Destiny 2's first expansion, Curse of Osiris, will take the fight to Mercury

The first expansion for Destiny 2 has been revealed, thanks to a listing on the Xbox Store. According to the listing, the expansion will be called Curse of Osiris, and it will take players to Mercury with new single player and multiplayer content. Though the listing was initially revealed without any official announcement, Bungie marketing director Eric Osborne has now confirmed Curse of Osiris is real (via Polygon).

There aren't a lot of granular details about the expansion to go off of, but the Xbox Store listing does confirm players will be able to explore a new zone on Mercury called the "Infinite Forest." The listing reads:

Destiny 2 Expansion I: Curse of Osiris continues your Guardian's journey with all-new story missions and adventures set in a new destination, Mercury. Journey through time and space to learn the secrets of Osiris, avert a dark future, and rebuild the ties between the legendary Warlock and his greatest student - Ikora Rey.

  • Explore Mercury and its mysterious "Infinite Forest"
  • New story missions and adventures
  • New themed weapons, armor, and gear to earn
  • New cooperative activities
  • New competitive multiplayer arenas
  • And more...

There's no word on individual pricing for Curse of Osiris, but it will be available as one of the two expansions included in the $34.99 expansion pass. Now that the expansion has been confirmed, we expect we'll hear much more out of Activision soon. In the meantime, you can pick up Destiny 2 starting at $59.99, or get caught up on the story of Destiny so far.

Dan Thorp-Lancaster

Dan Thorp-Lancaster is the former Editor-in-Chief of Windows Central. He began working with Windows Central, Android Central, and iMore as a news writer in 2014 and is obsessed with tech of all sorts. You can follow Dan on Twitter @DthorpL and Instagram @heyitsdtl