Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Xbox One, PC launch time and release date

Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2
Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 (Image credit: Activision)

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Campaign Remastered is scheduled to hit Xbox One and PC today, following one month of PlayStation 4 exclusivity, after a surprise unveiling. The revamped package features a full suite of visual upgrades over one decade later, leveraging the best of modern hardware. That includes a full remaster packing improved textures, animations, high dynamic range (HDR) lighting, among other graphical refinements.

As the title suggests, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Campaign Remastered only features the game's single-player component, with reworked multilayer maps instead set to join 2019's Modern Warfare reboot. That puts shifts the remaster's focus toward the military cinematic, praised among the best Call of Duty campaigns in franchise history.

Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 Remastered release time

The April 30 release date has now arrived, but Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is not available on Xbox One or PC. Unlike many recent titles that unlock at midnight in your region, Activision opted for a universal release time later in the day.

Modern Warfare 2 hits Xbox One and PC at 5 PM GMT, both via the Xbox One's integrated store, and the Battle.net client for PC. That translates to 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET / 6 PM BST (UK) / 7 PM CET. The game won't release via Steam or other PC gaming clients.

When Modern Warfare 2 releases, the game will be playable across all regions simultaneously.

Why you should preload Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2

Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 Remastered

Source: Activision (Image credit: Source: Activision)

While Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Campaign Remastered doesn't release until 5 PM GMT on April 30, it's possible to install the game early. With the installation size expected to hit a sizeable 45GB on Xbox One and 80GB on PC, we recommend preordering and downloading the game ahead of release, ensuring you're able to play the moment release time comes.

With current world events bringing unparalleled stress for online services like Xbox Live and Battle.net, preloading helps avoid the initial rush, potentially slowing download speeds at release.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Campaign Remastered costs $20 to preorder, also initiating the download ahead of release on Xbox One and PC. You can preorder and download Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Campaign Remastered exclusively via the two links below to prepare for launch.

Matt Brown is Windows Central's Senior Editor, Xbox & PC, at Future. Following over seven years of professional consumer technology and gaming coverage, he’s focused on the world of Microsoft's gaming efforts. You can follow him on Twitter @mattjbrown.

1 Comment
  • Yeah there's no HDR support on PC so far.