Skip to main content

Lumia Cyan update now live for AT&T Lumia 1020 and 1520 Preview users

Lumia Cyan is rolling out to those on AT&T with the Lumia 1020 or Lumia 1520 running Windows Phone 8.1 Preview for Developers. Previously users would need to roll back to a retail version of Windows Phone in order to receive the Lumia Cyan update. That's no longer the case.

Reports are flying in that those on AT&T with a Lumia 1020 or Lumia 1520 are receiving updates for Lumia Cyan. Those users are currently running Windows Phone 8.1 Preview for Developers. Those with the Lumia 920 on T-Mobile Germany also running Windows Phone 8.1 Preview for Developers should be able to grab Lumia Cyan without downgrading.

Microsoft's Greg Sullivan ( @gregwardo) took to Twitter to confirm the reports:

"Cyan update rolling to #WindowsPhone developer preview Lumia 1020 and 1520 on ATT, T-Mo Germany Lumia 920. More soon..."

Let us know if you see an update! We'll keep you posted as to when other devices are able to upgrade directly without rolling back.

Source: @gregwardo

Thanks for the tips everyone!

339 Comments
  • Niceee
  • Has it hit the regular-release 920 yet?
  • Nope >-[
  • I know right!
  • yup, got it last week and i'm in aus:)
  • I'm on Telstra in Aus and don't have cyan update? Running a Lumia 920 on 8.1 developers preview cant update to gdr1 get the error that Microsoft are working on fixing
  • I'm on boost prepaid but country variant so not network dependent :)
  • I'm on Amaysim (piggybacks on Optus) in Aus and I also don't have Cyan on my Lumia 920 with 8.1 Dev Preview. How'd you get it, asphaltpotato? Who's your provider?
  • I can get some update for my 920 now...
  • For most of the civilized world Yes - except ATT in the US is not civilized so they are still a big fat NO!
  • I'm on AT&T in California and got 2 Cyan updates this morning. 
  • Need Cyan for developers preview on Rogers 920 and 1020.
  • YAHOOOOO!!
  • http://youtu.be/iC1a8xXQQDo
  • Bing!
  • Bingoooo
  • Biiiiiiiiinnnnnng!
  • Hot Bot
  • I have it already installed. Swweeet.
  • After the update when I ask Cortana, "What is my name?". She says, "You are backslash username backslash". But when I go into settings, it would write and say the name correctly. Update: I turned Cortana off and am now deleting all Cortana local and cloud data. Update 2: Even after resetting Cortana, still says the same thing. Nothing I can fix.
  • I fixed Cortana by going to Bing and making sure I was signed in and all settings were ok. Do that on your PC and Cortana will begin working corectly again.
  • Can't wait for it to roll out for the Rogers 920. Well, I unlocked my phone but I guess I am still bound by their update schedule.
  • It's already out for Rogers 920 dude
  • it's out, but not available to those enrolled into DP
  • Not sure about that...  I updated my Rogers 920 on DP 8.1 to Cyan yesterday with the Nokia restore desktop app. It appears to be working without issue.
  • Basically what that does is roll back your OS to WP8 then gives you Cyan and then puts you back into Preview to get 8.1 update 1.    I don't want to lose certain apps that arent available anymore nor do i want to lose data that i cannot back up so I'll wait til they fix the update error and allow for cyan on preview devices
  • At last! Let it go round right away!
  • Getting sick of carriers having to get a say. They take for ever to approve this stuff.
    I'm pretty sure my wife still doesn't even have 8.1. That's ridiculously pitiful.
  • My wife has an unlocked Samsung Ativ S and it's still stuck in 8.0 GDR2 (and the 8.1 DP is reported to have serious problems in this phone)... I'm seriously considering buying her a Nokia, which is what I should have done from the beginning.
  • Mine has a Nokia too. So that's not necessarily the solution. It's the stupid carriers.
  • Agreed. But at least Nokias remain quite stable after installing developer previews (that's at least my experience). And with Ativ there's not just the problem of the stupid carriers, the phone maker itself seems to be stupid as well.
  • Lol
  • I have an Ativ S and installed Developer preview on my daughters phone...she hasn't complained yet, but we'll see:)  what are the complaints or issues that others have seen with the Ativ S on DP?
  • This is good news for us DP users.
  • Yeah finally
  • I have this huge grin on my face right now
  • WHOOOOO!!!!!! I KNEW WAITING WOULD PAY OFF!!! Upgrading as soon as I get home, looking forward to Cyan. :D
  • Live life on the edge and upgrade now.
  • Most of us can't upgrade OTA, so we have to wait to get home to our wifi to install.
  • Nah, I have Wi-Fi, but I also need to text people. I'm downloading it now (might as well save home bandwidth), but I won't install until I get home. Need my device functional, man. Should be worth the wait though. I've waited a few weeks or so, a few hours is nothing.
  • I'm downloading it on my 1020 OTA as I type this.
  • but don't you need heaps of data for it?
  • many are grandfathered into AT&T unlimited data
  • What if you're on AT&T with a factory unlocked 1520.3 running DP?
  • It's not running the AT&T specific ROM, so it doesn't count in this update. But I'm sure it'll be made available soon.
  • Ughhh why doesn't Lumia 920 cyan for att get here already >_
  • That's what she said...
  • I feel for you. I ended up moving to the 1520.3.
  • Its because its a mid range phone
  • Mid-Range phone?? how so when it was released as the FLAG SHIP DEVICE when it was announced for SALE!!!! Which OEM has EVER sold a mid-ranged phone as a flag ship device??????????????????
  • That was then..... This is now.
  • Oh come off your high horse. It was the flagship WP device, but hardware wise it was a midrange device (though with a nice camera and wireless charging) upon release, and moving forward almost 2 years does not work in the favor of the 920.
    I love my 920, but it is hardly the newest device, nor a best seller, and a ton of 920 users are coming up on the end of their contracts in the next quarter or so. ATT has a lot of interest in getting people on to new devices with new contracts (or their silly new contract-less contracts) rather than supporting a 20 month old product. I am sure the update will come, but consider this a message from your carrier that they want you to upgrade soon.
  • While we certainly can't say the 920 is "Flagship" anymore the fact that it came out 20 months agos isn't too relavant, either. I'm pretty sure AT&T was still selling new 920s on contract earlier this year (but I could be wrong, but I think it's been over the summer that I've finally seen them disappear from their website store). There could be an argument for a carrier not caring so much about supporting devices that way past their prime and past the normal contract cycles, but we haven't reached that with the 920 or some of the contracts on it. Some people are not even a year into a two year contract on a new (non-refurb) phone that is still a very capable smartphone (with better specs than some new phones; there's no way I'd switch from my 920 to a 630/635 just because it is brand new). Those people can't upgrade soon because of AT&T's own contract. I am not saying AT&T has a responsibility to update, but it also doesn't make sense for them to not support new contracts on brand new phones that they just recently sold.   If the 920 had barely been able to run WP8 when it was released I would totally agree there's no sense bumping it to 8.1, but that just isn't the case. Now, I will agree that the fact that a phone was a flagship at one time has no weight now.
  • I agree that it is a dated phone, but I refuse to be bullied into upgrading my phone, especially when the options are limited and we haven't hit the holiday season when, hopefully, we will see announcements of more Windows phones. Additionally, I'm not in love with any of the current devices (maybe when the HTC M8 hits AT&T). I would like something like the 1520 (especially the MicroSD slot), but I just can't get over the size -- it's just too big. I would go for the Icon (930) but oh, wait, that's a Verizon exclusive and doesn't have the WP 8.1 update yet either.  The fact that the 920 Cyan update has already been rolled out to Canada, India and the UK indicates it is compatible and should work just fine. What in the world could they be testing that hasn't already been tested? I would be satisified if there was some word about WHEN they plan on rolling it out, but this vacuum of information around the update for the L920 is simply horrible. 
  • ^^^LOL
  • The 920 seems to be universally "under testing." I guess we'll just have to wait for pigs to grow wings...
  • ATT Lumia 920 users unite!
  • And still no Cyan on AT&T L920...It's got me feeling a little blue!
  • I see what you did there ;)
  • Or a little cyan perhaps?
  • Cyanisis is common with this condition.
  • Don't despair, it'll... OOOOOOOOOOOHHHH, eye c wat u d1d th4r!!!!!!
  • Or, perhaps, are you green with envy?
  • It'll come 'soon'
  • Soon isn't soon enough! lolz
  • Soon™. © Microsoft Corporation.
  • It's been coming soon for a LONG time... guess my definition of soon and AT&T's definition need a little work to match.
  • C'mon already, Verizon. My Icon is feeling left out...
  • My 8X feels just as lonely
  • Same for my 822
  • My wife needs it for her 928.
  • Scrolled thru just to make sure I wasn't the only Icon left out...
  • LOL, No! You're not being left out. They are just catching up!
  • This agony for us on Verizon. But I'm glad to see the downgrade is no longer necessary.
  • That's not nececerily true. It could be a separate update that has the same end result that Verizon has to approve for another 10 years as well.
  • Very odd. My UK-CV 1520 already has the cyan update - now on Developer Preview Update 1. However, currently downloading the update just notified...
  • Yep, same happened to me. Might just be an auto flag to download to any DP device, even if already on Cyan due to older version?
  • Meanwhile...if you're on tmobile... Screwed if you don't have an hemDROID phone
  • I'm hoping all ATT and Verizon Lumias will hurry up and get Cyan. That way we can actually start hoping for T Mobile to be next in line.
  • Flash your 925 to a different firmware if you don't care about internet sharing or Wi-Fi calling
  • If you didn't care about those things why wouldn't you just be on another carrier?
  • Price, network coverage, other unknown factors?
  • It's easy to rule out the first two as there are options out there that have both better pricing and better coverage. That just leaves the unknown.
  • I don't completely agree on your first point, there are places where T-Mobile has great service while others do not (T-Mobile MVNOs might have a lower plan price in that area)
  • I think the number of places where T-Mobile has better service than ATT or Verizon is less than the total unicorn population of North America.
  • Well in that case there's quite a few unicorns in North America
  • There are those that believe that, and there are those that know better. But if you truly believe in unicorns I doubt anyone will be able to convince you they don't exist
  • How do I do that I dont care about wi-fi calling or internet sharing
  • http://forums.wpcentral.com/showthread/243839.htm Check out this thread, I've posted my results along with quite a few folks
  • It just automatically downloaded onto my 1520.
  • Hey Sam, I think there is a mistake.. You said "those with Lumia 930 on T-Mobile"... Wouldn't be 920?
  • Yes. Thank you for the catch. Fixed.
  • Hey Sam, you said Lumia 920 on TMobile Germany. Didn't you mean on ATT US?
  • No, I think he meant Update 1 is rolling out to 1020 users along with a suitcase full of cash.
  • It was worth a shot.
  • Finally! Just completed the update! Looks like it installed 8.10.14157.200 again.
  • I wondered why I got 2 updates in a row!
  • Son of a....I rolled back everything just yesterday. Could have saved myself a few hours and many syncing headaches.
  • I almost did this weekend, but kind of forgot all about it. So glad I did : )
  • Yeah I've been forgetting too. Forgetting finally paid off!
  • This is exactly why I didn't do it. The damn syncs take for ever
  • 930 ?
  • *facepalm*
  • If you bothered to actually read comments you'd see that the article originally said 930, you jerk.
  • You're being the jerk here, jerk
  • Thanks :)
  • Amazing, flagship phone on Verizon (Icon) and yet no update..
  • Patience my young ones!!!
    It will come, just wait!!
    ;-)
    I feel it coming by the end of the week.
  • Strange... Someone has had that same feeling every week...
  • Very nice.... :)
  • 928 please
  • +928
  • Come on tmobile..
  • By T-Mobile
  • I really hope this wasn't holding up AT&T from pushing 8.1/Cyan to the 920... If so, push now that these are out of the way!
  • Probably will be a week or 2 since not everyone is actively checking for updates aside from the extra app being updated
  • Want it on my 8x!
  • 920?
  • Nothing in UK. Is this a cyan firmware update only or are MS pushing a fix as well for Bitlocker. As I'm already on .200 os version.
  • Not available yet for my unlocked 1520 (Mobile Operator : 000-HK) But it's a very good new! A sign a life from Microsoft!
  • Yay!! Made my day brighter ^_^
  • It seems 720 CV in UK is finally receiving Cyan as well. Installing right now.
  • Is it just the firmware updating, or did they push os update.
  • Well if you're on Lumia Black + 8.0 GDR3 then you'll get Cyan + 8.1 (regular 8.1, not the one with start screen folders).
    Firmware is always bundled with OS update. If you're on developer preview then it's just firmware obviously.
  • And this works for DP1 Update 1? ie - will live folders still be around?!
  • Why wouldn't it? That's the version that preview users are on.
  • Oh my God, my hands are shaking
  • Do you still have the folder/map option after you update the preview version to cyan?
  • This is not an OS update, it's a firmware update. So yes.
  • Very HAPPY:)
  • And my sad little 928 still waiting. :(
  • Got mine already....:)
  • Rolling back on WP isn't that difficult. At most an hour or so including automatic app downloads and the like. Sure, some application settings not cloud stored are lost, but ... why put yourself through the agony of waiting for an update. :D  Glad you people are getting it now.
  • I already downgraded last week. But now I must admit I'm wary about going the DP road again. I'll probably cave in in a couple of weeks.
  • You're weary because they fixed the issue in a reasonably timely manner?
  • -.- Oh yeah... That is exactly it. /s
  • You probably meant wary, right?
  • Oops! My bad. Yes, I meant wary. I mean, I'm weary as well but probably can't blame Microsoft for it... Or can I... Θ_Θ
  • Just install NL 1020 ATT..
  • Do they not see or not care about 920 owners seeing others getting version 2 of an update we still haven't seen? Already frustrated with app quality and selection for WP. This just another reason to walk at 2 years.
  • Must be frustrating for you since the 920 update has been available already in practically the whole of Asia, Europ, Africa, and in several countries in the Middle East and Latin America.
  • Get after the carriers, they're the ones that haven't placed any priority on getting the update out to all phones in a timely manner. In my opinion, it should have been released within a couple of weeks after RTM to all devices on all carriers in all countries. This is what makes Windows Phone look bad -- it's a great OS (far better than the Droids and iPhone) and has incredible promise with the 8.1 update. 
  • I rolled back my 1520 last week and it is completely unusable now. Screen flickers and apps open up on their own. Screen locks constantly. And Cortana kept opening on her own so much, and freezing, that I had to turn Cortana off completely. I've heven reset to factory settings and it continues. In a nutshell my 1520 is now a brick so I'm keeping my 1020 on Preview for Developers for awhile to see what bugs pop up.
  • Sometimes you have to do more than one reset under settings/about/reset your phone.
  • I'm starting to doubt that it ever will...
  • Best news ever! So sick of lag! Looking forward to new camera algorithms!
  • 1520.3 seeing it on att? I show no updates still on mine
  • I don't see it either.  Probably only applies to branded phones.
  • The wait is on then...again
  • Same situation
  • You'll have to wait for the international version release. Last time it took about 10 days longer before the official WP8.1 update was available for the 1520.3 compared to the AT&T branded one.
  • Good to know Memristor
  • Lumia 920 for at&t will not be updating until 4th quarter 2014, just prior to new phone releases for xmas.
  • Tell me you actually work at AT&T because this statement would make people actually destroy their L920s. That makes as much sense as making a house out of icecream to live in. Why give an OS upgrade to a device right before the time to upgrade hardware knowing that it will be traded in for a newer one, there will be no time to actually experience what the new OS has to offer on the old device compared to moving to a new device. What does make sense is to offer the upgrade now so atht people can see what MS is doing for WP and that sticking with WP is a very viable option going forward.
  • I'm sure some people going ,YEAH BABY!
  • Waiting finally paid off. Now just a little bit more waiting till they launch it for 525 and 720s
  • Ugh. Longer wait for Lumia Icon even though the 930 already has it.
  • Finally..can't wait for Malaysia
  • Yes!!!! *does a happy dance*
  • Well still nothing for L920 FRANCE CV but these are indeed excelent news
  • 920. Won't be long now!  ::rubbing hands together::
     
  • We been saying that for months buddy!
  • Hope you are right!!!
  • Not here in Honduras... but I expected that. My carrier is Tigo, I don't think they are related to any of the aforementioned carriers. I am happy to know the Cyan is finally being released for users with DP8.1, with the current situation of my phone (unstable USB connection) I can't do the rollback. My phone disconnects "because reasons".
  • Got it. Ok what's new again?
  • good news at least, hoping my stubborn waiting for uk cv 920 on DP wp8.1 gdr1 will pay off soon to go legit with cyan
  • Just updated 1020 and got the "welcome to cyan" message. Ironically, just got a notification while typing this that "an update is ready to install". Here goes nothing (again)
  • Same here, I wonder what the second update is for?
  • Did you finish the second update? Did everything work out?
  • Verizon needs to update the Lumia Icon already!
  • And all along I thought my 1520 had Cyan, I can't tell too much of a difference, except the small arrows on the Wi-Fi a and cellular icons.
  • Just for branded phones. There is no update for Country variant yet.
  • Come on debian red my 930 has not had an update since dp update 1. Need something to whinge about... Oh yeah where's my bloody glance screen...
  • Glad I waited
  • Waiting on Cyan release for T-Mobile's 925s running 8.1 via the developer preview. But I'm patient, so I can wait.
  • Me too. Been this long, I can wait a little longer.
  • About time..... Mines already download
  • Downloading on my 920 from Deutsche Telekom! I knew I would do better to wait. It would have been a nightmare to lose everything on my 920.   Now to nag Belfiore so they release Cyan for my Deutsche Telekom 1020...=P
  • Currently downloading the update on my AT&T 1020.
  • I wish everyone with a 920 would voice their discontent with AT&T. Maybe then we would actually get treated like users with newer devices. Its obvious that because the 920 is about two years old and people whom bought it new are due for an upgrade AT&T will delay as long as they can.
  • It was still newish, when they hosed us with Amber too.. Invalid argument.
  • True. I guess its just because AT&T sucks period.
  • Could be worse. You could be a T-Mobile customer.
  • Is it region restricted ?
  • YAHTZEE!!!!!!  I just got mine. Yet again, patience pays off big time!
  • Sorry for the question but what's the name of this yellow case? I've also 1520-yellow and searching the name and from where to request :) Please help me to find this case name :)
  • Arhhgg! I just downgraded mine 3 days ago! The horror! The horror!
  • Question if I update my phone do all my apps stay at the current level? I have disregarded updating despicable me because I didn't want to lose my bapples!
  • Normally no. Updates don't mess with the app data. Now, if you reset your phone, then you will lose the app data unless the game has cloud saving or been updated to allow the phone to back up its data along with the rest of the stuff the phone backs up.   But just updating apps shouldn't change anything ;)
  • Still no update for the Icon.. Starting to piss me off.
  • Sigh of relief!! Now just VZW.....in a month, most likely ;) can't wait.
  • Hello Folks, As part of our effort to resolve the issue with updating to Cyan while on the Preview for Developer program, we have rolled out the Cyan update to three specific device types this afternoon. Customers on the following devices and participating in the Preview for Developer program can now take the Cyan update:
    •Nokia Lumia 1020 - Branded on AT&T
    •Nokia Lumia 1520 - Branded on AT&T
    •Nokia Lumia 920 - Branded T-Mobile Germany We continue to work on releasing the other devices to receive Cyan as part of the Preview for Developer program and hope to have more information in the future.
  • Thanks for there update. 920 CV in Australia next please.
  • I am hoping that the 920 on Tmobile Germany is a test to see how it works for the people here in the States.  I actually have the 920 unlocked and I am using it on Tmob USA.
  • Hi Mide64, When will Cyan be available for the Australian country variant? Software: Windows Phone 8.1 Update I'm using a 1520.1 variant:
    RM-937_apac_australia_new_zealand_933 OS Version:
    8.10.14157.200 Firmware:
    1028.3562.1402.0003 Please have some good news, soon....
  • Done on ATT Lumia 1020!
     
  • Just tried my Australian 920 CV on preview for developers, no Cyan. Hope is eternal..
  • Running now...and...I have...CYAN!  1020   And...now...I have been alerted to a second update being ready...and it is installing now...     The second one rreports itself as being a reinstall of Dev Prev.     So, they wrote a routine that uninstalled it, then re-installed it via a second update.   How practical!          CT, USA
  • Everyone loves DP :-o
  • Yeahhh finally!!!! Dpppppppp
  • Woohoo! Just installed it!
  • To read soo many posts about when will the L920 get this update goes to show whether on contract or not, it's a device that many people still regard as a quality device despite that its almost 2 yrs old. What I want people to note that the L1520 is alost 1 yr old and yet has older hardware than what the latest HTC,SONY,LG and SAMSUNG has on offer to date. Yet I still read posts about how much of a beast the L1520 is. I love the L920 and for its older hardware and how it flows with WP8 OS and the WP8.1 OS is said to be a step up from WP8 in terms of functionality and speed. To me all AT&T would be doing is making those who do have the L920 on contract stay a bit longer with the L920 simply because of how it works since the update and just biding their time until a true worthy Lumia successor is released.
  • Thank God!! Update installed. Already my apps have lost the last when starting up. Hopefully this also solves the random freezing issue on the 1020 too.
  • Niceeee
  • Oh small device specific rollouts? There goes all hope for the 810 getting it.
  • I have a bad feeling about those who downgraded lollllll patience is a priority guyssssss
  • Virtue, mate.
  • Sweet also available in the UK. I've installed on both my Uk 1520 and american 1020 :)
  • I should have waited 3 more days. Oh well
  • Hahah u had to be more patient lol
  • Patience paid off. Downloaded and running great... AT&T + 1520 in the U.S
  • Completed the updates on my 1020. Cyan update followed by OS update. Not sure what the OS update was for unless it was a reinstall of the latest DP version.
  • What os version are you on now .200
  • Yes, .200
  • Anyone running the ATT 1020 on TmoUS with DP? I just updated to cyan and tethering recognizes it as Tmobile (instead of ATT as before cyan), but it says that I don't have tethering service, when in fact I do. Prior to cyan, I had to go down to 4G (from LTE) to get thethering to work. Once on, I could switch back to LTE. Getting the second update now, we'll see if it fixes anything. Anyone else?
     
  • Any solution to this?  Running an ATT 1020 on TMo, and lost my ability to tether through the update.  Prior to this I had internet sharing on LTE by way of a workaround involving an international sim card last time to get this to work.  If I can find it I guess I will rerun the same workaround and see if the same method works although I can't find the foriegn sim card.. 
  • I tried some stuff today (Tmobile phone, share internet, then back to my 1020; non-tmobile phone, pre-cyan), and nothing worked. I posted a thread, hopefully someone comes up with something! http://forums.wpcentral.com/nokia-lumia-1020/306822-internet-sharing-com...
     
  • I'm hating Tmobile no love for WP users >:( Posted via the Windows Phone Central App for Android
  • Cyan, cyan, cyan!
  • The data icons have little activity arrows now. That's cute...
  • I have had my SIM in a M7 for a while... Looking forward to getting back on WP on my 920 and cyan..
  • Just updated my phone but my update 1 to my cyan is still on so im happy! I love the folders
  • Just got it this afternoon.  Everything seemed to go fine.  Was dissapointed to find out the gimmicky (but hey it would be fun to show off) living images feature from Cyan isn't something the 1020 can run.  Oh well, glad I didn't break down and use the recovery tool to update.
  • Odd, coz it was working on 920 via beta camera version. So I'm lost to know why they suddenly removed from devices
  • Yeah, that's garbage. It was working fine on my 1020 worth the old beta Nokia Camera before it was update. I can confirm that it's not there now that I have Cyan.
  • Just their way of forcing us to but a new phone
  • I guess I was too quick to wipe the 1020 and start over. :)  I'll wait on AT&T to do this for the 920.
  • Does folders still work? Folders don't work when doing the downgrade thing first when that was a choice?
  • Yes, I still have a Folder I made for commonly-used contacts. I'm now on Cyan + DP + Update 1 :^)
  • ^So what changes are there after cyan??
  • Will it be available for middle east dp (cyan)?!
  • My son just purchased a 1520 last week while in chi-town running Win8.1 cayan. Nice....bulky but nice. I personally love my 929 Icon, and am patiently waiting for cayan to roll out for it.
  • Interesting that branded phones are getting better updates than unlocked international phones. Ugh
  • Upgrading wife's 1020 now...was going to downgrade this past weekend and never got to it...glad now we didn't! Now if only I can finally get Cyan on my AT&T L920 :)
  • Good by Verizon!!!
  • Got the Cyan update on my ATT Lumia 1020 this afternoon.
  • Just upgraded, giggity...
  • And ofc 1520.1 Netherlands no cyan update ughhh
  • Same here in Belgium, still no update while most of the phones (both carrier and CV) already got it.
  • Got it!
  • No live images on my 1020....
  • Can't believe I just downloaded the Nokia Software Recovery Tool, all set to roll back to WP8 etc, etc, etc. Then I saw this on twitter and thought, great timing as usual, Andy! Installation OTA was a cinch and all is working well on my Lumia 1020 :^)
  • Yahoo! Going to install now. I was lucky that backup was failing and forced me to wait for a while longer... I was going to bite the bullet and start from scratch this week end...
  • All good. Took two cycles, but no bitlocker screen and all my data is there. Thank you MS, I knew you would not let us down!
  • 1020 AT&T unlocked on Rogers in Canada Confirmed.
  • Just need the Rogers version!!
  • Good that I didn't rollback and go thru painful process! Just observed that my 1020 says model as Lumia 909.. Mine is a at&t unlocked model. Is anyone else seeing the same thing? I don't remember if this was the case always??!!
  • Yup, always been 909.
     
  • I wish I could roll back my 920, but when I try to I get an error. I think I need to send it into Nokia and get it flashed with original FW. But i don't have a spare phone.
  • ? What will these same owners upgrade to? A L1520, L930, HTC M8 which? As many here has reservations about the HTC and the L930 is an Icon with 8.1 already installed so for all the talk are you saying that every L920 owner should buy a HTC or the L930 that's not sold in the US as was originally announced. So tell me with model # under the 9 series should these L920 owners buy? Which series the new 5/6/7/8 series since all are below the 9 in specs other than the 8's processor. Tell me who moves from 10 -> 1 and not the other way around. So if you're telling all Lumia users to switch to HTC then..........
  • I have Internet Sharing even though it's not part of my plan. I suspect this is from the DP without corresponding firmware, but I'm not complaining. Is there a way I can back it up exactly as it is now in case I would like to rollback to using Internet sharing (assuming the firmware will take it away). 1020
  • But its just a whole god damn mess with HTC users getting the update
  • I think it reinstalled update 1 and the other recent DP updates after installing Cyan. Here's the 3 that it installed/reinstalled after Cyan finished installing: 8.10.14147.180 8.10.12400.899 8.10.14157.200 EDIT: this is on an AT&T 1520 fwiw  
  • Odd way to install. Thought would be . 899, .180 then .200
  • That's the way the phone listed them, not sure how they were installed. (ie. all at once, or one by one)
  • Do you have the 15 & 30 minute screen timeouts?
  • Had the same exact message. Funny this says I am on the .200 update already. Posted via the Windows Phone Central App for Android
  • I think this is done to trick the bitlocker bug...
  • Me too. Right after Cyan, I got an update for the three. They are not individually getting installed, but all assembled into one install.
  • What's in the cyan update? Features?
  • this is great news.....can't wait to get the update for lumia 1320(pfd users)
  • The Rogers variant is pretty much the exact unit, so hope to see it ready soon
  • When it would be ready for Lumia 520 for preview for developers in India
  • Got my update on my preview 1020 last Sunday... Thought I was the last one to get it...
  • So the bit locker issue was finally solved? Fingers crossed
  • Just sitting here waiting for lumia Icon to be updated...
  • This thing still doesn't work with my fit it after the cyan update....damn
  • Do you mean your Fitbit?
  • Just updated, Happy Camper! Lol
  • There is some update for Lumia 720 in India, hope its cyan
  • is it lumia cyan?
  • Oh good, hopefully this will hit the rest soon.
  • I want to get my volume key repaired and my warranty expires on 10th Sept I hope I get cyan by then, tried downgrading but after downloading software it shows phone disconnected.
  • Can't wait for Debian Red!
  • I don't know how I missed this earlier today
  • That's some good news to brighten my day! Now, when is our 920 on DP getting the update?
  • Got mine earlier today. Switched my sim card for my account from my 920 to my 1520,and was prompted that my update was available. Does anyone know what the 8.1.1 update should be? I had the 8.1 dev,but had the service for the 1520 suspended. Had the 8.1 update since day 1. Then Cyan was delayed,in the meantime 8.1.1 came out and I don't think I have it. What's the build number please? How do I get it?
  • O_O why can't my unlocked 1020 get it?!
  • You will get it. Patience is a virtue.... Besides, the fix was released for just 3 phones.
  • Att remember Lumia 820 pls...and if i flash my phone to different region firmware would i get it
  • Perfection. Everything updated worth no trouble.
  • Why now the fix? Almost every phone has cyan now
  • Except who have preview ver on their mobile
  • ⬆ THIS
  • That's why i said almost ;)
  • Not everyone 1520.1 belgium Netherlands still dont have cyan bunch of slackers
  • Nd when ms released it for al pfd device..?
  • Still hanging on for Cyan on O2 in the UK with Dev Preview... Fingers crossed it'll be soon now...
  • Any chances for international version? Thanks.
  • Great news. I still have to be patient though, until T-Mobile Germany pushes out this update to 1020.
    I appreciate that I don't have to backup and "wipe" my device to get cyan
  • +920
  • can't wait for it to hit my 1020 DP down here in South Africa! Thanks for restoring my faith a little Microsoft:):):)
  • Does anybody got Cyan update on 1520 unlocked preview for developer in Australia?
  • I had 8.1for a while. So what does Cyan bring to the table
  • updating now! L1020 on AT&T!
  • I don't think its my imagination... Low light photos with Nokia Camera app on my 1020 with Cyan are MUCH better... Great stuff.
  • So does the treasure tag connect with this update?  
  • +720
  • WMPowerUser: New Lumia Cyan update for Developer Preview devices does not resolve Bitlocker issue
  • I agree that MS should unblock DP users and those with bitlocker just use the recovery tool.
  • Absolutely agree
  • My 1520 don't have any update yet.
  • when it will available for dp L520 ??......in India...."just want to grab it"
  • Got it and I'm in Romania
  • Which phone and what carrier?
  • Does anybody is facing camera problems with Cyan update in 1020?
    While using the camera the screens goes black and when you take a pic,it turns out a black one! This ONLY OCCURRED WHEN I HAD CYAN! In PFD 8.1,I never faced this problem.
    I know some might say go to forums but since its cyan,that's why....
  • Question? Purchased my phone in UK (CV GBIE) do i have to actually be in UK in order to get cyan?
    Do upgrades pick location or phone firmware?
  • You do not need to be in the same country physically as your phone version to successfully get the update. My wife's phone has Italy CV and it automatically updated to Cyan here in The Netherlands when we bought it last week.
  • Got it also for my 920 preview device. (Germany, t-mobile)
  • I just received Cyan this morning. Running dp 8.1 on 1020. No need to roll back. Did not see Nokia camera updated yet. ATT carrier
  • Please notification+action update with mobile data & much more not only 4 items but more what I am write???
  • Dammit. 920 CV Germany still under testing? It's taking forever...
  • When will the group messaging problem be fixed? I can only send/receive to 10 ppl at a time. Which means I get separate threads for each message and I can only reply to 10 people. And it comes in a separate thread on their phone, too. I hate to be "that guy" in the group text. Makes it seem like I have a dinosaur phone.
  • Got it, downloaded it, installed it...and then there was one more update after Cyan...thank you MS/ATT - very cool :)
  • What's that update after 8.1 PD GDR1?
  • I have a Lumia 1020 and not sure what the update was other than what it showed in Details prior to downloading/installing (just mentioned fixes to allow Live Tile folders and some other minutia). I wish I would've screnshotted it :/ Here's what is in my Settings/About: OS version is shown as 8.10.14157.200 Firmware: 3051.50009.1425.2001
  • I am getting another update, right after Cyan got installed!
  • I'm not seeing anything different on my 1020 from what I had with 8.1 DP and the updates I already had. What's different?
  • Any word on ATT L925 running 8.1 dev pre?
  • No, but you can use the Nokia tool to downgrade and update.
  • FINALLY!!!!!! now we wait coz Nokia east africa are too slow to release it
  • Dear ATT and MS. I switched platforms and gave Windows phone a chance with a 920 on launch day. My 2 year contract is coming up in a little over 2 months. I did not want to mess around with a developer preview because I need my phone to be stable. Right now it feels like you have little intention of supporting us. I'm fully aware that the 920 is nearing it's EOL, for those who are day 1 people that is pretty soon, others though will still have up to a year on their cycle. I've heard a lot about how awesome Cortana is, and how funny she is when you say this and that, I've seen articles about how to do this and that, those articles are now so far back in the archives that I doubt I'll ever go look for them when they will actually be of use to me due to you taking forever to update my phone. If you can't show me that I can trust you to support my product for the life of my contract then there's a pretty good chance I'll be moving on to another platform. If I were in charge I would be sure that those who first took a chance on my product would be amoung the first to get an important update like this, especially considering that those who first jumped on board are the ones who have the chance to leave in just a couple of months when their contracts are up.
  • You would get a lot further with this if you submitted it directly to AT&T and MS rather than posting it here...
  • Last night I upgraded my ATT Lumia 920 (US) to CYAN and Windows Phone 8.1.
  • How did you do it, which Rom did you use and how's your LTE?
  • I updated last night and since then I've never got LTE signal on my phone only 4G anyone with the same problem? Also is living images not supported on the Lumia 1020?
  • -Icon sigh... I hate you verizon you suck. If I don't get cyan by the time the 1525 is released, I'm dropping you.
  • What about the Lumia 920 users who never received the Black update? I'm from Colombia and my carrier Claro never released the Black update, and I'm stuck with the Amber firmware 3047.0000.1326.2002. I installed the WP 8.1 Developer Preview and It's working great, but I'm not sure If will recieve the Cyan Update even with only Amber installed.
  • Is the lag while opening apps and switching back to home screen still there which started after the update 1 (live folders update ) even after updating to lumia cyan ?
  • At the risk of alienating Daniel, it does seem faster <snicker, haha, lol>.   I was experiencing the lag you mentioned everytime i opened apps or even switched to the Home/Start screen. I'm running DP 8.1 and not noticing it as much now after the Cyan update along with whatever the update was immediately after that...
  • Thank you for your reply , very much  appreciated :)
  • I just updated my 1020 from Preview to the new Cyan update. Is it me or is everything on the screen crisper and and more vibrant?
  • Lloyd_S; Could you please elaboarate on your update process: Did you have error 0x80188308 previously when you update to Cyan? Did you have GDR1 installed before Cyan update? If no to 2, did you already have notification to any of these updates 12400.899, 14147.180, 14157.200 on your phone when you check for updates? Did Cyan pop up on your phone with others updates mentioned above or only on its own? Did Cyan wipe your Developer Preview? Thanks
  • Just updated my 1520 from preview to cyan update too, CV-GBIE. At last all those on DP can finally update to cyan without downgrading. Thanks to MS for listening to forum members calls and working tirelessly towards fixing this. Cheers
  • Why there is no more update after AT&T got Cyan? The update pulled out again?
  • Same question here.. I have a not-branded 1520 and no Cyan update yet. And why this waiting? I have the exact same phone as the AT&T one..
  • From the story: "Previously users would need to roll back to a retail version of Windows Phone in order to receive the Lumia Cyan update. That's no longer the case." It still is the case. The 920 with DP won't update.
  • Love it and definitely love this post. thanks for updating wpcentral app. Couldn't even open a post for reading.
  • Problem After update: http://forums.wpcentral.com/ask-question/313103-strange-icons-after-cyan...