Surface Laptop 3 13.5Source: Windows Central

What you need to know

  • Windows 10 build 19041.208 is rolling out to Insiders on the Release Preview ring.
  • This is meant to be the "final" test build ahead of the May 2020 Update's release.
  • It includes a single fix and a handful of known issues.

Microsoft shipped another "final" build for the Windows 10 May 2020 Update out to Insiders on the Release Preview ring today. This release bumps the build number up to 19041.208, which is a slight uptick from the previous 19041.207 build. The update includes one fix that Microsoft says it wanted to be sure was included before the May 2020 Update eventually starts rolling out to everyone later in May.

"While we originally thought that Build 19041.207 would be the final build, we made the decision to take in one more fix we felt was important to have before making the May 2020 Update generally available," Microsoft said in an updated blog post. "We believe that Build 19041.208 is the new final build and still plan on continuing to improve the overall experience of the May 2020 Update on customers' PCs as part of our normal servicing cadence."

Best VPN providers 2020: Learn about ExpressVPN, NordVPN & more

The blog post notes that build 19041.208 includes all of the fixes released to the Slow ring from builds 19041.21 through 19041.207. It also includes all 20H1 features, along with the following fix:

  • We fixed an issue that fails to send NPLogonNotify API notifications from the credential provider framework.

Here's a look at the current known issues that Microsoft plans to address in "upcoming service releases:"

  • Windows Mixed Reality may not work correctly for many users on the May 2020 Update. If you regularly use Windows Mixed Reality, we recommend holding off taking the May 2020 Update via Release Preview for now. We are working on a fix which we hope to release in early May.
  • We are aware of an issue where using the DISM (Deployment Image Servicing and Management) tool to repair corruption on systems running the May 2020 Update does not always report the correct status. This will be fixed in an upcoming servicing release.
  • Some apps utilize the ImeMode property to control the IME (Input Method Editor) mode for individual text entry fields to increase typing efficiency. This functionality does not work correctly currently in the May 2020 Update. For example, a number field will not automatically switch to a mode that is best optimized for Japanese numerical input. This issue will be fixed in an upcoming servicing update. To work around this issue in the short term, either manually switch the input mode when typing, or set the Compatibility 'Use previous version' checkbox for the impacted keyboard via Settings > Time & Language.

The current Release Preview build is only automatically rolling out via Windows Update to a select set of Insiders. However, anyone can manually request the update and install it by checking Windows Update. Microsoft hasn't specified a firm release date for the Windows 10 May 2020 Update, but it's widely expected that it will begin rolling out to the public starting on the next Patch Tuesday, which would be May 12.