HP Spectre x360 13 review: The best value convertible Ultrabook money can buy

HP's latest convertible Ultrabook fixes many of our previous complaints, and it delivers one of the best Ultrabooks for your dollar.

HP Spectre X360 13 (late 2019)
(Image: © Daniel Rubino / Windows Central)

Windows Central Best Award

When it comes to convertible PCs, there are two major players right now fighting it out in the 13-inch Ultrabook space: HP and Dell (Lenovo's 14-inch Yoga C940 is no slouch, either).

Dell's XPS 13 2-in-1 is in a few ways better than the HP Spectre x360, but HP certainly delivers more for your dollar, making it an excellent alternative to the best 13-inch laptop. It's also one looker of a laptop. Seeing as HP has fixed most of the significant complaints of this popular convertible, let's see where it shines and why you should consider it.

I've spent the last few months with the Spectre x360, and it's easy to recommend. But like all laptops, it could be better too. Here's how.

It is worth noting since this review HP has announced a refresh to this laptop with newer 11th Gen Intel processors. That makes the slightly older 10th Gen models tempting for Amazon Prime Day specials with prices likely to dip below the $1,100 starting point. HP also has a separate model called Spectre x360 14, which has a taller display aspect. That laptop goes on sale in October.

New for early 2020

HP Spectre x360 13 What's new

Hp Spectre X360 13 Late 2019 Hero

Source: Daniel Rubino/Windows Central (Image credit: Source: Daniel Rubino/Windows Central)

Coming out in late 2019, HP completely overhauled the Spectre x360 13 in all the right areas. Here are the most significant changes:

  • Bezel reduction with a 90 percent screen-to-body ratio
  • Microsoft Precision Touchpad
  • Micro front-facing camera with Windows Hello
  • 4K AMOLED option
  • New anti-reflective glass technology
  • Factory calibrated display
  • New 10th Gen CPUs with Iris Plus graphics
  • Wi-Fi 6, Bluetooth 5, optional 4G LTE
  • New drop-jaw Type-A port
  • Dedicated mic-mute button

The most significant change is the new bezel size, which cut those from 17mm to just 6mm. It's such a massive reduction that the entire laptop's footprint is now smaller. HP had to cut the speakers from four to only two because of the lack of space, but luckily the audio quality is still outstanding.

Hp Spectre X360 13 Late 2019 Usb

Source: Daniel Rubino/Windows Central (Image credit: Source: Daniel Rubino/Windows Central)

The other big gripe I had was HP's old touchpads, which were awful. That's fixed now as the new trackpad uses Microsoft Precision drivers, and it's quite satisfying.

Everything else is minor but also significant to the overall excellent experience of using the Spectre x360.

So many options

HP Spectre x360 13 specs and features

Hp Spectre X360 13 Late 2019

Source: Daniel Rubino/Windows Central (Image credit: Source: Daniel Rubino/Windows Central)

The Spectre x360 13 is a typical 13.3-inch Ultrabook laptop meant to be portable, versatile, and high quality. The Spectre line of notebooks from HP is its premium consumer tier, but that doesn't mean a high starting price.

The Spectre x360 13 starts at a modest $1,100 for the entry-level model. That one features a full HD touch display, 10th Gen Core i5 processor, Iris Plus graphics, 8GB of RAM and 256GB of storage. Quite frankly, most consumers would be quite satisfied with that configuration.

It's worth noting that HP includes its HP Pen (non-tilt) at that price, which offers exceptional value. Those wanting the pen with tilt must pay an extra $30, which is still modest.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
CategoryHP Spectre x360 13
OSWindows 10 Home
Display13.3 in, 16:9 aspect ratio
Full HD 300 Nits
4K UHD AMOLED 400 Nits
Processor10th Gen Intel Core i5-1035G4
10th Gen Intel Core i7-1065G7
GraphicsIntel Iris Plus
Memory8 or 16GB LPDDR4-3200
Storage512GB or 1TB SSD and 32GB Intel Optane
256GB to 2TB SSD
PenYes, active (included)
Expandable storageMicro SD reader
Front cameraHP TrueVision HD IR camera
SecurityWindows Hello IR, fingerprint
ConnectivityWi-Fi 6, Bluetooth 5, 4G LTE (optional)
PortsTwo USB 3.1 Type-C with Thunderbolt 3
One USB 3.1 Type-A
MicroSD reader
AudioBang & Olufsen with dual speakers
Battery60WHr
65W AC adapter
Dimensions12.08 in (W) x 7.66 in (D) x 0.67 in (H)
Weight2.88lbs (1.3kg)
ColorsDark Ash, Poseidon Blue, or Silver

HP also lets you customize-to-buy, and there are a ton of options including bumping to a 10th Gen Intel Core i7-1065G7, 16GB of RAM, 4K AMOLED display, Windows 10 Pro, 4G LTE, and 2TB SSD for storage. There are also three color choices, including natural silver (used for this review), nightfall black, and Poseidon blue.

Though we did not sample the LTE model, it is only available with the i7-1065G7 and full HD display, instead of the 4K OLED option.

If you have $1,100 and you want a convertible Ultrabook, this is the one to get.

Even wholly maxed out, the Spectre x360 13 is still "only" around $1,900, which is much lower than Dell, Lenovo, or Microsoft for similar premium designs.

Considering how thin the Spectre is, HP did not skip out on ports for connectivity. There is a Type-A with a "lock-jaw" to allow for a slim profile. That's impressive as many companies ditch Type-A to go with the thinner Type-C-only solution. There are two Type-C ports with Thunderbolt 3, a MicroSD reader as well, and a headphone jack.

HP is also sticking with a physical camera kill-switch that lets users disable the front-facing 720P web camera. The toggle kills the camera at the drive level so that users can be assured of privacy. Matching that concern is a physical key on the keyboard for muting the microphone. It has an LED to let you know it's engaged.

The Spectre's hinges are the double-hinged variety. They look and feel great by not being too stiff, but also easy to operate. Flipping the display around and holding the Spectre like a tablet is like any other convertible experience, which is not fantastic, but the sheer variety of options for viewing content is certainly welcomed.

Full HD is just right

HP Spectre x360 13 display and inking

Hp Spectre X360 13 Late 2019 Display

Source: Daniel Rubino/Windows Central (Image credit: Source: Daniel Rubino/Windows Central)

HP is still committed to the 16:9 aspect ratio in this 13.3-inch Ultrabook. That's a bit of a shame. Dell has moved to 16:10, and judging by our audience (and my personal preference), it is the clear choice amongst many.

That said, HP's panel is very good for a few reasons. I tested the full HD (1080 x 1920) touch display and the results are impressive, with 100 percent sRGB, 78 percent AdobeRGB, and 81 percent DCI-P3. Those numbers are in line with other top-tier Ultrabooks, but it's nice to see here too.

Brightness is decent, with a peak reading of 442 nits and a low (zero percent brightness) of just 14 nits. There is no auto-adjust sensor, but users can toggle brightness with two dedicated keys.

Putting aside metrics, it's an outstanding LCD. Reflectivity is much lower than the previous model without losing vividness from similar matte screens. Colors are bright, punchy, and sharp.

Hp Spectre X360 13 Late 2019 Camera

Source: Daniel Rubino/Windows Central (Image credit: Source: Daniel Rubino/Windows Central)

While the dazzling 4K AMOLED option may tempt some, keep in mind that besides the extra $200, you will likely take a 20 to 30 percent hit on battery life. The full HD display, however, is so good you must really justify needing 4K.

HP's new micro web camera is quite small, but it still managed to squeeze in a Windows Hello infrared (IR) camera for logging into the OS. The camera is OK and passes for video, but the quality is nothing outstanding. Still, considering the size of that top bezel, its inclusion is an engineering marvel.

HP's pen is very good. An included leather sleeve (another nice touch) has a pen holder built-in not to lose it.

Awesome keyboard, fixed trackapd

HP Spectre x360 13 keyboard, trackpad, and audio

Hp Spectre X360 13 Late 2019 Top

Source: Daniel Rubino/Windows Central (Image credit: Source: Daniel Rubino/Windows Central)

HP's keyboards are some of the best in the business. With the new tighter space, the Spectre's keyboard stretches edge to edge. It's an excellent look. Key travel is ample, much more so than Dell, and the keys are some of the largest square chiclet-style around.

Even the font HP uses is quite lovely, which is only amplified by the backlighting. Sure, the contrast with the light is less with silver keys, but it is generally readable.

On the keyboard deck is a fingerprint reader. That may seem redundant with the Windows Hello IR camera, but if you use the webcam kill switch, this reader gives you a good fallback option for instantly logging into Windows 10. It worked well, and I have no complaints.

For years, the HP's trackpads were its Achilles heel. They were just bad compared to everyone else's because HP refused to adopt Microsoft's Precision Drive model. That's all changed, and I'm happy to report that the Spectre now has a wonderful trackpad. It's a bit narrow due to the deck's footprint, but it's a decent size, and the clicking is consistent and just well done.

I was concerned with the Spectre losing two speakers from the top deck audio would be compromised. But I was pleasantly surprised to find the bottom (but to the side) speakers are loud with tremendous audio separation and acoustic fidelity. The Bang & Olufsen-tuned and amplified speakers are some of the best in this class. It's loud, crisp, and excellent for movies and music.

Just average, but that's OK

HP Spectre x360 13 power, benchmarks and battery

Intel 10thgen Logo Iris Plus

Source: Daniel Rubino/Windows Central (Image credit: Source: Daniel Rubino/Windows Central)

The Spectre falls in line with other Intel 10th Gen Ultrabooks with similar specifications. In raw benchmarks, Dell still wins out for performance as its thermal solution is simply better at letting the CPU stretch its legs. Does it matter for day-to-day work? Not really, but if you are looking for the most power out of your Ultrabook, Dell wins out.

Geekbench 5

Geekbench 5.0 (CPU) (Higher is better)

Swipe to scroll horizontally
DeviceCPUSingle coreMulti core
HP Spectre x360 13i7-1065G71,0063,402
Dell XPS 13 2-in-1 7390i7-1065G71,2093,571
HP Elite Dragonflyi7-8665U1,1252,942
Dell XPS 13 (9300)i7-1065G71,2844,848
Lenovo Yoga C740i5-10210U1,0943,767
Galaxy Book SSD 8cx6852,681
Surface Pro XSQ17252,819
Acer Swift 7i7-8500Y7321,106
Surface Laptop 3 13.5i5-1035G71,1774,413
Surface Pro 7i5-1035G41,1914,441

PCMark

PCMark 10 Express

Swipe to scroll horizontally
DeviceScore
HP Spectre x360 134261
Dell XPS 13 2-in-14,554
HP Elite Dragonfly3,716
Lenovo Yoga C7404,941
LG gram 174,157
Acer Swift 5 (SF514-54T)4,415
Surface Pro 7 (i5)3,992
Surface Laptop 3 15 (AMD)4,006
Dell XPS 13 2-in-1 (7390)4,427
Dell Inspiron 13 7390 2-in-13,764
Dell XPS 15 75905,521

SSD

CrystalDiskMark (Higher is better)

Swipe to scroll horizontally
DeviceReadWrite
HP Spectre x360 (Optane)2,092 MB/s515 MB/s
Dell XPS 13 2-in-12,400 MB/s1,228 MB/s
HP Elite Dragonfly (Optane)2,124 MB/s548 MB/s
Lenovo Yoga C7403,408 MB/s2,982 MB/s
LG gram 17 (2020)3,477 MB/s2,900 MB/s
Surface Laptop 3 152,028 MB/s806 MB/s
Surface Laptop 3 13.52,338 MB/s1,583 MB/s
Acer Swift 5 (SF514-54T)1,641 MB/s1,025 MB/s
Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Extreme (Gen 2)3,416 MB/s3,016 MB/s
Lenovo ThinkPad P533,567.23 MB/s2,813.25 MB/s
Lenovo ThinkPad P523,120 MB/s1,551.5 MB/s
Dell XPS 15 75903,000 MB/s2,796 MB/s
MSI PS63 Modern3,300 MB/s1,875 MB/s

.

Storage is a bit tricky. HP is big on using Intel's Optane (32GB) system combined with a PCIe NVMe SSD. Optane is supposed to act as a cache for your most frequently used apps, helping them launch faster. Because of that, raw speeds, especially for writing to disk, are seemingly slower in benchmarks but don't reflect the reality.

Hp Spectre X360 13 Late 2019 Hinge Logo

Source: Daniel Rubino/Windows Central (Image credit: Source: Daniel Rubino/Windows Central)

The battery is quite good, though not record-breaking. The 60WHr gets near 8 to 9 hours in real-world usage give or take based on the display's brightness. That's both according to my experience and using Microsoft's battery report feature in Windows 10. That's all-day power, but Dell's XPS 13 2-in-1 tends to get about an extra hour despite it having a smaller battery.

HP does give you a 65-watt charger in the box, however, versus Dell's smaller 45 watts alternative.

For heat, HP did fans and noise well. For regular use like web browsing and productivity, the dual-fans will not be much of an issue. Running more demanding apps and those fans will come one, and due to the metal chassis, the laptop can get warm, but never hot. But because of the design here, and what I think is a less than an innovative thermal solution (compared to Dell), the Spectre's performance is held back moderately.

Best overall value

HP Spectre x360 13 is easy to recommend

Hp Spectre X360 13 Late 2019 Hero

Source: Daniel Rubino/Windows Central (Image credit: Source: Daniel Rubino/Windows Central)

HP has done a remarkable job with the late-2019 Spectre x360 13. The display now matches most of the competition, and it looks outstanding. The display panel, keyboard, audio, and the sheer number of features like including a pen, dual Windows Hello options, and that Type-A port makes it simply the best valued 2-in-1 Ultrabook on the market.

And that is what it comes down to for this review. If you have $1,100 and you want a convertible Ultrabook, this is the one to get.

That is not to say all is perfect, though. HP should consider moving to 16:10 for the display aspect ratio. Microsoft set the trend with the taller 3:2, but now Dell is embracing 16:10, and others will soon too. It is not just about getting more screen space, either. Using 16:10 would make the area where your palms rest on the keyboard deck roomier and more comfortable. It also means a taller trackpad. There is a cascading effect here that could benefit HP's engineering chops.

The Spectre x360 13 clearly stands out from the competition.

The USB Type-A port with drop jaw is undoubtedly creative, but if you thought getting the orientation right with a Type-A plug was already challenging, wait until you add a clamp to the mix. It's nice to have, but the frustration makes you understand why Type-A needs to die a quick death.

There's also the look of the Spectre, which is admittedly, entirely subjective. While I appreciate the "gem cut" design and the creativeness to make it happen, it just feels a bit too fancy for a modern laptop. Many companies are embracing symmetrical, square designs with fewer angles, not more. That is why even though the Dell XPS 13 2-in-1 is significantly more expensive (+$300, and no pen) I prefer the look and feel of it over the Spectre. Indeed, I overall like the XPS 13 2-in-1 better, but it's hard to ignore that substantial increase in price over HP.

Overall, HP continues to do clever work on the Spectre line. They clearly stand out from the competition, and the total amount of stuff you get in this PC is unmatched for the price. Luckily, it's not all just about value as the power, performance, and overall experience also matches that high praise putting this the top of our list of the best Windows laptops.

Daniel Rubino
Editor-in-chief

Daniel Rubino is the Editor-in-chief of Windows Central, head reviewer, podcast co-host, and analyst. He has been covering Microsoft since 2007 when this site was called WMExperts (and later Windows Phone Central). His interests include Windows, laptops, next-gen computing, and for some reason, watches. Before all this tech stuff, he worked on a Ph.D. in linguistics, watched people sleep (for medical purposes!), and ran the projectors at movie theaters because it was fun.

21 Comments
  • You can save $100 and get a maxed out x360 at Best Buy for $1799 with 16gb RAM and 1tb SSD. I have seen it as low as $1499, but not since the shelter in place orders have hit the work from home community.
  • Nice laptop, I like that they kept a Usb Type-A port (iirc the Dell one lacks one). I think a minor negative point of Spectre/Envy etc laptops is that the keyboards are sometimes barely readable because of their choice of transparent / grey labels on silver keys. Also the weight is still the same a few years ago, would be nice if it would be lower for tablet mode (though to be fair; the battery is slightly larger nowadays).
  • "sometimes barely readable because of their choice of transparent / grey labels on silver keys"
    An issue in the past, but on this build I can't say it was one. That said, you could easily opt for "Dark Ash" or "Poseidon Blue" colorway, which easily solves that concern.
    "iirc the Dell one lacks one"
    Correct, Dell is over Type-A, lol. It does include an adapter in the box, though.
  • Ah nice they fixed that issue. The other colors would be even better indeed. Personally I use type-A way more than type-C, even on my current laptop but that might be just me (I cannot really use docks since my workplaces vary a lot and I find adapters annoying for usb sticks). Luckily the transition to completely remove usb A is a slow one. :)
  • I have a question on how this laptop implemented TB3 and docking stations. I got a Spectre x360 a few years ago for my wife, and was dismayed to discover that it cannot use a docking station with the lid closed. You cannot boot with a docking station connected, etc. Has this been resolved on newer models?
  • Sorry, that I don't know. I currently don't have a dock set up, but will look to do so at the office soon.
  • I am in the minority of people that still likes the 16:9 ratio on my portable so I'm glad HP is sticking with it, the number one software I use is wide, but not high, so it's perfect for wider ratios.
  • Its not really that you sacrifice wide on 16:10 or 3:2 laptops, its just that you gain extra height with smaller vertical bezels or not a shrink-ed touchpad. :)
  • I have owned many HP products in the past and with some regularity have had trouble. Pavillion desktops in the 2000's. Spectre laptop a few years ago. Sleek design but battery was awful. And just 2 years ago my wife wanted this HP all-in-one and it was nice until the motherboard went out on month 13 of a 12 month warranty. I have just had too many HP products seem to die/crap out before their time. I am typing this on a superbly made 6 year old Surface Pro 3 which still does an awesome job for me.
  • Same here.
    I bought a brand new Spectre 360 for my son and it had issues right out of the box. Kept freezing.
    Took it back for another and same thing.
    It was supposedly a firmware issue that HP was working on a fix for. Swapped it for a Surface Laptop and never looked back. I am using an XPS 15 and no issues. No more HP for me, they suck.
  • They do not seem to be best brand for reliability, I agree. Battery on Spectre 2-1 should be good though, perhaps you went for the regular one that is very thin? That one has a smaller battery iirc.
    Prebuild desktops from all oems usually suck by the way (they cut costs on boring but important parts like PSU's and unreliable ssd's). Instead for non-tech savy persons I would recommend to let a computer shop make a list for you with desktop components, show that list on a computer forum for feedback and than let the computer shop build the desktop pc for you.
  • I forgot to add that their fairly recent 2-1's seem pretty reliable. My 2-1 Envy is good so far (just a bit sharp on the edges) and I know people who have 2-1 Pavilions that are also good for standard work (/cooling and battery are ok to meh but screen and design are good for the price segment).
  • I have a HP Essential Laptop with a Celeron N4500 (ik it is underpowered) and it is VERY unreliable. The main thing it struggles at is the thing I got it for; video calls. Also, I've had THREE BSoD s since I got it (4 months ago).
  • Add one more fan (for the one 4k movie per month I'll watch) and I'll take it.
  • Is this the same HP laptop that had issues with the LTE modem? Or was that the Dragonfly? Because this thing with LTE = instant orgasm for me.
  • That was Elite Dragonfly. Unfortunately, I can't speak to reliability of the Spectre with it. It'd be easy to dismiss as "probably the same" i.e. bad, but these were made by different teams at HP, so I don't feel confident suggesting that.
  • I Bought this new Spectre 360 to replace a previous 2 years old Hp spectre 360 and I don't agree about the "best value"
    Daniel did not mention that the volume control on the side of the device has disappeared and the top left angle with its power on/of is a mess as uts easy tu press press it while using the laptop in tablet mode.
    I mention that in all HP Spectre 360 (13" or 15") the sleep mode is a mess
  • Kind of fair points, but also, a bit subjective. Elite Dragonfly had the button on the side and I hated it, always accidentally hit. This was better. But sure, best is PB on top deck, I agree.
  • I just got my new Spectre x360 a couple a weeks ago. I had my 2015 Spectre x360 for five years which worked fantastic for me (I gave that one to my daughter), but it was time to upgrade. I got the i7, 4K OLED, 2TB SSD, and 16GB RAM which should last me for a few years. Overall I am very pleased. The keyboard is really good with an almost snap tactile feel to the keys that my old Spectre was lacking. I went with the dark ash color since the silver on my old one was difficult to see with the backlighting on and ambient light. The USB type A is great to have since I usually stick with a wired mouse. Your review is spot on because the only thing I really ding this on is the 16x9 screen which is cramped for productivity work. I hope HP goes to 16:10 like Dell, but aside from that this laptop is a great buy. Just wait until it goes on sale. I lucked out and saved over $400 on it custom built from HP during a sale. However, it took over 6 weeks to arrive due to the coronovirus stuff going on.
  • Nice, glad to hear and appreciate your sharing your experience! 👍
  • Would like an article which external monitors work for sure together with used cables. See much complaints about connecting external monitor for older spectre so a bit afraid to buy.