Skip to main content

Microsoft testing feature to secure autofilling passwords on Edge

Edge Dev Hero 2020 Newfeature
Edge Dev Hero 2020 Newfeature (Image credit: Daniel Rubino / Windows Central)

What you need to know

  • Microsoft Edge Canary now lets you enable an option to require passwords before it autofills passwords.
  • The feature will help secure the browser from people who gain access to a PC.
  • It appears to be an optional feature.

Microsoft Edge will soon support an option to require authentication before the browser autofills your saved passwords. The feature was spotted by Reddit user Leopeva64-3, who also shared screenshots of it in action. It's currently available on Edge build 91.0.849.0 in a controlled rollout.

This feature could come in handy if someone gains physical access to your PC. If someone obtained your PC while it was already unlocked, they could potentially use Edge to spend money or perform a wide range of actions on accounts requiring passwords.

Requiring authentication for autofilling passwords is one of the features outlined in the "What's Next" page for Microsoft Edge.

Require authentication before autofilling passwordsWith this capability, passwords saved to the browser will no longer be autofilled. They will need a successful user authentication prior to filling. This will add another layer of privacy and help prevent non-authorized users from using saved passwords to log into websites.

Based on the screenshots shared, this appears to be an optional feature that you can turn on or off. There are options to sign in automatically or to have the browser require authentication at specified intervals.

Sean Endicott is the news writer for Windows Central. If it runs Windows, is made by Microsoft, or has anything to do with either, he's on it. Sean's been with Windows Central since 2017 and is also our resident app expert. If you have a news tip or an app to review, hit him up at sean.endicott@futurenet.com.

2 Comments
  • AMAZING , Keep it up Microsoft
  • That's smart not even Google Chrome does that (by default or at all?)