Fallout 76 is a shared-world experience, meaning you'll come across several other players as you explore Appalachia. Once PvP is enabled after hitting level 5, you may find yourself getting harassed or griefed by other players. In order to avoid this, you have the option to block them.

How to block another player

  1. Press the menu button on your controller.
  2. Press the Right Bumper for the social menu once the map pops up.
  3. Navigate to Recent or Friends.
  4. Select the person's gamertag.
  5. Select Block For Session or Block.

What does blocking do?

When you block another player for a session, that means that they will not be able to interact or communicate with you at all while you are currently playing during that session. If you simply choose to block them, this will do so permanently until you otherwise decide to unblock them.

According to Bethesda, blocking someone means that "you will no longer be able to speak to or hear them in voice chat, and any trade or team invitations they send you will be ignored. Additionally, you will no longer appear on each other's maps, which will make it extremely difficult for the offending dweller to follow or find you again in the future."

Save up to 88% on a subscription to PureVPN for a limited time

Though the game's built-in bounty system is meant as a way to deter griefers and harassment, there's no sure-fire way to stop it other than outright blocking the person. Thankfully, Fallout 76 only hosts about two dozen players in a world at any given time, so you won't be encountering a ton of different people.

What about reporting another player in Fallout 76?

Unfortunately, there is not a dedicated way to report another Fallout 76 player in-game as of yet. If you'd like to do so, you can file a report to Xbox.

We may earn a commission for purchases using our links. Learn more.