Activision details the 5 divisions available to play in Call of Duty: WWII's multiplayer

Activision is planning to shake things up with Call of Duty: WWII's multiplayer by replacing customizable classes with divisions. Now, ahead of E3 2017, the publisher has detailed the five divisions that you'll be able to pick from, along with their role in battle.

Essentially, divisions replace the "create a class" structure present in the last entry in the series, Infinite Warfare. Rather than choosing a fighter and customizing your loadout, divisions let you pick from a type of soldier, which is more akin to the Battlefield way of doing things.

In Call of Duty: WWII, you'll be able to choose from the following five divisions and their corresponding roles:

  • Airborne: First to the fight, where you move fast and stay quiet
  • Mountain: Focusing on precise and deadly sharpshooting
  • Infantry: Be the tip of the spear
  • Armored: Bringing the heaviest firepower
  • Expeditionary Force: Packing heat with incendiary shells

On top of the division details, Activision has also detailed some other new multiplayer aspects: War Mode and Headquarters. In War Mode, you'll team up with other players to work as a team and complete various narrative-driven multiplayer experiences in "iconic World War II locations." Headquarters, on the other hand, is a bit different:

Players will also experience Headquarters, a franchise first, all new off-the-frontlines experience for Call of Duty fans. Players will compete, earn rewards, show off their accomplishments, and connect with friends. Unlike anything experienced in Call of Duty to date, Headquarters transforms the Multiplayer experience by redefining how players engage with the game and with each other.

We'll no doubt learn much more about what Activision has in store for the latest Call of Duty once E3 kicks off in full next week, including details around the upcoming private beta test.

Dan Thorp-Lancaster

Dan Thorp-Lancaster is the former Editor-in-Chief of Windows Central. He began working with Windows Central, Android Central, and iMore as a news writer in 2014 and is obsessed with tech of all sorts. You can follow Dan on Twitter @DthorpL and Instagram @heyitsdtl

  • I still hope that one day we will have a German campaign. No heroic story but a story about the true brutal reality. We can kill civilians in modern warfare (no Russians) so it shouldn't be a problem to be the bad guys in a WW2 campaign. It would be perfect. Winning the first few missions in Poland and then realise the true horror of war. Maybe even seeing child soldiers in Berlin.
    The "perfect" anti war story.
    Basically "All Quiet on the Western Front" in a WW2 setting.
  • I would like to see that as well
  • Ugh, I hate this. The class system is the first thing that chased me off the franchise for good. I prefer variety in my games, and the way everyone is going class-based is lame. Quake Champions is at least not going full-bore with it, but even it has a taste of that. I wish we could get some sort of content diversity.
  • I had the same reaction. This really annoying.
  • I won't be buying any new games until this class / pay-to-play / $60 upfront then nickel and dime for months is done with.
  • I understand your frustration.