app folders while typing this. Heeeyyyyy....
  • Ok, ok. I was dictating it.
  • Fantastic start into the new week
  • The cogs they be turning! ;) Cortana UK better not sound ridiculous..
  • My Bing.co.uk does not show interests yet. i guess cortana will not be active yet
  • I'm not getting much in the form of voiced responses. All seems a little lame at the minute but I'm sure that will quickly improve.
  • I am happy that I am getting cortana in India at all!
  • yeah...... i can change my loc to uk now.... using UK cortana than US is more convenient to Indians... 
  • do we have to change our location to US to get cortana on gdr1.???
  • No!!,,, you get to automatcially but to use it you have to change language to either UK or US
  • Can you please explain , am not getting.
  • How to use cortana in India
  • To use it you have to change language to either UK or US
  • did u get cortona ???
  • Yup now alpha edition available for india
  • Sorry but she sounds terrible :(
  • Yes she is... Cm back to us Cortana.. Jen voice is amazing..
  • Oh god I must till tomorrow
  • Same here,
  • Oh yeah! and to think I was about to go to sleep..
  • Mines downloading in Australia (1520) - woohoo!
  • Me too! Can't wait to try Cortana :D
  • Did you guys get Cortana(Au) and mine is jus 12400.899 but not with the later version...
  • Yeah me too cant wait to see what the Cortana Alpha is like, finally metric measurements!!!
  • Did you manage to get Cortana to work for AU?
  • I did. You HAVE to use the UK speech settings, and the voice is BLOODY ATROCIOUS. UGH! I'm swapping my phone right back to US regional settings. I swear to God, they better make it so you can choose which voice you want. This shit is TERRIBLE.
  • Yeah managed to get it. Now I have to chose between metrics or better sounding Cortana :/
  • It's much better. Quit overreacting. More importantly, Cortana is still shit. No voice responses, just web searches.
  • Dang....what to do...I have tthe app installed just have not activated yet....
  • Oh well....installing now 
  • Yay! Download in progress on my 620.
    UPDATE: The update's size is 173.9 MB.
    UPDATE 2: You need 375.98 MB of free storage space to install it.
  • Nice! Thanks!
  • can I download it using cellular or I have to use wifi
  • When the download poped up, it asked me if i want to wait for WIFI or download using cellular
  • you have to use wifi. can't download via cellular data.
  • Wifi only as the update is big.
  • yeah you're right, I don't have wifi now so I have to wait until tomorrow
  • Thanks!
  • Updating my Lumia 930
  • Did it install ok
  • It's not GDR1 update, just 899 version
    + HTC 8X
  • If you don't have the 899 build you get that + the GDR1 build in the same download.
  • Try again and you will got a 14147.180 after a 12400.899...
  • With me is the same, i've tried several times, but with no success!
  • I tried but nothing happened :(
  • Another 8X user here that is only getting the 899 update. GDR1 and UK Cortana are MIA.  
  • Check the Preview app, it may have been deactivated.
  • Same here. I'm on .899 now but no other update available. HTC 8X
  • Same. Just got the 12400.899 update on my 8X, but no other update is available.
  • +8X :/
  • Another 8X here, so far 899
  • Same here. My 8X only got 899.
  • pynhp9x, same thing here on my HTC 8x bro. I have the .899 version, I tried to search for more and nothing happens.
  • Another htc 8x user, don't know if this matters but I updated to 899 a few weeks back, when ms suddenly stopped the update for people (I managed to get it before it stopped)
  • Me too
  • Nothing for the 8X :(
  • Yup, same here.
  • Same here....only the 899. No GDR1 For 8X..weird.
  • Yes no GDR1 for 8X :(.....No Cortana...
  • I'm going to restart from scratch and see if i get the update. 
  • HTC 8x user here. I have the same problem too....:'(...what to do
  • -8x :(
  • Has anybody with htc 8x got it? Mine is still on 899 
  • Same here, i really regret that I bought this peace of shit HTC left us, no apps, nothing, if you like Windows phone buy a Nokia is the only choice, i want to throw this peace of shit to a sour
  • my gf bought a htc 8x after showing her many features my 1020 has, she ditched it and got lumia also, u don't even get sms+ call filter with htc but you get with lumia,no glance also, lol and so much more
  • 8x on .899... My guess is they haven't enabled it for the 8x yet
  • I already have the .899. I think it's an old update. Waiting for gdr1
  • BOTH my 920 and 930 are installing now! EXCITED for CORTANA UK and folders yay! Didn't expect that today at all!
  • I was betting on Friday. Thought they were going to be cheeky about it!
  • oh man. i like it
  • DP on 1520.1 in Dubai.. Got it What about Cyan?
  • شو الفرق بين ١٥٢٠.١ و١٥٢٠.٢ و١٥٢٠.٣
  • مادري
  • ال 1520.3 يدعم التردد حق أي تي ان تي و تي موبيل في أمريكا.
    بالنسبة للباقيين، في واحد يدعم ترددات الشبكات الأوربية و الدول العربية... و الثاني يدعم تردد شبكة أي تي ان تي في أمريكا بس (يجي 16 قيقا بس + ما فيه خاصية الشحن عن طريق Qi) .
  • Did you not get Cyan? I did but I didn't actually seen any changes to my OS other than an arrow and Extra+Info telling me it's Cyan. 
  • Look at the change log for cyan it was really under the hood performance and bugs fixes is what firmware updates are for the os updates is what we get new features from
  • Yippeeeee
  • confirmed! :)
  • Downloading on my HTC 8S :) Romania.
  • Are the bugs gone on 8.1? And is it still laggy?
  • No bugs for me, but sadly no GDR1. I only got the 899 update. 
  • Does advanced settings works in iexplorer?
  • Will Office web apps work seamlessly?
  • same f**kn boat, my friend... 
  • Just .899... Wtf is going on? Microsoft is slippin up...
  • I'm downloading it RN really excited
  • Stuck in checking for updates...
  • same here
  • It will finish, just be patient.
  • I noticed that, every time there is an update it takes slightly longer to check for an update.
  • That figures, mine checked for 20 mins..
  • I guess it's longer if you don't have all the updates, I have to get the 899 update as well.
  • "preparing to install" sure taking a long time with this one. fingers crossed.
  • server quite busy ,everyone pulling update that's why
  • Updating my unlocked 920 in Canada
  • did it work?
  • estimate time downloading?
  • Took me 10 minutes on a fast connection.
  • thank you for reply :)
  • Because we are watching and waiting....forever. ;)
  • I am STILL waiting for my update from T-Mobile USA. Apparently AT&T Wireless has rolled theirs out a while ago. I have a Nokia Lumia 925. I don't have the developers version. T-Mobile still shows as "under testing".
  • that's T-Mobile for ya
  • Yeah, I think I'm switching to AT&T. Better coverage plus my Lumia 925 has been unlocked so I can use it on AT&T. Might do that today actually.
  • yeah man, you should , mine is currently downloading , it's at 3 % now, well the WP Update 1 that is , I have a 1020, don't have Cyan as yet but will take care of that when time comes doing downgrade or i just might wait it out.
  • I'm in the same boat as you. I have a 1020 and I'm going to wait for Cyan, I'm not downgrading.
  • I'm switching to AT&T from T-Mobile real soon to.
  • I switched from T-Mobile (after almost 8 years) to AT&T a little over 2 years ago after the Lumia 710 banished from support and poor coverage in the area that we moved to. Since then, AT&T has been excellent and I have had the best Windows Phones, the 520, 920, 1020 and 1520. Stellar coverage, low prices (Thanks to T-Mobile pushing the wireless industry to give more for less) and great Windows Phones. AT&T is turning around their old image of being slow to update their devices as well. I highly recommend AT&T if you live in a good coverage area and can get great prices. I don't care for AT&Ts biased in store reps though as I have had better experiences in T-Mobile stores when it comes to Windows Phone.
  • I moved into a new house and have crappy t-mobile signal here. I've never had a coverage issue before. I got WiFi which is $50 monthly, just so I could use WiFi calling here. Now, I don't get 1/2 my calls or texts on WiFi. I have a $70 t-mobile plan. I am now spending $120 a month for service. At&t has full LTE coverage on my home, no WiFi needed. Also, I want a high end Lumia, which t-mobile just doesn't have. I have a Lumia 925 with t-mobile and love it,no just want a bigger screen, better camera and powerful processor like the Lumia 1520. So I'm leaving tmo for at&t, even though I like t-mobile. Tmo has no signal in my house and only 2g outside. I go down the street a mile and have LTE lol.
  • This update will only come to Developer Preview. If you wait for the official update, this will come later for you. On the other side, those of us with preview will not have Cyan firmware on Lumia devices. Unless a fix is included here, but I doubt that.
  • Oh I understand that this update is only for developers, I was just stating that I have not got my official from my carrier and at&t has already pushed theirs to customers.
  • Then you are in the same shoes as about 95% of us.
  • any one can sign up for the dev preview. I don't hve the links, but they are here on the site somewhere.
  • At&t has only rolled it out for 3 of their phones. They arepretty slow with it as well.
  • You have to be patient, T-Mobile has a handful of features that AT&T does not, like Wi-Fi calling and needs to design them, and then get then approved by Microsoft, if it takes longer, that most likely means there is more features for T-Mobile users to enjoy
  • 100% and preparing to install :)
  • Downloading
  • Downloading now Lumia 1520 in Australia but on a HK image.
  • Confirmed, I`m installing here on a Lumia 920, in Brazil.
  • +520 Brazil
  • Downloading now :D
    520, India
  • Mine,still "Checking for updates...",India.
  • Do u know how much size it was..?
  • Around 200 MB..
    375 MB after extracting
  • around 200 mb, 925 india
  • about 200 mb may be.. i'm not sure
  • seems faster..:P ;)
  • This should have been the first comment. Can't believe it's not. I actually did a page search coz' I knew it was bound to be here somewhere! ;D
  • Dominican Republic!!!!! Downloading
  • Downloading for Lumi 720 India.. keep it coming MS.. :D
  • Same here...
  • +720
  • Downloading in Finland for my L920 :)
  • Yesch! Downloading on my 820. In Germany.
  • Yep, donwloading on the HTC 8s here in Germany
  • Installing on 920, Belgium
  • Yep. Downloading it now :)
  • Stuck in checking updates
  • yeah it takes a while, mine was stuck on it for like 6 minutes but it's now downloading, so you don't have anything to worry about.
  • 'Checking for updates...' 3 minutes later: 'Checking for updates...' We must be jamming the servers :P
  • Happened same to me. It was checking for updates for 5-6 minutes..downloading now on Lumia 1020 :D 
  • after 10 minutes in checking for updates......update finally started to download :P
  • same problem, get "Unable To Update" xD
  • Downloading in the Netherlands on my Lumia 920.
  • Install in progress on my 1320 in jordan
  • mine now checking for the update........taking a while i must say
  • Should I install this update if I dont have Lumia Cyan on my phone??
  • You can install it with no prob
  • Yes.
  • But MS may not have fixed the Bitlocker bug, so you may not be able to install Cyan immediately after its release.
  • Happening for me. Woot
  • Downloading right now on lumia 930 from Denmark
  • I have an update to install, but no WiFi to install it with until I get back from work :(
  • Same here :( it used to be possible to force it to download without WiFi - that's how I downloaded 8.1.. Did they remove that option?
  • Use some other phone, make a hotspot and connect your phone.
  • Didn't have another phone at that time. Already installing now. :)
  • Preparing to install.. :) Lumia 525 India
  • Downloading now, Plus GSM, Poland, Lumia 620!
  • Downloading on my Lumia 625 here in Philippines
  • Poland, Nokia Lumia 920 8.1 DP (so without Cyan yet) updating to 8.1 Update 1 DP.
  • Installing :)
  • Downloading in Chicago
  • Installing here on 920...
  • in portugal it's saying that is not possible to look for it right now...
  • Restart your phone and try again. I didn't get that this time, but in the past that has happened to me and a simple reboot took me right into the update. Could be coincidence, but could also be the proper mojo! LOL
  • Had to restart phone also.
  • I think plug the charger will help
  • I'm installing right now. 720 Portugal Posted via Windows Phone Central App
  • i just got it
  • downloading att 920 in new jersey,... let see what this does... rememeber, u need wifi...better too.
  • Yea... Downloading...
  • Downloading L720 :D
  • Downloading it on my 1020 in Israel!
  • Installing now on my 920 here in Canada. :)
  • me too, L920 on Rogers...
  • Were you successful in installing the update? I'm receiving an error.
  • I got the error message too, trying a second time now.
  • also got the error, trying again...I had a funny feeling that was going to happen
  • Still have the error...
  • three tries, three errors, I give up - live folders just not that interesting, but I would like to use the Canadian alpha of Cortana...
  • Error here too, do you guys have Cortona setup? Maybe we have to switch back to our country
  • I had cortana setup. I got the update, then switched region back to Canada and still have cortana working.
  • Downloading on my Lumia 925  in Russian
  • why only in Wi Fi?????????///????
  • Cause at times updates are too large and MS restricts it to WiFi as not to chew up your data plan.
  • They allowed us to download 8.1 without WiFi. Is Update 1 bigger than 8.1?
  • Hmm don't know.  I had always thought updates we're restricted to WiFi....
  • Might be that I was tethering it back then. But with smaller updates it was definitely possible.
  • Its a small update it take only 5min to download and install !!
  • Ms should let us update in mobile network as well...
  • Downloading on my Icon now.
  • Updating in progress...
  • Download in bulgaria lumia 1020
  • Guess ill be installing as soon as I get to work
  • Updating :D \o/
  • Should I do a hard reset after getting the update?
  • No.
  • That's not necessary. Only if you run into troubles.
  • Okay. Thanks.
  • A soft reset will be good =)
  • Downloading in Belgium
  • Mine is downloading now!
    T mobile Lumia 925
  • Downloading now.
  • Servers must be busy. I'm stuck on "Checking for updates..."
  • It's took a while for me to ...but isnt stuck
  • Downloading on my 930 ..yeah
  • is cyan wih this update ??? I hope soo  
  • No,it's an OS update. Cyan is a firmware update.
  • Cortana is awful in the UK. No jokes, impressions... Nothing. Everything is directed to a Bing search apart from the weather. Not good!!!!
  • Thats why is in Alpha stage :)
  • UK is supposed to be beta
  • Truth. My bad. Did you try to do a soft reset?
  • I tried saying Hello to cortana, how are you, where is master chief, etc. All redirects me to Bing search :/
  • you to talk to it, tgat what happen for me in the few minutes, untill it already talk hahaha
  • +525 Vietnam. Downloading...
  • Downloading. 820 DP from Malaysia.
  • Will we be able to get Lumia cyan if we install this update?
  • Very good question!
  • Yes you will 100%, don't worry about that.
  • Okay thanks. I already downloaded it is time to install
  • But there is NO guarantee that MS has fixed the Bitlocker bug and resumed Cyan updates for preview phones.
  • Downloading now in Tokyo! I just watched the Chinese video again, and decided to do a check!   Very excited! Anxious to see the new folders feature, which looks awesome. Also, let's see this huge update to Music. I definitely need some good news there!   Unlocked AT&T 920
  • The folders are simply beautiful! Best execution I've seen on any mobile platform. The live tiles approach us really beginning to show its power!
  • Received here in the UK. L925 HK country variant
  • Yippee.. ❤ my Lumia..
  • Lets do this !!!
  • Downloading in Azerbaijan. Hope this update will improve battery life! And fix bugs
  • Not in preview for devs group..... Yet didnt got 8.1 India
  • Make sure you have checked your Developers Preview App and that you have gone through the agreement. That is caught me on the last update.
  • L625 UK getting it now
  • Really! I've had no luck I'm on o2... Plz help!!!
  • AT&T 920 in the US no update available. :(
  • Have you signed up with dev preview? (a free appstudio account? And installed the "preview for developers app"?) then check again... It's there!
  • Hi. I think i was taken away by aliens in last couple of weeks because i don't even have update on my 1020 yet. Never mind this. What the hell is wrong here. ???
  • This is a developer preview. Meaning you will get future updates before regualar users or before the official updates are released. There is an app in the store that gives us the developer preview. All you have to do is download and sign up within the app and it will update your os.  
  • Downloading on my 8X, so I'll be working until late today =D
  • Yes. I'm Downloading Updated 1 for WP8.1 DP for My Lumia 520, From India
  • Downloading right now!!!
  • The news I was waiting for...
  • All smooth is USA...Downloading to 1520. Any clue if it will fix DP issue with CYAN UPDATE?
  • Preparing to install @ 63%. NL 720 India.
  • Waiting for you ppls response. I don't want the old bugs again what im facing in pfd8.1
  • Downloding,.. :D
  • Is der anybody having issues with dis update??
  • what issues?
  • Had an error installing update, trying to update it second time
  • Won't install for me either, I think it's because I've already got Cyan (unlocked 925).
  • I ja isto evo treci put pokusavam
  • Probao 3 puta, vise ne znam ni da li da pokusavam, stalno mi izbacuje gresku 0x80188308. Puna baterija, dosta memorije... L920
  • Ista stvar i kod mene. Uradio restart, ocistio temp,IE, reinstalirao preview for developers i opet nista na L925. Kod zene na L520 uradjen bez problema. Ne radi mi se nokia recovery nikako
  • Ja sam odlucio da sutra pokusam ponovo, verovatno su serveri preoptereceni ili tako nesto. Ako uspes nekako da resis problem obavesti :)
  • Yup, its redownloading all my apps. My wife is having the same issue.
  • strange , for my 1020,i didn't had to download ANY of my apps i already have, working good here
  • I was... Error code after 8.10.12397.985 update & reboot... But finally downloading... Probably connection related... Toggled Wi-Fi worked for me, you can also reboot, and try again if it fails
  • No issues
  • Dont have the update and can we instal it only with wifi ???? Anyone ????
  • Yes. Just keep checking for updates. Servers are busy and it'll take some time like 2,3 min.
  • Downloading. 925. Brasil.
  • getting the update now. Indiana AT&T, L1520 with Cyan Updated previously
  • Guys, slow down! Not all at once! :D (stuck at 0%) edit: I get "You need to connect to WI-FI to download the update." and have no way to skip that. Did they remove the option to download it anyway? o_O
  • Just click ok and install....I was on WiFi and had the same msg as you....
    All went good...Done....
  • As far as I know updates this big are Wi-Fi only.
  • May depend on data settings for data sense as others have downloaded by 4G ota.
  • Yay! Downloading.
  • "Unable to check for updates at this time" Sad Panda! US
  • Update ready to donwload!!!:D
  • Running Nokia 820 on Lumia black in the uk and got the developers 8.1 update through
  • Wait bro it will take time for 8.1 india
  • Just after I left for work. I kept checking when I woke up but the update wasn't there. Damn Murphy.
  • Installation completed... not found any difference....
  • Downloading.....  Yipeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Downloaded and installed :) 
  • Any difference??
  • Read the article.
  • Just checked and no difference :/s
  • Yaaaaasss!!!!
  • corroborated in the forums... Not collaborated. :-P stupid spell checkers.
  • Downloading now for 920 in Dominican Republic.
  • Dude does cortana work on Dominican republic?
  • Downloading now
  • Got the update here in Australia but when I start Cortana it says, "I'm Sorry But I Can;t Speak Your Language Yet" Any ideas guys?  
  • I'm still waiting for mine to finish downloading and installing. Did you change your locales and try another phone update? It may be a separate section for the alpha Cortana? Just a stab in the dark...
  • i guess ur language needs to be us/uk English with Australia as region
  • Yeah I fixed the language problem by changing from English/US to English/UK
  • Even I am getting the same here in India..What to do??
  • Same problem! India
  • Ok download English uk as main keyboard and set UK as speech language
  • Fuuuuuu not downloadable via 4g -.-
  • I've downloaded it, via 4g.
  • I'm excited about update but its all a ploy to make us forget about Xbox music update lololol...
  • :D no doubt
  • Installing right now on my Lumia 925.  Still no Cyan from T-Mobile.
  • t-mobile sucking at releasing updates damn
  • Agreed.
  • Same here
  • Downloading now, Lumia 520, India
  • No update for my Lumia 920 Thailand
  • Installing now. Ireland
  • Downloading to my 920. Now if AT&T would release Cyan for me I'd be all set... until gdr2 of course ;-)
  • JES!
  • Downloading on 920 and 930!
  • What is size of this update
  • Any idea how big the update is?
  • I haven't downloaded it but these updates are expected to be between 200M and 300M. I know black and amber were.
  • Looks lke it should be around 100-150 mbs
  • 140 mb
  • And here in Greece my lumia 520 is still waiting for wp8.1.... :(
  • UK. Same phone, same problem!
  • What a shame! Why are we forced to wait so long, why cant they just put those official windows phone 8.1 out yet?
  • The update was downloaded, but could not be opened. (8018830f)
  • Same
  • Same here (Ativ S)
  • Me too (Ativ S)
  • Likewise, do you have Cyan installed? That's what I think it stopping it for me.
  • They're using ATIV S. They do not get Cyan as that is Nokia firmware.
  • And me, too (Ativ S). Feck.
  • Third time cant install. Error 80188308. Ativ S also. :(
  • Error 80188308 - try again .
    I'm on my third try Ativ S
  • Same here. Apparently happening on devices with and without the Cyan update.
  • Even m getting same error buddy, I already got cyan update
  • Same here. 925 with cyan.
  • Yet another poor update. Probably be pulled later.
  • Same here (Ativ S)
  • Same here. I have Lumia 925 with Cyan installed. Posted via Windows Phone Central App
  • Damnit, same error as last update, downloaded but cant be opened
  • rolling here PT Lumia 925
  • Collaborated or corroborated on the forums?
  • Already downloading it on my Lumia 720 in India
  • So slow... Won't tell my dad to download it for his phone till mine completes ;)
  • LOL
  • Preparing to install 34%....It is always like a tease! LOL
  • WHAT! does it have cortana for uk?
  • Yes.
     
  • WTF, THE LUMIA 520 DOESN'T HAVE IT
  • It does Posted via Windows Phone Central App
  • I haven't Got it!
  • Did you set language as English UK? Posted via Windows Phone Central App
  • Downloading on my 925..55% done :D
  • I changed my language to English/UK It appears to be working now
  • The update downloaded OK but then I got an error... "Update downloaded but could not be opened".
  • Do you have Cyan?
  • yes i'm on cyan
  • Even I am getting d same error, update couldn't be opened (8018830f)
    625 India
    Plz help
  • Downloading on Lumia 928
  • updating right now
    AT&T Lumia 1520
  • Downloading Nokia Lumia 520 Egypt
  • Anybody. Does this update include Cyan?
  • No.
  • Thanks.
  • this is for developer preview 8.1 to developer preview 8.1 update 1
  • I haven't got the update for my phone in India... Lumia 520.. Can anyone help me??
  • No
  • I waited for 15 mins, then got an error saying unable to download.
    But now it's back on track.
  • i got update im frm india l520 which mobile u r using  
  • u signed up for developers preview?
  • I think you mean corroborated, not collaborated.
  • Ahhhhh updating my 1020 :D #Barcelona #spain
  • Downloading on my 930! So excited for UK Cortana...
  • Don't get too excited. They said Australia too but it just says it doesn't speak my language (which is English, funnily enough)
  • How to allow update using data? Is it depending on my data provider?
  • Wouldn't recommend updating anywhere you can't plug it in. Can take some time, and it'll only take longer on data.
  • India 520
    Checking for updates took long as 15 mins. Then restarted the phone. Now saying we are currently unable to check for updates ( 80072ee7)
  • Same here.. Did u find any way to download it??
  • Same
  • check these guys http://www.windowsphone.com/en-in/how-to/wp8/basics/solutions-to-update-...
  • +820 Atualizando... \o/
  • Its corroborated not collaborated.
  • I hope it doesn't disable SensorCore and Bluetooth 4.0
  • good point, I Hope not. I have the cog wheels spinning now
  • I gotta update ! Yay!!
  • Is it update 1??
  • Read the article.
  • The title of the article says so....
  • Downloading in UK on my 1020
  • Can any one please tell me what is the difference.. i have installed it but found nothing new...
  • App folders and better rendering of web sites using IE 11. Hold down an app on top of another app on the start screen and you have a folder. Yay :)
  • The update is more than FOLDER we can feel, some minor improvements really nice out there.
  • Read the article
  • I'm excited about update but its all a ploy to make us forget about Xbox music update lololol...
  • The next Music update needs the 8.1 Update 1 and brings the Live Tile back :)
  • downloading it on my L1020 in Hungary ;)
  • No update here in New Zealand for my 8x. Keeps telling me my phone is up to date. :(
  • Got it- Australia :)
  • No update on my 8X either. I'm in Jordan
  • It seems like htc 8x is out of the game globally.
    Whaaaaaaaaaayyyyy!!!
  • Same phone & same problem.
  • same here, really sucks!
  • Come to papa!!!!
  • Got an update! Now just waiting to get home and connect to wifi. Yeah!!!
  • Installing 50% hurry up lol
  • just received the update 1 on my lumia 925. It is downloading
  • Just got my update . Too bad Verizon sucks and hasn't
    sent out cyan yet
  • Update also available in Ecuador!!!!!!!!   yes this place exists XD
  • I'm so happy! :) way to wake up this morning! ;)
  • MS promised NTP support. It isn't in the update!
  • Present some kind of evidence.. otherwise just empty speech. Just because you failed to find it, it may be there, just not in the way simple-minded users expect it to be shown.
  • I'm sorry, but - what? There's simply no option for "set time and date automatically" in the date+time menu entry after the update. Trust me, I would be able to find the option
  • I have had NTP since I first got my Lumia 920 in 2012. I know another carrier in my country doesn't have NTP on their variants of Lumias.
  • I think you might confuse NTP with NITZ? NTP came with this recent update. At least that is what was promised. For many/some (?) users there was an option to automatically set time and date before this update, but that worked with NITZ. And in my country/my operator doesn't provide this service
  • I agree with what you explain. Readers of this site should not be able to comment on technical topics that they dont have even the smallest idea what they are talking about. Unfortunately commenting to such technical topics cannot be restricted to min. of 5 years working experience in the IT professional industry (excluding people who work in the IT but their job description is to clean the wheels of the mice).
  • does this include cyan and mean that I don't have to roll back my 1520 to get cyan?
  • No, it doesn't. Cyan is a firmware and not an OS.
  • Just gdr1 no cyan
  • Hi. Just so you know , rolling the Lumina back to windows 8 is very easy to do and only takes 10 mins Tops. Then your small update is ready to download, then the big one. Then if you turn on your pfdev this update should be ready also. theres no problems in doing all this
  • I GOT A PROBLEM WHEN UPDATING - BE CAREFUL GUYS! I started the install of the update after downloading and my Lumia 1520 on HK image (I love in Australia) restarted and went to this screen http://imgur.com/hmKFpUU I forced it to reset but it looks like it's stuck on the spinning gears, it loaded the bar like 5% and hasn't moved in 5-10 minutes now.
  • That happens sometimes. Give it time. The spinning gears can take a while (for me it's usually an hour).
  • D/L NL925 with PFD 8.1 USA MetroPCS
  • Ah, checking right now! :D
  • On my phone the 899-Version is installed, but the 14147.180 Version won't appear in the updates. I'm checking the updates since and nothing will appear... :( I wan't Cortana. ^^
  • Has any 8X received 14147.180 update yet?
  • My 8X only seems to have gotten 12400.899 as well.
  • Preview only for Lumia ?? Noooooooooo
  • No- only the .899 update here on T-Mobile US.
  • Same here in 8X, only one update no GDR 1 !!!!!!
  • Looks like the 8x and 8s didn't still got it
  • Isn't that puzzling the developers preview usually rolls out for all devices at once, why we can't get it??
  • My question is if I'm to update my phone using developer update will I also be able to update to the official update?
  • No, unless the official OS will have a higher version number. But you'll get the official firmware (as they aren't distributed as previews) if its updated for GDR1.
  • Please help does this update include fix for dev preview /cyan. Issue
  • Nothing that they have mentioned about.
  • Updating!!
  • Downloading.. ;)
  • Rolling out to my 1520 in India now!! Woohoo!
  • Downloading, Samsung Ativ S.
  • I just got a Lumia 1020 and I've been trying to wait for the official everything since running the developer preview on my 920 but I think I'm ready to pull the plug. Besides the one bug they had the DP has been almost flawless.
  • i think you should wait bro, 920 and 1020 should get cyan this week
  • After downloading and then preparing to install it says it cannot be opened, anyone else 925 unlocked developers preview and with cyan????? Tried several times
  • Same thing here. Seems it won't work with Cyan. Hope they have a workaround soon.
  • Facing the same issue. I am on Lumia Cyan on L925.. my friend with L920 (with 8.1 DP) is also facing same error.
  • Cant check updates now with error code?????
  • That means that the internet connection is slow
  • L920 & L720. Indonesia. Downloading the updates.
  • Those who are in India, did u get the indian version of cortana with this update or are u guys and gals with United States Cortana.
  • I guess here's no girl in wpcentral from India at least.
  • Yes
  • Mine is downloading
  • Totally thought we would have to wait untill weeks end. Downloading now. Thanks MS.
  • with everyone downloading all at once of course it'll take a while
  • I hate download limitations why the hell do I need unlimited data for.
  • Getting on my Lumia 1320 in India. I was thinking they'd release it on the 5th, in my time zone...but its great to get it today itself.
  • Can anyone please tell me if i install wp8.1 dp on my new lumia 1320 would i lose my warranty... India..
  • Yes it may void your warranty but once the official rolls out u r back on warranty.....Take a risk and install it on your lumia 1320...I have already installed on my Lumia 925 India....
  • +1320
  • I do not think it will void the warranty as long as you are doing everything "officially"... This is an official update. The developer preview program is an official one. So, no, I do not think it will void the warranty. It should not. Also, the warranty does not cover physical damage. If anything goes wrong on the software end, the warranty covers it, but you can fix that yourself without needing to use a Nokia Care Centre.
  • It voids manufacturer warranty
  • No.
  • Downloading on L1020 in AR. I hope I get Cyan soon...
  • Downloading as I saw the link on Facebook.
     
  • Let me guess, no ones managed to install it?
  • It's natural, usually this kind of updates takes about an hour to complete the installation.
  • Was refering to the failed installations... I.e. havnt seen a comment yet where someone actually has it working
  • I think this is what MS should do, roll out unexpectedly, it'll save us from all those anxious moments, I don't have dp, nor am planning to install, but you guys happiness is radiating and I feel happy too, waiting for the official update.
  • Downloading, as we speak!
  • Whole lotta downloading, not much installing going on. Failed 5 times now
  • First it said 300+mb to download the update and after installing it said 1.5+ gb Posted via Windows Phone Central App
  • Installing on my Lumia 1520/UK CV here!  
  • just doing the install now... +L1020
  • Whoohoo! That caught me by surprise... Away with work for the next few days dammit!! .... Oh well there goes my data limit.... Again... Lol
  • Who dont see any noticable diff.. browse news.google.com/ gmail.com
  • Installing on Lumia 1320 with Cyan in India but after the update downloads and tries to install it says "update couldn't be opened 8018830f". Any ideas?
  • Same on L625, rebooted, cleared temp, same problem, well done MS you POS
  • Could be a corrupted download...
  • 1320 here in vietnam, downloading hope nothing fail.
  • Update: Sorry i made a Typo with the earlier message:( Update failed on my 625 with Cyan. Retrying for the 3rd time now. Everytime it fails while installing at 16% On my 1320 with Cyan now it has installed 53% and not failed till now:)  
  • I have the same issue, on which version are you? I have the 8.1.12397.895 May be is it due to the fact that I have not recevied the 8.1.134...?
     
  • check here http://www.windowsphone.com/en-in/how-to/wp8/basics/solutions-to-update-issues  
  • Got it in Germany on 1520 - arround 350mb....  
  • Deutschland :D
  • Yup! Downloading right now on my 920!
  • Such an amazing thing to wake up to.
  • Got mine, checking it out as we speak
  • 20min still checking for updates
  • Takes a while...you got it now? Mine took about 10-15 mins on a 1Mbps Wi-Fi connection.
  • Nice!!! Downloading Lumia 620 Domican Republic :D
  • Yeah its started
  • God dammit I am still stuck on 8.0 hoping for MS or my country to release 8.1 this Thursday for my 1020. I cant wait anymore.......!
    The only problem is the Cyan firmware. I can't restore and backup alot of times as its time consuming. This Thursday or I am going for PFD.
  • Oh Yes, downloading here in Czech Republic on 1520 !!
  • bro wait, i have DP8.1 and now DP 8.1 Update 1 but i'll have to do all backup,downgrade and reinstall stuff, it'll come this week or next week , no worries
  • Can anyone tell me it's Cortana present in India
  • Downloading on my Nokia Lumia 520. It took 15 minutes to check for updates on a fast connection.
  • Checked for 10 mins.. Downloading now
  • downloading in my 720 (india)
  • Why do I get so excited about this Posted via Windows Phone Central App
  • You need wi fi?? Fuck
  • What's pfd
  • Preview For Developer
  • I got the error: "The update was downloaded, but couldn't be opened (8018830f)" any help would be appreciated. (Lumia 925 with Cyan update here).
  • Same here.
  • Same here also, just attempting to install again
  • Since you are on Cyan, you probably need to reenroll it in the PFD.
  • Same here
  • Yeah....
  • Installing on my UK 820 as I type this. Officially excited!
  • Man this live folder is nice
  • Now its tempting me to download DP...
    +920
  • Looks like the Live Lock Beta is not working anymore... Anyone else having this issue after the update?
  • Yeah 20%
  • Only one update available so far. First one is not 8.1 update 1. HTC 8x in the UK.
  • Same here, my HTC 8S can't detect the second update. Please let this not be a HTC limitation...
  • Yeah, same here. 899 is installed on my 8S but the other one won't show up. Would be a shame if this update isn't available on the HTCs.
  • Omg...download stuck at 0% ... What can I do ? :(
  • I received it and I'm using it now , I saw this folder thing is awesome tell me again what the new features of it , I don't know what. Are they ?
  • check here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v1HldVtsdGI  
  • It very sexy
  • Just got my update 1 for the 1520. Live folders rock.
  • Got the update, although it seemed to have broken Live Lock app.
  • Looks like it needs to reinstall first.
  • Almost done. 1020 from Austria.
  • Well that's awkward. Officially, I wouldn't even have 8.1 and yet here I am, download Update 1 ...
  • Step 5 of 21 ... =( Dude every update this number get bigger haha
  • +920
  • Got only the .899 :( Unbranded 8X
  • Looks like it isn't out for 8X yet I've not got 8.1.1 either.
  • DAMN YOU HTC!
  • I have an unbranded 8x as well & no update for me. Only have the .899 as well :(
  • Same here, only the .899 (first part?).
  • Updating my 920 Italy country variant) , here in Bucharest, Romania! :X
  • Thanks WPC once again delivering the goods.
  • Almost done. 1020 from Austria.
  • Spinning cogs, we meet again.
  • man did you get it ,mine was downloaded then it got stuck on that boot installation....??????help  
  • Unable to check for updates...error
  • Downloading now
  • Did anyone received update in India..??
  • Looks like this update actually fixed the scroll/tap issue on 1520.
  • Yup...lumia 520
  • I read the title, checked for updates and it was partially downloaded already. Timing!
  • Urgh the UK Cortana voice is awful. It's VERY posh English and probably won't go down well with Scottish/Welsh/N Irish users. And it has no chit-chat, no jokes, etc.
  • That's disapointing. What phone do you have? There's no 8.1 for the HTC 8X as far as I can tell.
  • I have a Lumia 930. Presumably they'll add chit-chat but you'd think they'd have it from the beginning as that's what people are going to try out.
  • Yea.. changing the speech settings just breaks Cortana completely - all you get is the old TellMe interface if you launch with the search key.
  • Live folder is cool. I have 3 email accounts and 1 calendar grouped in to one folder and Tile keeps on changing with the content from each.  until now i felt like a second class citizen with IE. but with this update the pages render as if it is andriod or iphone. Will have to test dropdowns in few websites but few i checked worked fine.
  • Expecting new type of battery issues, Andorid-type of lags introduced (since GDR2 compared to the RTM, there are lags in WP8, nobody can argue with this) or wifi issues or camera issues. Actually I am no longer brave enough to apply the new BETAs on the first day of release. Let others experiment with it for 2-3 days, and when I see the newly discovered broken features, I will decide what to do. Not even received my favorite poison (cyan), by the way...
  • Can anyone make video for it  what difference we got in GDR1 update and how it is working...
  • Update in Serbia on lumia 720 :))))
  • The update said that my L1520 is good to go after the Install. rebooted it now to check it out. Its reinstalling all my apps. Im on Indiana AT&T
  • The apps folder is sweet! I also love the new store tile.
  • 8018830f, anyone know what this error means? Battery is full, rebooted, cleared temp, currently running Cyan /8.1
  • and the free space?
  • 3.4GB free, everything is fine for it, same error on last update too the one that was removed
  • Same, tell me If you can resolve it. 925 CV zith cyan installed :/
  • I think its Cyan blocking the install, but rolling back to Black might not work if it tries to update to cyan again before update 1
  • People on reddit got it installed with cyan :/
  • check here bro http://www.windowsphone.com/en-in/how-to/wp8/basics/solutions-to-update-issues  
  • Thanks but my error is not listed and ive tried all those tips, cheers anyway
  • I'm on Lumia Cyan and wp 8.1 can I download the developer preview so I can get live folders - but will this harm my device
  • I had to reinstall my windows 8 on my 1020. As its nit known when the pfd will get proper update. So im stuck back here. Does anyone know when cyan update out for 1020. . Its slower than a wet fortnight like. Pretty shit. Sort it out Microsoft .
  • updates roll out for devices weekly, should be for 920 and 1020 this week,let's all hope so
  • Got it.
  • Location: Honduras (Central America)
    Phone: Lumia 1020
    Carrier: Tigo Before the update:
    Lumia Black
    OS Version: 8.10.12400.899
    Firmware: 3051.40000.1347.0001 After the update:
    Lumia Black
    OS Version: 8.10.14147.180
    Firmware: 3051.40000.1347.0001
  • There's a new animation when switchib back from start screen to an app via start button.
  • And a news one in the settings. But that's just with the .899 update (first part?).
  • Does anyone here have access to the Xbox one preview , can I get an invite please my gamertag is afernandez1027
  • But I just checked my Lumia 525 and it said my phone was up to date Why?...
  • Can't upload, sick restriction to 50mb on data connection... I need to be able to use data connection if I like to...
  • Downloading now 36% on L720
  • Oooooo very poor Microsoft!!! All I have seen so far is people on HTC 8x not getting gdr 1???? I am in UK. Hope you sort this soon
    as I am huge wp fan and cant wait for cortana
  • that's not Microsoft fault there, HTCs and carriers
  • I don't want to harm my device so if I download developer preview will my device get harmed
  • Yes, can't you see? we all have harmed devices!
  • i think you should read this article http://www.wpcentral.com/should-you-get-preview-windows-phone-81-update-1
  • Do you have to have an active SIM in your device to get these updates? I bought a phone with the 8.1 preview already installed and have constantly checked for updates but never gotten anything new. Phone is a T-Mobile Nokia Lumia 925.
  • It's probably because your Microsoft account is not setup as a developer.
  • Downloading on my 520. Can't wait to creating folder on start screen. \o/ 
  • should check out this video here bro http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v1HldVtsdGI  
  • Downloaded windows 8.1 update 1
    There is an error
    "update download but couldn't open"
    (8018830f)
    I'm using a Lumia 925 .
    Running on 8.1 cyan
  • check here http://www.windowsphone.com/en-in/how-to/wp8/basics/solutions-to-update-issues  
  • Downloading update now...   Curious when MS will release a cumulative update with 8.1/Cyan/Update 1 for those of us using a Lumia with the Developer Preview LOL...Starting to feel like a Google user...in a constant unsupported beta...hahaha   Preparing to install...34%   :)
  • life of a beta
  • LOVING THE LIVE FOLDERS!
  • +920
  • Downloading. 925. Germany. :)
  • 928 - Dont know what I got, but Im on "prepraring to install" will check my 925 too (Tmobile) update 1: update not found on 925
  • Downloading in Australia.
  • Got it for my 1520 in India which was on Cyan.
  • I keep getting an error code 80072ee2 when checking for updates...
  • Got in singapore on my lumia 520 and 625 too! 
  • Of course. I checked before leaving for work and there was no update. Now that I'm at work with no Wi-Fi it's available. :-\
  • Grrr..!! Waiting for cyan update for my 525 since infinity..
  • Ready and waiting for Lumia 1020 in the UK.
  • Yes, I had it on my 1520 & 1020
  • Hey this is crazy! :)
  • Any bugs found?
  • Installing on my Lumia 925 in Nigeria now...
  • please help me......two month ago i download preview for dev..  on my nokia lumia 920...then last month i downgrade my phone to win 8 black and i m wait for official cyan update.in India..can anybody tell me if i download again preview then this update1......after that is i m eligilible for official cyan update..
  • which phone are you using? i think you should wait on official cyan release bro also read this link http://www.wpcentral.com/should-you-get-preview-windows-phone-81-update-1
  • Live Lockscreen beta app won't work after installing the update. Needs a update from the store is shown in a pop-up while booting up your phone. It also replaced my default lock screen background image with one from the default collection. Now let's see what is faster, newer and added. :-) Nokia Lumia 1020 btw.  
  • I got the popup and I selected OK or whatever it asked and Live Lockscreen beta works for me. Maybe you chose the other option as LLB never stopped working for me. AT&T Lumia 1520 WP 8.1U+ Cyan.
  • What's the DP issue that some of you have mentioned? I'm just hoping this fixes the notification issue on my wife's L720. Currently downloading it now on my L925 in UK....
  • Pfd is the only way for non Lumia phones to get update....so enjoy guys
  • Does developer's preview still disable Bluetooth 4.0 LE?
  • lumia 1020 from ATT getting an update right now.  
  • Just checking and.......i can't download anymore.
  • Downloading here in Jordan
  • Almost crapped myself when I started up upgrade process, popped back to WPCentral and saw the headline "Fail Hard". Was somewhat relieved when I read the rest of it. Phew.
  • I've downloaded it but i see nothing new. No folder, no nothing
  • applying update 1 on my phone here in chile :) lumia 620 with wp8.1 preview for developers.      
  • Oh have been waiting for it curiously and eagerly. Finally it here
  • 1520 Jordan
  • Could not find the live folder..wth
  • How much the update size?
  • After update a ton of apps were also updated.
  • Cyan Update where are you?? I think it has lost its way.
  • Plus my 1320 also!
  • Maby I do somthing wrong... But my Lumia 920 (in Germany) cant find the update :(
    OS version: 8.10.12397.895
     
  • Seems like update 1 is not for 8x yet, probably wait another well before we get it.
  • I hope it will ever be... I guess most developers using 8X are not able to test their cortana API apps, becuase they can't even change the language to US that's why we waited for MS to fix it, and now when they did, they left us without the update. I'm boiling now
  • I see no visible difference except for speed and stability. Will continue to search for improvements.
  • Getting error code "80188306" after downloading on a German Lumia 930. :-/
  • How can I enable live folders?
  • 920 India Downloading right now.
  • Updating my Lumia 920 in Colombia, carrier Movistar
  • What is this update exactly? Cyan or an update TO cyan?
  • Neither.  It's the pre-update for GDR1 and the update itself.  Nothing to do with Cyan.
  • Downloading :D
  • I am downloading it
  • Installing on my Lumia 820 (unlocked) in Germany on Vodafone.
  • I think they are doing a great job with updates. Love it.
  • i can't update. pls!!!!
  • i have only one doubt ... is lumia cyan and windowsphone 8.1 update 1 has same features ??  can anyone clarify me?
  • No.. Update 1 is an update to the OS, and Cyan is a firmware update, which is not OS related.
  • i think you should read this http://www.wpcentral.com/should-you-get-preview-windows-phone-81-update-1
  • Running perfectly, Sprint Samsung Ativ S Neo, Bitlocker enabled.
  • Why I have received only update 8.10.12400?
  • I got notification... But no wifi now. Going to,get in the night.
  • Can we download update without wi fi
  • updated.... In From India....1st thing i tried after update is folder option... its jus rocking....  
  • How come I got Cortana even though I have not changed my language setting to UK? From India.
  • Speech, region, keyboard and language.  Region format can stay the same. 
  • Htx 8x, only got the first update, no new features. Can't download the second update cause my phone is already up to date
  • Same here.
  • +1 microsoft sucks
  • Same here.
  • I'm using wo 8.1. Downloading new update
  • Downloading it for Lumia 520 Country Variant (India)
  • Just like I predicted, I get the DP of 8.1 GDR1 before AT&T can finish "testing" 8.1 Cyan on the 920. Frankly the firmware updates (the cyan part) for a two year old phone don't seem worth the trouble. I'll stick with the DP.
  • Error 80072ee2, any idea guys??
  • Am installing now! Exciting. Except whenever I update my phone there is always a five minute pause, where it starts to look like I need to do a hard reboot..... but I keep telling myself to just chill out, that everything will be fine. And then out of nowhere, the progress jumps from 2% to 40%. So..... right now, I'm just being nervous.
  • Ha! Mine's just done the same right now!  Sat at about 2% with the cogs turning for ages, was thinking it's screwed..... then as you say, it suddenly jumps upto about 40%   :-)
  • I'm only getting the 8.10.12400.899 in HTC 8X Potugal wwwwhhhhhhyyyyyyyy ...... :(
  • Welcome to the neglected club of HTC
  • How to create live folder? :?
  • Drag one live tile on to another.
  • check this video out mate http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v1HldVtsdGI
  • Indonesia good to go..
  • Downloading now!
  • It won't download for me..... MS do something
  • Will not even install on my phone. L920 UK CV.
  • same here I'm afraid... deleted a few bits of junk and trying again. better not be pako screwing it up. thats more important than 8.1 :)
  • Size is more than 1 gb !!
  • Its hard to be a geek, you know? You must download all this New firmware, updates, new soft... Or you got hangover.
  • Just got the notification so I'm pretty happy lol
  • It's coming,,,indonesia,,,
  • Hmm, downloaded updates, went to the spinning cogs, then got told there was an error and couldn't update the phone and to try again later. In Australia, lumia 920 on the DP
  • installing on my lumia icon in south florida....!
  • Guys, is the update for Windows 8.1 available?
  • Updated my 1520, how to turn on Cortana for UK or China?
  • You've got to change region and language to the desired one and activate gps. Also move English UK or Chinese to top position under language settings.
  • Just installed on my 920. The live folders are great. They work very well
  • But what's the point of installing this update if we still can't get the firmware update from the carriers?  I've been on the 8.1 Dev Preview (Lumia 1020 and 920).  AT&T has yet to roll the Cyan update to those devices, so it seems like a waste to update to GDR1 only to have to roll back when AT&T finally gets things going.
  • You don't need Cyan. Any carrier/manufacturer updates will be added to the dev preview.
  • You'll have to roll back either way, might as well install it and enjoy the new features until then.
  • i hear you, it's either wait it out and hope ms fixes everything where we can update right from DP --> Cyan or backup app settings ,downgrade and reinstall, i'm in same boat but lookout this week, updates are being released every week so let's see what the end of this week brings
  • I might have had my expectations too high.  I'm not seeing any difference in the way IE renders websites.  Still looks like bad to me.
  • Not there yet in Romania.
  • Why does my 920 keep saying "We are currently unable to check for updates (80072ee7)" ? I've already installed Preview for developers. 
  • Having the same problem on my 620. Maybe the servers are busy? 
  • or a bad internet connection.
  • server busy D:
  • yeah maybe the server's busy. I'm pretty sure that my internet connection is fine cuz I can even watch HD movies online right now! :D
  • Cortana saying I'm afraid I'm not available to help in your region with the language you have choose. India
  • Anyone installed and checked or still commenting as feeling excited etc
  • Downloaded and installed
  • Looks like I have Cortana happenin in Australia. If you get a 'sorry do not speak that language yet click on the link below and change the settings to English (United Kingdom) or in Settings > Speech > Speech Language.    
  • I got the update
  • This is very good. Update is preparing on my Lumia 520.
  • installing now on my lumia icon here in south florida....!
  • So I just downgraded to Cyan. Should I go back and get the DVP? lol
  • Can't able download says "We can't download update now(8200xxx) error... Help??!!
  • Having the same problem.  
  • Seems faster.
    Battery life has doubled.
    Camera now takes pictures in color Good update!
  • 36% preparing to install on my lowlightshooter 925 in malaysia...!
  • Ελλάδα 920 +  
  • Not sure if any of you are noticing....but Xbox Music is a WHOLE lot quicker! No more blank song lists or playlists! It pops up way quick.
  • Doesn't install if you have Cyan (on my 925 anyway). Boo.
  • Wrong! I have 925 + Cyan and it updated perfectly .
  • I agree. AT&T Lumia 1520 WP8.1+Cyan. 8.1U installed just fine.
  • Fantastic - Cortana speech recognition now handling my English accent much better
  • what's new in this update 1 ?
  • check here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v1HldVtsdGI
  • Some update is downloading on my Lumia 920 with DP.  Could this be??
  • Update complete!
  • Ohh yeah!! Time to say hi to indian cortana!!
  • Is the WiFi connection required for the download part only? I have downloaded it and prepared to install, now gears are rolling and I need to leave the office soon. Is WiFi needed again when it restarts?
  • I just installed it but don't have any new features.
  • I think it's two updates? /Currently updating the 1st one
  • 'Checking for updates' for 10 mins and it started downloading. Hope the process goes on smooth. :D
  • Downloading now in my Lumia 520 in Indonesia...
  • Nothing yet for my 928
  • are you logged in to DP?. Im installing it on my 928 now
  • Any idea when will it be available for Windows 8.1 users?
  • Windows 8.1 Update was released earlier in the year around the 8th of April 2014: http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/features/windows/3510010/windows-81-update-1-release-date-new-features/  
  • Failed install. Il try again later on today
  • Oh man. UK Cortana is rubbish compared to US. Ask her "how are you" and no response, just a web page. I tried a lot of chit chat and she doesn't respond like the US version.
  • Won't be the first time I spoke to a woman and got the eye roll.  lol.
  • Make sure your language is set to English/UK.
  • Live locksecreen is not compatible?
  • I got the message yet the app still works without any issues. It didn't stop working and I didn't have to do anything.
  • I cannot do the folders..Please help
  • Got notification in India, but cant download as away from WiFi, one of few things I don't like in windows phone... In era when phone can download @of 100 mbps...
  • Help needed!!! Error message - "We're Currently Unable to download update"(818180xf) error!!
  • Just got my replacement 920 in the mail so I'm back to WP8.
  • Hi The update downloaded on my L925 but it cannot be opened : error 801833f I tried to download several times in vain.
  • Exactly the same here. 
  • 920 downloading
  • App Corner!
  • <