Ubisoft is set to kick off the ninth season of the Rainbow Six Pro League today, its competitive championship for Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Siege. The ESL-backed event will host several U.S. matches, following multiple delays as a result of technical issues.

Rainbow Six Pro League Season 9 packs 24 of the world's top esports teams, spanning Europe, North America, and Latin America. While initially scheduled for December, audio bugs that surfaced with Operation Wind Bastion saw a delay into 2019. With the game's 4.1 patch now deployed, the league is set to make its return.

Pro League Season 9 commences with four matches between eight U.S. teams, starting with Excelerate vs. Cloud9. Below is the full schedule for January 8, 2019, via the ESL match schedule:

Bundle Disney+, Hulu, and ESPN+ for just $13/month

  • Excelerate vs. Cloud9 (8PM ET/ 1AM GMT / 2AM CET)
  • Spacestation Gaming vs. Evil Geniuses (9PM ET/ 2AM GMT / 3AM CET)
  • Rogue vs. OrgLess (10PM ET / 3AM GMT / 4AM CET)
  • Rise Nation vs. DarkZero (11PM ET / 4AM GMT / 5AM CET)

Matches can be watched live on the Rainbow 6 official Twitch channel. Later matches are planned for Latin America on January 9, followed by Europe on January 10. And with the Six Invitational set for February, a tight schedule of matches is planned for the weeks ahead.

Alongside a fresh wave of competition, Pro League Season 9 brings changes to play. Lion, among the game's most controversial Operators, will be automatically banned for first part of the championship. Operation Wind Bastion's latest Operators, Kaid and Nomad, will also be locked under a new three-month "Evaluation Period."

In the meantime, Ubisoft is gearing up for Rainbow Six Siege Year 4 Season 1.

See at Amazon

Check out Windows Central's Rainbow Six Siege hub for in-depth coverage of upcoming content, latest updates, and tips to improve your gameplay.

We may earn a commission for purchases using our links. Learn more.