US signs Declaration for the Future of the Internet alongside 60 global partners

Best Wi-Fi Router
Best Wi-Fi Router (Image credit: Netgear)

What you need to know

  • The United States is one of 61 countries to sign the Declaration for the Future of the Internet.
  • The document calls for a global internet that protects human rights and privacy and that promotes the free flow of information.
  • The signatories of the declaration envision an internet that is affordable and inclusive as well.

The United States and 60 global partners have signed the Declaration for the Future of the Internet (PDF). The White House highlighted the "trend of rising digital authoritarianism" in its briefing on the declaration. Signatories of the document have committed to creating a "single global Internet" that is open and that protects human rights.

"Globally, we are witnessing a trend of rising digital authoritarianism where some states act to repress freedom of expression, censor independent news sites, interfere with elections, promote disinformation, and deny their citizens other human rights," said the White House.

The brief also points to other issues that prevent people around the world from accessing the web. "Millions of people still face barriers to access and cybersecurity risks and threats undermine the trust and reliability of networks."

The White House outlined the principles of the document:

  • Protect human rights and fundamental freedoms of all people;
  • Promote a global Internet that advances the free flow of information;
  • Advance inclusive and affordable connectivity so that all people can benefit from the digital economy;
  • Promote trust in the global digital ecosystem, including through protection of privacy; and Protect and strengthen the multistakeholder approach to governance that keeps the Internet running for the benefit of all.

Below are the countries that have signed the declaration:

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Cabo Verde
  • Canada
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominican Republic
  • Estonia
  • The European Commission
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Kenya
  • Kosovo
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Maldives
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Niger
  • North Macedonia
  • Palau
  • Peru
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Taiwan
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • United Kingdom
  • Ukraine
  • Uruguay

More countries are expected to sign the declaration in the future.

Sean Endicott
News Writer and apps editor

Sean Endicott brings nearly a decade of experience covering Microsoft and Windows news to Windows Central. He joined our team in 2017 as an app reviewer and now heads up our day-to-day news coverage. If you have a news tip or an app to review, hit him up at