Microsoft Teams now has an option to lock or unlock meetings

Microsoft Teams PC
Microsoft Teams PC (Image credit: Windows Central)

What you need to know

  • Meeting organizers can now lock and unlock Microsoft Teams meetings easily.
  • Previously, people could ask to join a meeting and be granted or denied entry manually.
  • The feature appears to be rolling out to general availability now.

Microsoft Teams meeting organizers can now lock and unlock meetings. The new feature removes some of the hassle of managing who can enter meetings. Before the new option became available, meeting organizers had to manually accept or deny people who tried to enter a meeting.

The feature is still marked as "In development" on the Microsoft 365 roadmap (opens in new tab), but OnMSFT spotted it rolling out. I also see it on Microsoft Teams on my PC.

Using the feature is straightforward. To lock a meeting:

  1. Start a meeting within Microsoft Teams.
  2. Click on the Show participants icon.
  3. Click on the "..." menu next to Participants.
  4. Select Lock the meeting.
  5. Select Lock.

To unlock the meeting, you can just follow the same steps but select "Unlock."

If someone tries to join a locked meeting, they'll receive a notification telling them that it's locked. As highlighted by OnMSFT, the feature could come in handy if someone is trying to emphasize being on time. If you lock a meeting at its start and people miss it as a result, they're less likely to be late in the future.

The feature could also be used by a group of people to discuss those locked out of a meeting, but a private channel or group call is probably a better option.

Sean Endicott
News Writer and apps editor

Sean Endicott brings nearly a decade of experience covering Microsoft and Windows news to Windows Central. He joined our team in 2017 as an app reviewer and now heads up our day-to-day news coverage. If you have a news tip or an app to review, hit him up at sean.endicott@futurenet.com (opens in new tab).

2 Comments
  • I think the purpose of this feature is to avoid people hijacking meetings if the invitation is set to "Everybody can join". Didn't Zoom have a bunch of incidences of unwanted attendees joining and playing porn or something? As an aside, I always have to set my meeting to "Everybody can join" otherwise the meeting won't start until the organizer joins and/or I have to admit each person. I'm sure a lot of people had this problem, hence the need for this new feature.
  • What planet are you from? It has existed since ever. Only thing is that since the demise of Skype Business, everything became so kludgy and they have been trying to make it harder. You have to click on a link and go to a webpage to configure it. Furthermore, the option for setting default preferences was also taken away. Microsoft has been pushing large enterprises to apply group policy to take away features from end users since last few years. Looks like they are now starting to agree to bemd backwords.