Skip to main content

Minecraft snags free skin pack to celebrate Minecon Earth

Minecon 2017 kicks off this weekend, and the folks on the Minecraft team have taken the opportunity to launch a free skin pack to celebrate. The pack is filled with "cosplayers, cake and appropriate party dress," according to a post on the Minecraft blog.

If you're planning on taking part in the Minecon Earth celebrations, the skins certainly look the part. They're colorful and feature some pretty goofy getups. Best of all, they're available to all versions of Minecraft.

If you're on mobile, console, or Windows 10, you can grab the skins for free from the store. If you're still playing along on the Java version of the game, you can grab the skin pack directly from Mojang.

And if you want to tune in to Minecraft Earth, the event kicks off on November 18 starting at 12 p.m. ET / 9 a.m. PT (17:00 GMT). You can watch a livestream of the show at the Minecraft website. The show is a celebration of all things Minecraft, and is sure to feature some announcements, as well as appearances from big names in the Minecraft community.

See Minecraft at Microsoft (opens in new tab)

Dan Thorp-Lancaster is the Editor in Chief for Windows Central. He began working with Windows Central as a news writer in 2014 and is obsessed with tech of all sorts. You can follow Dan on Twitter @DthorpL and Instagram @heyitsdtl. Got a hot tip? Send it to daniel.thorp-lancaster@futurenet.com.

2 Comments
  • I refuse to "upgrade" to the Bedrock version until Mojang gets over their ridiculous assertion that "coordinates are cheats" even though in every other version of the game they're not and even though Mojang hypocritically promotes them as a tool in their officially published books.
  • You can choose to start with an empty locator map if you are worried about getting lost and finding your way back home. It's not that big of a deal to not have coordinates available in survival mode.