New PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds (PUBG) Xbox One update improves vehicles, adds bug fixes

PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds (PUBG) continues to see frequent revisions on Xbox One, most recently securing its eighth post-launch update. Building on the improvements previously delivered to the "Xbox Game Preview" version, this update delivers minor tweaks affecting vehicle balancing and bug fixes.

The biggest change with this update tunes vehicles, with increased damage dealt when hitting players behind the wheel. This partially reverts changes made last month that reduced outgoing damage and vehicle durability. This aims to further balance vehicles and find a suitable sweet spot.

The update also delivers some bug fixes affecting vaulting, post-death cameras, and vehicle spawn issues. The download is now available on Xbox One, following its launch at 4 a.m. ET (9 a.m. UK time) on February 7. Players must install the 3.5 GB update before starting the game. For a full list of changes, check out the latest update changelog.

This patch will be live at 6PM KST / 1AM PST / 9AM UTC today.

Please restart your Xbox after the patch goes live to get the update.

Gameplay

  • We received a lot of great feedback following the changes made to vehicle/player damage. We continue to tune and balance this element of gameplay, and are therefore reverting back to increased damage if a player is struck by a vehicle.

Bug fixes

  • Resolved an issue preventing players from vaulting over specific ledges and/or windows
  • The camera will now remain in the correct location following player death
  • Vehicles will no longer relocate to another position on the map after the player disembarks

What do you think of today's changes? Make sure to drop into the comments with your thoughts.

Matt Brown is Windows Central's Senior Editor, Xbox & PC, at Future. Following over seven years of professional consumer technology and gaming coverage, he’s focused on the world of Microsoft's gaming efforts. You can follow him on Twitter @mattjbrown.

4 Comments
  • They need to work more on the frame rate issues too. And FFS add a lower res mode for the one x so we can have stable fps
  • Lower rez on the X1X wouldn't help, because it would actually become even more CPU limited.
  • hmm... nothing on stability? Had 2 crashes in a row yesterday... Seemed to have been better before the previous update (where they nerfed vehicle damage)… Still loving it though.
  • Did they get rid of the damn (new) backfiring of boats? Makes them damn nigh unusable - and not because it attracts other players, but because it's so damn loud, often, and annoying!