Gears 5 and Minecraft win big at The Golden Joystick Awards 2019

Gears 5
Gears 5 (Image credit: Microsoft)

Golden Joystick Awards

Golden Joystick Awards (Image credit: Future)

What you need to know

  • The Golden Joystick Awards 2019 winners were just announced.
  • Gears 5 and Minecraft won two accolades.
  • Gears 5 won Xbox Game of the Year and Minecraft won the Still Playing Award.
  • You can access all of these titles through Xbox Game Pass.

The Golden Joystick Awards take place every year and they're voted on by the public. This year, some more winners were crowned for 2019. Two Microsoft games, Gears 5 and Minecraft, won the Xbox Game of the Year accolade and the Still Playing Award. As you probably surmised, Gears 5 won the Xbox Game of the Year since it was a new release, and Minecraft bagged the Still Playing Award because it has hundreds of millions of players.

Gears 5 is a third-person shooter that features a lengthy campaign and strong multiplayer modes. It garnered great reviews at launch, and the fact that it features some open areas with lots of exploration doesn't hurt the game either.

Minecraft, as always, has received so many updates over the years that it keeps on attracting more players. It's great to see that it bagged the Still Playing Award because it has become an educational tool and much more in recent years.



Asher Madan

Asher Madan handles gaming news for Windows Central. Before joining Windows Central in 2017, Asher worked for a number of different gaming outlets. He has a background in medical science and is passionate about all forms of entertainment, cooking, and antiquing.