Try Overwatch for free this weekend on Xbox One and PC

Fancy some free Overwatch this weekend? Blizzard is gearing up for another free weekend event for the game across PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC, giving those who haven't yet tried the hero-laden competitive shooter a chance to test their skills.

Getting down to specifics, you'll be able to start playing for free at 11 a.m. PT (2 p.m. ET) starting on August 23, and the fun will extend through August 27 at 11:59 p.m. PT (2:59 a.m. ET). If you're planning to play on PC, Blizzard says you'll have to wait until the event goes live to download the game from the Battlenet launcher.

Best VPN providers 2020: Learn about ExpressVPN, NordVPN & more

Console players will have things a little easier with pre-downloads available through their respective storefronts. Keep in mind, however, that you will have to have a PlayStation Plus or Xbox Live Gold membership to get in on the online action.

Overwatch is a ton of fun, full of unique heroes (there's a cannon-toting HAMSTER!), an emphasis on teamwork, and a beautiful art style. If you haven't given the game a shot just yet, now's your chance to see what all the hubbub is about.

We may earn a commission for purchases using our links. Learn more.