Destiny 2: The Witch Queen's Legendary campaign will be brutal, but rewarding

Destiny 2
Destiny 2 (Image credit: Bungie)

What you need to know

  • Bungie has shared several details about what players can expect from Destiny 2: The Witch Queen's Legendary campaign.
  • Enemies will be tougher, more dangerous, and greater in number. Additionally, the campaign will scale with the number of players in your fireteam and only provides limited revives in Darkness zones.
  • Completing missions on Legendary difficulty will award players with double chest rewards, a full set of 1520 Power Level gear, and more.

In a new blog post, Destiny 2 developer Bungie has provided several details about the Legendary version of Destiny 2: The Witch Queen's campaign. Bungie has previously hinted that the upcoming expansion's Legendary campaign difficulty will make things more difficult while also improving the rewards that players will get for completing its missions, but now we have a strong idea of what exactly to expect.

In terms of how challenging the Legendary campaign will be, Bungie says that it aimed to make it more difficult than Legend-tier Nightfall missions, but less challenging than trying to beat Dungeons solo or trying to beat a Grandmaster Nightfall. Enemies will be more aggressive and efficient in combat, and they'll also have a higher damage and stagger resistance as well as shields that are tougher to take down with unmatched element types. Legendary difficulty will also result in a higher number of enemies spawning, and some Elite enemies will even be replaced with bosses.

The Legendary campaign will also scale with the number of players on your fireteam, so if you're playing through it with a full team of three Guardians, expect Savathûn and her forces to be considerably more resilient and dangerous. In Darkness zones (areas where you can't freely respawn), players will only be able to revive a teammate one time, and the entire team will wipe in 40 seconds if a teammate isn't resurrected by one of their allies. This is similar to how Destiny 2 handles revives and team wipes in Raids.

Source: Bungie (Image credit: Source: Bungie)

Overall, The Witch Queen's Legendary campaign will be brutal, but it will also be incredibly rewarding as well. Bungie has confirmed that Legendary will give players double drops from the chests they earn from the major encounters in each mission, meaning that you can get anywhere from 1-3 extra chests per level. These chests award players world pool gear, XP, Upgrade Modules, and Glimmer. Legendary players will also be able to earn armor exclusive to Savathûn's Throne World more frequently as well.

Additionally, completing every mission in The Witch Queen's campaign on Legendary will award players with the following:

  • A new emblem exclusive to those who complete the campaign at Legendary difficulty
  • A Triumph required for the newest title for Throne World
  • A set of gear 20 above the soft cap at 1520 Power Level
  • Eight Upgrade Modules
  • New The Witch Queen Exotic armor that typically is reserved for PED Lost Sector drops
  • Exclusive Bungie Rewards

Overall, it's exciting to see that Bungie is making The Witch Queen's Legendary campaign worth checking out, especially since past Destiny 2 expansion campaigns have often been underwhelming in terms of challenge options as well as loot.

Destiny 2: The Witch Queen is expected to launch on Feb. 22, 2022 on all platforms. The Standard Edition of the DLC costs $40, but there are other versions that are more expensive but offer bonus content as well. Notably, Destiny 2: The Witch Queen preorders are live now, so you can reserve your copy of the expansion ahead of launch if you'd like.

Brendan Lowry

Brendan Lowry is a Windows Central writer and Oakland University graduate with a burning passion for video games, of which he's been an avid fan since childhood. You'll find him doing reviews, editorials, and general coverage on everything Xbox and PC. Follow him on Twitter.