Halo Infinite Lone Wolves SpartansSource: Xbox Game Studios

While Season 1 of Halo Infinite has proven to be a controversial launch season for 343 Industries' ambitious live service Halo title, the studio is looking to turn things around with Halo Infinite Season 2: Lone Wolves. Featuring new playable content for fans to enjoy and plenty of cosmetics to earn, Season 2 has serious potential to get Halo Infinite back on a successful track following the game's rocky start. If you're a big fan of Halo Infinite's core gameplay but have been frustrated with the game's lack of new content, the new additions coming with Season 2 will definitely appeal to you.

The Halo Infinite Season 2: Lone Wolves update is undoubtedly one of the most exciting ones for the game since it launched in late 2021, and thankfully, players don't have to wait long until Season 2's new content is in their hands. Here's an overview of everything you need to know about Season 2's release time, including when it goes live across the globe and what to expect from the update.

Halo Infinite Season 2: What to expect

Halo Infinite Lone Wolves BreakerSource: Xbox Game Studios

Season 2 of Halo Infinite multiplayer is set to add a large chunk of brand-new content to the Halo Infinite experience, including maps, modes, and brand-new features. Many believe that Halo Infinite has the potential to blossom into one of the best Xbox games available, and Season 2 represents the beginning of a brighter future for the game as 343 Industries plans to ramp up the pace of updates and content additions moving forward.

Players can expect two new maps in Season 2; Catalyst, a new Arena map set in a Forerunner structure, and Breaker, a "pseudo symmetric" Big Team Battle map set in a Banished scrapyard of ruined vehicles and destroyed ships. In terms of modes, Season 2 is bringing three: King of the Hill, Land Grab, and Last Spartan Standing. In King of the Hill, each team fights over a single territory that moves to a new location on the map once one team captures it fully and scores a point. Land Grab, meanwhile, challenges each team to try to capture multiple points on the map. The first team to capture 11 zones wins the match.

Last Spartan Standing is a hybrid of battle royale and gun game that features 12 players in a free-for-all on a Big Team Battle map. Each player gets five respawns, but once they die for the fifth time, they're knocked out of the match. Also, scoring kills against other players allows you to upgrade to a new weapon (like gun game), and as the match progresses, a deadly energy field slowly engulfs the map, forcing players to get closer and closer to one another (like battle royale). The match ends when there's only one player left alive.

Halo Infinite Sniper SkinSource: Xbox Game Studios

Season 2 will also feature two "Narrative Events" — Interference on May 3 to May 16, and Alpha Pack on July 19 to August 1. It's unclear what these events actually are at the moment, but we expect that there may be special themed multiplayer playlists or perhaps even some bite-sized PvE cooperative experiences. Other planned gameplay additions and features for Season 2 include Halo Infinite campaign co-op and campaign mission replay in late August, an open beta for Halo Infinite's Forge level creation mode in September.

Over the course of Season 2's six-month duration, players will also be able to purchase and progress through a new 100-tier Battle Pass. This Battle Pass will offer players several different cosmetic rewards and other bonuses, and unlike Season 1's Battle Pass, Season 2's will give players opportunities to earn up to 1,000 credits that can be used in Halo Infinite's microtransaction store.

Additionally, a new Fracture event called Entrenched is coming to Season 2 on May 24. Fracture: Entrenched, much like Fracture: Tenrai before it, will give players an opportunity to earn unique rewards by progressing through a special (and free) themed Battle Pass during the first week of each month.

Halo Infinite Season 2: Release date and time

Halo Infinite Season 2Source: Xbox Game Studios

Halo Infinite Season 2 will begin and go live on May 3, 2022, for both Xbox console and PC players. The update will see a universal rollout, unlocking at the same time for everyone.

One hour before the season goes live, Halo Infinite is also being taken offline for maintenance. At this time, all online features, including matchmaking, custom games, and customization, will be unavailable. However, you'll still be able to access and play the Halo Infinite campaign if you'd like to.

Note that while the Season 2 update is scheduled to go live for everyone across the globe simultaneously, the time you'll be able to start playing Season 2 is dependent on the time zone you use. We've compiled a list of Season 2 launch times around the globe in the table below, so you can check when Season 2 goes live in your region.

Time zone Release date and time
PST May 3, 11 a.m.
CST May 3, 1 p.m.
EST May 3, 2 p.m.
BRT May 3, 3 p.m.
BST May 3, 7 p.m.
CEST May 3, 8 p.m.
AST May 3, 9 p.m.
IST May 3, 11:30 p.m.
HKT May 4, 2 a.m.
JST May 4, 3 a.m.
AEST May 4, 4 a.m.
NZST May 4, 6 a.m.

The legend returns

Halo Infinite

Halo Infinite

Halo Infinite's campaign promises fans the most expansive single-player Halo experience to date, featuring a dynamic open world brimming with stories to uncover and hours of shooter action. It's a modern masterpiece that's familiar, yet fresh, in all the right ways.

We may earn a commission for purchases using our links. Learn more.