Skip to main content

Dying Light 2 Stay Human launch time: When you can play, day one update, and more

Dying Light 2 Stay Human
Dying Light 2 Stay Human (Image credit: Techland S.A.)

2022 is already packed to the brim with an overabundance of games and projects. One of the most highly-anticipated titles releasing this year is Dying Light 2 Stay Human, the latest project from Techland and the sequel to 2015's brilliant Dying Light. With excitement mounting to an all-time high for this zombie-filled adventure, many players want to know precisely when they'll be able to jump in and begin exploring the post-apocalyptic heights of The City.

Here's everything you need to know about the launch time for Dying Light 2 Stay Human, including preload information, download sizes, and more.

When is the release date & launch time for Dying Light 2 Stay Human?

Source: Techland S.A. (Image credit: Source: Techland S.A.)

Dying Light 2 Stay Human officially releases on Feb. 4, 2022 on Xbox, PlayStation, and PC platforms. While a Switch version is expected, the Switch release of Dying Light 2 has been delayed by approximately six months. For everyone else, there's not long to wait before the game is readily available to players.

Launch times for Dying Light 2 Stay Human depend on the platform on which you're playing.

Console launch time

Xbox and PlayStation players can play Dying Light 2 Stay Human at midnight, local time, on Feb. 4, 2022. There are no specific launch times for each region. As soon as Feb. 4 rolls around where you live, you'll be able to access Techland's latest adventure.

PC launch time

PC players will have to pay attention to more particular launch times for their region. If you're familiar with UTC time, Dying Light 2 Stay Human releases at midnight UTC in every region simultaneously.

Region / countryLocal timeUTC
Australia11:00 a.m. AEDT, Feb. 4Midnight UTC, Feb. 4
Brazil9:00 p.m. BRT, Feb. 3Midnight UTC, Feb. 4
China8:00 a.m. CST, Feb. 4Midnight UTC, Feb. 4
Columbia7:00 p.m. COT, Feb. 3Midnight UTC, Feb. 4
Egypt2:00 a.m. EET, Feb. 4Midnight UTC, Feb. 4
France1:00 a.m. CET, Feb. 4Midnight UTC, Feb. 4
Japan9:00 a.m. JST, Feb. 4Midnight UTC, Feb. 4
Mexico6:00 p.m. CST, Feb. 3Midnight UTC, Feb. 4
New Zealand1:00 p.m. NZDT, Feb. 4Midnight UTC, Feb. 4
Poland1:00 a.m. CET, Feb. 4Midnight UTC, Feb. 4
Russia3:00 a.m. MSK, Feb. 4Midnight UTC, Feb. 4
Saudi Arabia3:00 a.m. AST, Feb. 4Midnight UTC, Feb. 4
Singapore8:00 a.m. SGT, Feb. 4Midnight UTC, Feb. 4
South Africa2:00 a.m. SAST, Feb. 4Midnight UTC, Feb. 4
South Korea9:00 a.m. KST, Feb. 4Midnight UTC, Feb. 4
United Arab Emirates4:00 a.m. GST, Feb. 4Midnight UTC, Feb. 4
United KingdomMidnight GMT, Feb. 4Midnight UTC, Feb. 4
United States of America4:00 p.m. PST, Feb. 3
6:00 p.m. CST, Feb. 3
7:00 p.m. EST, Feb. 3
Midnight UTC, Feb. 4

Can I preload or preinstall Dying Light 2 Stay Human?

Dying Light 2 Stay Human

Source: Techland S.A. (Image credit: Source: Techland S.A.)

Preloading a game is a fantastic way to ensure you have access the moment the title releases. Dying Light 2 Stay Human does have preloading options, but it depends on the platform on which you're playing. Xbox, PlayStation, and PC players can go and preload Dying Light 2 right now.

What is the download size of Dying Light 2 Stay Human?

Dying Light 2 Stay Human

Source: Techland S.A. (Image credit: Source: Techland S.A.)

Dying Light 2 Stay Human is a massive game in scope, but how much space does it take in your storage? While we can't say for certain exactly how big Dying Light 2 is yet, we're not entirely without information.

  • Xbox. Xbox console preloads come in at around 35GB.
  • PlayStation. It stands to reason that Dying Light 2 will be a similar size on PlayStation consoles.
  • PC. Dying Light 2's size hasn't been revealed for PC yet, but the PC requirements recommend having at least 60GB of storage freed up to play.

Is there a day one patch for Dying Light 2 Stay Human?

Dying Light 2 custom hammer promo image

Source: Techland S.A. (Image credit: Source: Techland S.A.)

Day one patches are a common practice in the industry, allowing a developer to prepare a game for release while continuing to work on fixes and improvements for the release. Dying Light 2 Stay Human is no different, with a day one patch available upon starting the game. The developer has promised "over a thousand fixes and improvements on all the platforms," aiming to correct issues outlined in our initial review.

What is Dying Light 2 Stay Human?

Dying Light 2 Stay Human

Source: Techland S.A. (Image credit: Source: Techland S.A.)

Dying Light 2 Stay Human is the latest major project from Techland, and continues to build upon the foundation laid by the original Dying Light in 2015. Here, players will explore the monolithic and dilapidated human settlement known as The City, which remains a stronghold in the middle of a post-apocalyptic world swarming with deadly zombies and plenty of other threats.

Like its predecessor, Dying Light 2's will have an expansive world that begs to be explored, which players can traverse using advanced free-running mechanics. Developers promise it'll be absolutely packed to the brim with content. It was recently revealed that Dying Light 2 Stay Human has over 500 hours of content if players seek to 100% complete the game.

Techland has also committed to five years of post-launch support, ensuring the game will continue to grow and evolve over time with new updates, content, DLC, and more. There will clearly be plenty for players to do in Dying Light 2, all of which may help propel the title onto our list of best Xbox games.

Dying Light 2 Stay Human is releasing on Feb. 4, 2022 for Xbox Series X, Xbox Series S, Xbox One, PS5, PS4, and PC. A Switch version is releasing at some point in the future.

Zachary Boddy
News Writer, Minecraft Expert

Zachary Boddy is the Minecraft Expert and a News Writer for Windows Central, Android Central, and iMore. They have been gaming and writing for most of their life, and have been freelancing for Windows Central and its sister sites since 2019, with a focus on Xbox and PC gaming. You can find Zachary on Twitter @BoddyZachary.