Skip to main content

Diablo 2: Resurrected launch time — When you can play, download size, and more

Diablo 2 Resurrected Class Select Screen
Diablo 2 Resurrected Class Select Screen (Image credit: Windows Central)

Diablo 2: Resurrected will soon be available on all platforms, bringing the dark and gritty world to PC, Xbox, PlayStation, and Nintendo Switch. While cross-platform play didn't make it into the game, cross-progression saves are available for anyone who likes to move between hardware.

The game appears to be getting a single launch time across platforms, meaning everyone will be able to jump into the Rogue Encampment at the same time. Andariel has no idea what's headed her way. Read on for specific launch information across time zones and what to expect when preloading. If you're having problems with the game, be sure to check out our Diablo 2: Resurrected list of known bugs and launch issues for more information.

Diablo 2: Resurrected release date

Diablo 2: Resurrected launches Sept. 23. This includes releases for PC, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, PlayStation 5, PlayStation 4, and Nintendo Switch. It looks like there's going to be a static launch time, so depending on your time zone the actual date may differ. Below is a graph with specific launches for different time zones.

Diablo 2: Resurrected launch times

Diablo 2: Resurrected looks to be getting a single launch time across platforms. Rod Fergusson, who helped develop the Gears of War franchise before moving to Blizzard to oversee everything Diablo, stated on Twitter that the game will launch at 8 a.m. PDT.

See more

The universal release will have availability differing per time zone. Depending on your location, this might mean that the release will be on a different date. We've laid out what this looks like in time zones around the world.

Region/time zoneTime
Los Angeles (PDT)8:00 a.m. (Sept. 23)
New York (EDT)11:00 a.m. (Sept. 23)
Brasilia (BRT)12:00 p.m. (Sept. 23)
London (BST)4:00 p.m. (Sept. 23)
Paris (CEST)5:00 p.m. (Sept. 23)
Cape Town (SAST)5:00 p.m. (Sept. 23)
Moscow (MSK)6:00 p.m. (Sept. 23)
Singapore (SGT)11:00 p.m. (Sept. 23)
Tokyo (JST)12:00 a.m. (Sept. 24)
Canberra (AEST)1:00 a.m. (Sept. 24)
Wellington (NZST)3:00 a.m. (Sept. 24)

Keep in mind you can preload the game to have it ready to go when servers come online.

Diablo 2: Resurrected preload and download size

Source: Blizzard Entertainment (Image credit: Source: Blizzard Entertainment)

Diablo 2: Resurrected can now be preordered on all platforms, with the Switch version arriving most recently. Preload should now also be available on all platforms, with the PC version arriving last.

See more

As for file sizes, it looks like the console and PC versions will measure about 26GB. In the game's system requirements, Blizzard claims 30GB is required. Switch is a different story due to its downgraded visuals. It appears that about 7.7GB is required for Nintendo's console.

If you're a PC player, preloading became available September 21. Have a look at our picks for the best laptops for playing Diablo 2: Resurrected if you want the best experience possible.

See more

While you wait, be sure to have a look at 15 beginner Diablo 2: Resurrected tips to help you get up to speed. And if you're interested in a bit of a behind-the-scenes look at the development process, our Diablo 2: Resurrected developer interview has a bunch of information.

Cale Hunt
Cale Hunt

Cale Hunt is a Senior Editor at Windows Central. He focuses mainly on laptop reviews, news, and accessory coverage. He's been reviewing laptops and accessories full time since 2016, with hundreds of reviews published for Windows Central. He is an avid PC gamer and multi-platform user, and spends most of his time either tinkering with or writing about tech.

7 Comments
  • Graphics wise I think it absolutely looks gorgeous. Gameplay wise I hope they will also release more patches balancing the bulk of useless skills.
  • But useless skills is what made Diablo 2 dope.
  • Blizzard should not touch a thing with D2, the game is an all time great for a reason! I dont want them screwing up D2 and turning it into an instant gratification system like D3 where you just run around like a god 24/7. That makes the game pointless and BORING!!!!
  • Looking forward to it. I've spent countless hours in D2. I loved D3 and played the heck out of it, but D2 had something that D3 was missing. The 23rd needs to come faster. haha
  • Totally agree with you.
  • Wow they want $40 US, no way I would pay that much for it.
  • Agreed! It's a $20 game at best. Regardless of how good the original is.