New Xbox LogoSource: Microsoft

What you need to know

  • Microsoft has dropped a new Xbox Series X teaser trailer, including the new start-up sound for the upcoming next-generation console.
  • Xbox Series X receives its gameplay debut on May 7, via a dedicated showcase with third-party partners.

Microsoft continues the unveiling of Xbox Series X, on track to debut its first gameplay from the console on May 7, as a part of a scheduled partner showcase. The event promises our first glimpse at the upcoming next-generation device running a variety of third-party titles, with the newly-unveiled Assassin's Creed Valhalla among confirmed features.

Ahead of Microsoft's upcoming Xbox Series X event, the firm has now provided what appears to be the console's new start-up sound. In a video posted to the Xbox YouTube channel, we receive a 10-second boot animation backed by a soft soundscape, referred to as the "New Xbox Sound" via closed captions. The snippet replaces the sharper tones used across the current Xbox One family (viewable here), and featured widely across marketing for nearly a decade.

VPN Deals: Lifetime license for $16, monthly plans at $1 & more

The Xbox Series X remains on track for late 2020, promising the most significant milestone for Xbox since the launch of Xbox One. The next-generation console ushers sizeable performance advancements coupled with the adoption of solid-state storage, speeding up loading times, and texture streaming. For the latest on Xbox Series X, check out our roundup of everything announced so far.

The Xbox Series X games showcase marks our next source of next-gen details, scheduled for a digital live stream at 11 AM ET / 8 AM PT / 4 PM UK time via Inside Xbox.

Xbox Series X/S

Main