Best answer: Destiny 2: New Light is a free-to-play version of Destiny 2 that contains the base game and the first two Year 1 expansions.

So, what specifically is Destiny 2: New Light?

Destiny 2: New Light is a free version of Destiny 2 and both of its Year 1 expansions, Curse of Osiris and Warmind, as well as all of the gear, rewards, and activities that those experiences provide. In addition, it also contains snippets of content reminiscent of the first Destiny game, such as the player waking up in the Cosmodrome.

Players will still need to purchase Destiny 2: Forsaken and the Destiny 2 Annual Pass in order to get their hands on all of the Year 2 content in the game, but even so, this is great news for people who have wanted to try Destiny 2 for a long time but haven't felt comfortable spending money on it just to see if they like it.

The release of Destiny 2: New Light is slated for September 17, 2019, which coincides with the launch of the game's next expansion, Destiny 2: Shadowkeep. Additionally, Destiny 2: New Light (and the rest of what the game has to offer) will make its way to Steam, and there will also be cross-save support between consoles and PC.

Why play Destiny 2?

Destiny 2 is an incredibly expansive and content-rich massive-multiplayer online (MMO) game with tons of action and light role-playing game (RPG) elements. There's piles of armor and guns to chase, three different classes of Guardians to choose from, and three subclasses within those classes that you can select in order to refine your play style.

The story, while average, is still serviceable, and there's several difficult challenge activities that you and your friends can play together in and try to complete. The Destiny universe also has an incredibly rich lore background, and it's arguably one of the most interesting science fiction franchises in recent gaming memory.

You can wait for Destiny 2: New Light if you want to avoid spending money before getting started, but you can jump in right away by choosing one of the two Destiny 2 bundles available right now.

Get playing early

Destiny 2: Forsaken Legendary Collection

A fantastic starting point

The Destiny 2: Forsaken Legendary Collection includes the base game, both Year 1 expansions, and Forsaken, the first Year 2 expansion.

Get all content

Destiny 2: Forsaken Complete Collection

Get everything there is

The Destiny 2: Forsaken Complete Collection contains all the content currently available for Destiny 2, including the base game, both Year 1 expansions, Destiny 2: Forsaken, and the Destiny 2 Annual Pass.

We may earn a commission for purchases using our links. Learn more.