Battlefield 2042 beta faces 'Backend server error' as EA takes down servers

Battlefield 2044 Boris
Battlefield 2044 Boris (Image credit: Electronic Arts)

What you need to know

  • Electronic Arts took down Battlefield 2042 beta servers on Friday, performing "essential maintenance," ahead of its open beta launch.
  • The maintenance saw the open beta launch delayed from 7 a.m. UTC (3 a.m. ET / 12 a.m. PT) to 9 a.m. UTC (5 a.m. ET / 2 a.m. PT) on Oct. 8.
  • Battlefield 2042 has now entered open beta on console and PC.

The ongoing Battlefield 2042 beta underwent scheduled maintenance on Friday morning, revoking access to the multiplayer test ahead of its upcoming beta expansion. The two-hour downtime allowed Electronic Arts to "perform essential maintenance" before opening to all players at 5 a.m. ET / 10 a.m. BST / 11 a.m. CEST with the full launch.

"Backend server could not be found," the in-game notification read. Battlefield 2042 beta players faced the message when attempting to start the game, a result of the server maintenance ahead of the open beta. Access to the title returned once its two-hour maintenance window concluded.

The announcement comes via Electronic Arts lead community manager Adam Freeman, outlining maintenance plans before expanding the beta to more players. Battlefield 2042's beta had only been available in early access prior, tied to those with Battlefield 2042 preorders or with active EA Play subscriptions.

See more

The Battlefield 2042 beta provides a glimpse into its expanded multiplayer offerings, including the new Orbital map and the returning Conquest game mode. The expansive space center supports up to 128 players on the latest consoles and PC, coupled with intense set pieces like a rocket launch and destructive tornado.

However, as with any pre-release test, the Battlefield beta comes with various bugs and launch issues. We continue to round up the latest in one place, while our full beta schedule outlines the latest on start times and when you can play the beta.

Updated Oct. 8, 2021 at 7:01 ET: Updated to reflect the Battlefield 2042 open beta rollout.

Matt Brown is Windows Central's Senior Editor, Xbox & PC, at Future. Following over seven years of professional consumer technology and gaming coverage, he’s focused on the world of Microsoft's gaming efforts. You can follow him on Twitter @mattjbrown.