As if the May 2 education event and Build 2017 next week weren't enough Microsoft just announced another event, this time taking place on May 23 in Shanghai, China.

News of the event went out to media at 9 pm ET tonight. An event page is already set up to follow news on the announcement.

The landing page merely states:

On May 23 in Shanghai, Microsoft will show the world what's next.

While we have no idea what Microsoft will announce we can confirm a few things as a sneak peak:

  1. New hardware news will be shared.
  2. Panos Panay, Corporate Vice President of Devices, will be in attendance.
  3. There will be "global and regional" news as well.

The event time is 7 pm China Standard Time, which is 4 am PT/7am ET.

Let the speculation begin! More on Windows Mixed Reality? Maybe a Surface Pro 5 launch? We'll leave the guessing to you in comments.

For those curious, Windows Central is planning to attend the announcement for further coverage.