Surface Laptop 4 Amd 2021 DisplaySource: Daniel Rubino / Windows Central

What you need to know

  • A Windows 10 update installs the PC Health Check app onto devices running Windows 10.
  • The primary function of the tool is to assess if a computer is eligible to upgrade to Windows 11.
  • Some people are having issues uninstalling the program.

A recent update to Windows 10 installs the PC Health Check app. The primary function of the tool is to assess if a computer is eligible to upgrade to Windows 11, though it has other uses. Microsoft explains that the app can be uninstalled in a support document, but some people run into issues when trying to remove the app from their PCs. According to Bleeping Computer some PCs reinstall the PC Health Check app, even after people uninstall it several times.

The PC Health Check app comes to Windows 10 with the KB5005463 update. Specifically, PCs running the Windows 10 May 2020 Update (version 2004) or later will receive the update. The app can manage startup programs, view storage usage and battery capacity, and sync device preferences across PCs. It's most well-known, however, for its ability to check if a PC meets the minimum requirements of Windows 11.

Shop Cyber Monday deals at: Amazon | Walmart | Best Buy | Microsoft | Dell

Uninstalling the PC Health Check app hasn't gone smoothly for some PC owners. People that reached out to Bleeping Computer explained that Windows 10 reinstalls the PC Health Check app after checking for OS updates. Additionally, Windows 10 states that the KB5005463 update is not installed, even when the update is running on a PC. This makes it difficult to uninstall the KB5005463 update.

Kb5005463 Update Bleeping ComputerWindows 10 update KB5005463 installing automaticallySource: Bleeping Computer

It's possible to block the installation of the PC Health Check app and the KB5005464 update through the registry, though that is a more complex method than normally required to block an update.

The PC Health Check app does not run automatically and can be closed, meaning it shouldn't affect system performance. Some PC owners dislike having programs forced onto their PCs, preferring to have the option to choose which programs are on their computer.

We may earn a commission for purchases using our links. Learn more.