How to watch the Oculus special event, live!

Oculus is throwing a special event today to discuss the future of the Rift, gaming, virtual reality and "more." It's all going down in San Francisco, but the good news is that interested parties can check out the event in full, live, online as it unfolds.

Here's the where and the when.

The event can be watched in two different places. First of those is on Oculus' own website, the second is on Twitch.tv. So, if you're on your Xbox One fire up the Twitch app and look for the Oculus channel. Links for both are below.

So, how about when? The event kicks off at 10 a.m. local time in San Francisco, and these corresponding times in various other parts of the world:

  • 1.00 p.m. ET
  • 5.00 p.m. GMT
  • 6.00 p.m. BST
  • 10.30 p.m. IST
  • 3.00 a.m. AEST

Anywhere else, we recommend timeanddate for all your timezone needs.

As for the event, we're not really sure what we'll see. Oculus Rift has slowly been progressing and there are some obvious gaming use cases for such a headset. It's still a developer kit as of right now and early talk suggests today we'll hear about the first consumer edition. Many would have expected an event like this to tag on to E3 next week in LA, but whatever Oculus has for us they're taking a bold step and getting in early.

Speculate away in the comments below!

Richard Devine
Managing Editor - Tech, Reviews

Richard Devine is a Managing Editor at Windows Central with over a decade of experience. A former Project Manager and long-term tech addict, he joined Mobile Nations in 2011 and has been found on Android Central and iMore as well as Windows Central. Currently, you'll find him steering the site's coverage of all manner of PC hardware and reviews. Find him on Mastodon at mstdn.social/@richdevine

6 Comments
  • Hopefully the final specs and price will be revealed today. Thanks for posting time and date of the event.
  • I've already played oculus extensively. Vr isn't ready. No 360 degree movement kills the virtual reality part. Its all so. Gimmicky. It was great at first. Then I yearned for mouse and keyboard with a monitor or xbox controller with a tv. Until you can physically move around and view in 360, the whole thing detaches further from the game imo. You just cant help feeling its all so limited.
  • The final consumer version will definitely be much better than development kit and even that will be consumer version 1.0 , with time and new versions every year along with yearly increase in GPU performance will lead to a much better VR experience.
  • Gotta start somewhere, I guess.
  • I haven't had a chance to try it myself, but from what I've heard from people who have, their response has been the exact opposite; they have found "regular" games difficult to get into after the experience.
  • The minute you star to turn your head, you expect full movement. Something I then didn't get. Which resulted in feeling detatched from virtual reality. Its not ready imo. Vr needs 360 degree movement to keep the illusion of vr. Other wise it feels like a tv with kinect right in front of your eyes where the look part responds to your head movement. But not 360 degrees.