Marvel's Avengers is adding heroes for free post-launch, Hawkeye is the first addition

Marvels Avengers Hawkeye Trailer
Marvels Avengers Hawkeye Trailer (Image credit: Square Enix (screenshot))

What you need to know

  • Marvel's Avengers is being developed by Crystal Dynamics.
  • Today, during a new War Table presentation, the developers announced that Hawkeye is the first hero being added post-launch.
  • Marvel's Avengers is scheduled to release on September 4, 2020.

Today, a new Marvel's Avengers War Table gave players a better idea of what to expect down the line. Six heroes are included with the game at launch:Thor, Iron Man, Captain America, Hulk, Black Widow and Kamala Khan. The story follows Kamala as she helps to rebuild the Avengers to take on AIM and MODOK. After the campaign ends, something called the Avengers Initiative begins.

This is Crystal Dynamic's post-launch support plan and it's kicking off with the addition of an iconic Avenger, Hawkeye. You can check out the trailer introducing Hawkeye below:

Hawkeye has his own unique skills to unlock, customization items to equip and will come alongside the introduction of a new villain.

Crystal Dynamics previously revealed that the beta is kicking off on August 7 for anyone preordered the game on PS4, with Xbox One and PC preorders gaining beta access on August 14. Anyone on any platform will be able to try the beta on August 27, even without preordering.

Marvel's Avengers is currently expected to launch on September 4, 2020 for Xbox One, PC and PS4. It's getting a free next-generation upgrade, so you'll be able to get the Xbox Series X or PS5 version at no additional cost.

Xbox Series X/S


Samuel Tolbert
Freelance Writer

Samuel Tolbert is a freelance writer covering gaming news, previews, reviews, interviews and different aspects of the gaming industry, specifically focusing on Xbox and PC gaming on Windows Central. You can find him on Twitter @SamuelTolbert.