Skip to main content

Microsoft Outlook down impacting email, calendar, and more

Outlook and Edge on iOS
Outlook and Edge on iOS (Image credit: Windows Central)

Microsoft's Outlook service appears to be down across the globe, leaving many users unable to access email, calendar, contacts, and other components of its online services. The company has acknowledged ongoing issues facing users, with work on a fix underway.

Update, October 1 (5:25 a.m. ET) — Outlook services 'recovering' states Microsoft

Microsoft has provided an update, with services now returning for some users. "Further analysis has determined that the issue is being caused by a recent configuration update to components that route user requests. We've reverted the update and telemetry shows that the service is now recovering," it stated. It promises a further update at 11 a.m. UTC (12 p.m. BST / 7 a.m. ET / 4 a.m. PT) according to its status page.

Users may be unable to access email and other Outlook services, the company has stated via the Office service health (opens in new tab) status page. "We're collecting additional data from the affected infrastructure to aid in our investigation to determine the cause of impact," it stated. It promises its next formal update by 9 a.m. UTC (10 a.m. BST / 5 a.m. ET / 2 a.m. PT) with further information on progress towards a fix.

The outage is expected to impact those using Outlook.com and other Outlook services, rendering its website inaccessible for some, or preventing users from updating their email or calendar through external clients. It's not just you, although services are expected to return shortly.

Matt Brown is Windows Central's Senior Editor, Xbox & PC, at Future. Following over seven years of professional consumer technology and gaming coverage, he’s focused on the world of Microsoft's gaming efforts. You can follow him on Twitter @mattjbrown.

3 Comments
  • Working fine here(India) for now.
  • Did their spam filter shut down to because I have been getting tons since yesterday
  • Working OK here -- Chicagoland.