Microsoft teases 'all-new Xbox hardware' debut at Gamescom

Microsoft is planning to debut some new Xbox hardware at Gamescom next month. In a blog post (via The Verge) today, Xbox's Larry "Major Nelson" Hryb teased that the company will have some "all-new Xbox hardware and accessories" to show off during its Inside Xbox stream.

But don't get your hopes up for any new console news.

In a separate post on Xbox Wire, Microsoft's wording is slightly different, pointing to "new Xbox One bundles and accessories" making their debut instead. That likely points to new controllers or third-party accessories. But there's still another option that could get Xbox fans excited: a new Xbox Elite controller.

The original Elite Controller was launched in 2015 as a premium controller, complete with trigger locks, paddles for the rear, and the option to add longer joysticks and different directional pads.

Best VPN providers 2020: Learn about ExpressVPN, NordVPN & more

An Elite Controller 'V2' has been rumored for a while, and some alleged leaked images have even popped up from time to time. As for what to expect, the Elite Controller V2 looks to be more of an iterative update, with a three-stage hair trigger lock, tension control for the joysticks, and Bluetooth connectivity. It's also possible we'll see the new Elite Controller get its own matching charging dock.

Updated July 19, 2018: Microsoft has confirmed to Windows Central that the "all-new hardware" wording was a mistake and the company intends only to show off new bundles and accessories at Gamescom.

In any case, we'll know what Microsoft has up its sleeves when Gamescom kicks off next month. Specifically, Microsoft is planning to show off what it has in store on August 21 during a special episode of Inside Xbox at 7:30 a.m. PT (10:30 a.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. CEST).

The current Xbox Elite Controller is available now for $150.

We may earn a commission for purchases using our links. Learn more.