If you log in to Windows 10 using a Microsoft Account, you likely also take advantage of Windows 10's built-in syncing functionality, which takes some saved settings, colors, and wallpapers and stores them in the cloud for automatically applying to other Windows 10 devices when you log in to them, as well.

This syncing functionality was first introduced in Windows 8 and is still in use today in Windows 10. But if you're tired of all the settings that are synced to every device you log in to and want to start afresh, here's how you can go about doing that.

The best time to do this is if you're clean installing Windows 10 or setting up your account on a new PC for the first time. If you don't want your old settings to sync over to your new PC or install, just follow this guide and remove your old sync settings from Microsoft's servers. This will give you a clean slate when logging into your new PC or Windows 10 install, with the default Windows 10 wallpaper and everything.

How to remove Windows 10 account sync settings

Just follow these easy steps:

  1. Head to account.microsoft.com

  2. Sign in to your Microsoft Account.

  3. Select the Devices tab at the top of the page.

  4. Select More actions under one of your listed devices.

  5. Select Remove cloud backup of personal settings from all devices in the drop-down menu.

  6. Read the instructions presented on this web page, and make sure you have either signed out of your Microsoft Account on your PC or turned off sync settings.

  7. Select Remove.

  8. Select Yes.

Your account sync settings will then be deleted from Microsoft's servers. You should now be able to start fresh with your Microsoft Account sync settings, including wallpapers and more.

More Windows 10 resources

For more helpful articles, coverage, and answers to common questions about Windows 10, visit the following resources:

This post may contain affiliate links. See our disclosure policy for more details.