Skip to main content

Here's what time you can play Avengers' Black Panther: War for Wakanda expansion

Marvels Avengers Image
Marvels Avengers Image (Image credit: Square Enix)

What you need to know

  • War for Wakanda is the latest free expansion to launch for Marvel's Avengers.
  • The update will be available to all players on Tuesday August 17.
  • Confirmed on the pre-launch War Table, the update should be live from 8 a.m. Pacific.

Update August 17: The update is now available on all platforms. On Xbox the update is showing around 30GB, and if it doesn't show up automatically check for updates manually on the console.

The latest free update to Marvel's Avengers is the biggest yet and it's almost here. Black Panther - War for Wakanda will arrive to Xbox, PlayStation, PC, and Stadia on Tuesday, August 17, and thanks to the pre-launch War Table we now know what time to expect it.

The update is due to arrive at 8 a.m. Pacific Time, which is 11 a.m. Eastern and 4 p.m. UK time. Check out a bigger list below. Naturally, platform-specific time delays could occur, because you can't just push an update out still in 2021.

  • 8 a.m. (Los Angeles)
  • 11 a.m. (New York)
  • 12 p.m. (Sao Paulo)
  • 4 p.m. (London)
  • 5 p.m. (Paris, Berlin, Rome)
  • 8.30 p.m. (New Delhi)
  • 11 p.m. (Hong Kong)
  • 1 a.m. August 18 (Sydney)

War for Wakanda is promised to be the biggest update to Marvel's Avengers yet, as it pits King T'Challa, the Black Panther, and the existing eight Avengers characters, against an all-new threat in the vibrant setting of Wakanda. It also introduces two new villains to the game, Klaw, and Crossbones, as the battle for Wakanda's Vibranium rages out of control.

As with other characters in Marvel's Avengers, Black Panther will come with a 50 level skill cap and a 150 level power cap, as well as an optional character card to unlock additional rewards and cosmetics. This will cost 1,000 credits but you won't miss out on any actual content if you don't buy it.

Also coming in the update is a much-improved UI, with a unified character menu, the ability to mass deconstruct items as well as better tools for managing loadouts. Marvel's Avengers has had its critics, but the commitment to fresh content has never wavered as we approach the third free expansion in the space of a year.

Richard Devine is an Editor at Windows Central. A former Project Manager and long-term tech addict, he joined Mobile Nations in 2011 and has been found on Android Central and iMore as well as Windows Central. Currently you'll find him covering all manner of PC hardware and gaming, and you can follow him on Twitter and Instagram.