Windows 10 Mobile Insider preview build 10136 is now available!

The latest update for the Windows 10 Mobile Insider preview build is now ready to be downloaded. The new build number is 10136 and can be grabbed by folks who are a part of the Windows Insider program by going to Settings > Phone Update to check for a new OS update

In a blog post, Windows Insider head Gabriel Aul states that this build is only being offered to users who have Windows Phone 8.1 installed on their phone and are on the Windows Insider Fast ring. He states:

  • "If you are running the previous build offered to the Fast ring (10080) and you want to get this build you will need to go back to Windows Phone 8.1 via the Windows Phone Recovery Tool first. Once you're up and running on Windows Phone 8.1, go to the Windows Insider app and select Insider Fast again. This is required because of a migration bug affecting upgrades from 10080 to this build so we are not supporting that upgrade path. We know this is a little bit painful but we didn't want to make you wait any longer to get a new build and decided (with help from Windows Insiders following me on Twitter) not to hold for those migration issues to be fixed. Some of you previously had to go through 2 "hops" to get to the latest build on your phone. We've made this better and you will be able to upgrade directly to the latest build in a single hop regardless of which Windows Phone 8.1 build you're starting from."
  • "If you're on build 10080 and don't want to flash back to 8.1 to get this build, you don't have to do anything. You won't be offered this build but your phone will still be configured for the next one, and we do expect the next build to have the migration issue fixed so you'll be able to upgrade directly."

Aul also mentions one other thing users need to keep in mind with this release:

" At the end of the upgrade the Lock screen will appear frozen without the date and time for up to 10 minutes. Please be patient and let it sit – eventually the date and time will appear and it will allow you to unlock your phone. There is a post-upgrade migration status screen missing, which normally would show you that it was making progress. If you get impatient and restart or mess with locking/unlocking your phone, you'll wind up in a funky state – so just relax and let it do its thing."

Source: Microsoft

John Callaham
240 Comments
  • Sit back & Relax!
  • Thank you sir, may I have another.
  • will reverting to 8.1 remove everything ?
  • Everything, yes!
  • thanks, any idea if a W10 backup works with 8.1?
  • I think it does
  • It definitely does. I've taken every fast ring build so far and every time I roll back I do a quick backup and then do it. There will be a few bugs just because some of the apps you had in 10 aren't available in 8.1 so you just have to go in and redownload them. You'll be fine though, no sweat.
  • Hands On vid plz!
  • So someone on WP8.1 (any update) will directly get lifted to build 10136?
  • What will be obvious to wait for the next build?? Another month?
  • I'll just wait, can't go back to 8.1
  • Off topic: Calender live not updating at all though its running in background. Is there anyone having the same issue?
  • On my way to upgrade.. Yeah!!
  • What's new ?
  • My question exactly.
  • Check out the official announcement.
  • waiting for "known bugs and issues" list
  • Ditto
  • Same here, ill have to roll back to 8.1 as I have 10080 queued but if this is more stable them im all in or wait till next week. Decisions, decisions
  • Its here: http://wmpoweruser.com/here-are-the-known-issues-on-windows-10-mobile-bu...
  • Same, wondering if it's main-phone material
  • Here are some known issues - After upgrading, you will still see duplicate tiles for apps like Search and Phone under All Apps. - If you have too many PIN unlock attempts, you’ll see the “enter A1B2C3” reset experience. However, there is an issue in this build where after you enter the code you won’t see the PIN pad. The workaround is to press Emergency Call after entering the code, then press Back and you’ll be able to enter your PIN.  - We recommend disabling the double-tap-to-wake feature on some Lumia devices by going to the Settings app then Extras > Touch > Wake to prevent any accidental PIN unlock attempts. - There is an issue that may cause Skype not to work after upgrade. The best workaround is to uninstall Skype on Windows Phone 8.1 *before* you upgrade to this build and then reinstall it after upgrading. If you miss that step though, you can usually resolve by uninstalling it and reinstalling from the Store once you’re on 10136. - If you’re having issues installing new Language Packs in this build, see this forum post.
  • Source: http://blogs.windows.com/bloggingwindows/2015/06/16/announcing-windows-10-mobile-insider-preview-build-10136/
  • It is worse than the previous for me. Unstable and most apps don't work. It freezes all time. Luckily I have it in my spare phone...
  • What phone did you install on?
  • The first w10 build killed my lumia 620. I read about dead phones all over globe, both in lower and higher ranged WPs - killed lumias 520, 620, 920 even, also the x30 range. Most of them were 512MB RAM, but MS states the new 10080 and now 10136 support 512MB lumias. This build 10136 definitely is an improvement, with less buggs. Still a bit laggy. Before anything, make sure you have 100% battery life and then do this: 1-hard reset phone = (if you have w10 10080, downgrade to w8.1 with WPRT in its newest version 2.1.1) + uninstall Skype if it remains; 2-download/install windows insider, log into with MS account, click "insider fast", go to phone update and download build 10136-the update; 3-after main update, another small update should come (i do not remember if before or after the inactive lock screen occurs) = wait 10-15 minutes for time/date to appear - the unlock screen - do not restart or mingle with anything, let it do its thing; 4-once you are in OS = go to settings and hard reset phone again; 5-after hard reset = go to settings, store (no the new BETA one) and update store beta. 6-soft reset phone = wolume down + power button for 10-15 seconds HINT - "Due to the Nokia Lumia 630 and Lumia 635 lacking a Camera button the way you perform a hard reset on unresponsive smartphones has changed. The first thing you need to do is power down your Lumia. Next, press the Volume Down button and then connect the charger. At this point you should see an Exclamation Mark appear. When you do, let go of the Volume button. Now you need to press a sequence of buttons in the following order: Volume Up, Volume Down, Power, and Volume Down.Wait for your phone to reset, during the reset you will see gears rotating on the screen for up to 5 minutes, after which the screen goes blank for around 30 seconds and then your Lumia will restart."
  • did everything you said but it always displays the GEARS then after a while it will give me a BATTERY ICON telling me to plug/charge the phone.,.. when in reality it is CHARGING and reached 100% before I start installing the update :(
  • Is it available on the blu win hd lte yet?
  • Nope. Just lumia+ htc one
  • Thank god for some windows 10 mobile news..was sick and tired of Xbox and stupid games news for the past 2 days:P
  • +535
  • +930
  • They were boring, more so that I don't have one which made it even worse
  • What!
  • +all the Lumia phones in the world
  • Same here..but cant go to new build..:(
  • :D
  • Utter crap isn't it? It's a Windows site ffs. No place for it.
  • Oh my gosh......
  • Waiting for known bugs and issues
  • FINALLY!!!! But I'm not downloading it. Waiting for someone else to brick their phone first. :D
  • +730
  • Ok, just bricked my phone. Now is your turn...come on...
  • Did you really brick your phone? Which model?
     
  • Finally
  • Gr8 news!!. Though, I wonder why is it that everyone uses Lumia 630 for trail purpose ;P
  • Because in places like here in the USA you can get it for 40 dollars. People are buying it to test windows 10
  • In Slovakia, a 630 costs now 100-120eur (130USD), too expensive to try out. Hell, every thign is too expensive and the sallary too low. Anyway, I killed my lumia 620 with the 1st w10 build. Do you think I should try this 10136 with my lumia 630? Maybe I am naive to try this.
  • Do not lot windows 10 on the phone you use every day.
  • The old 920 also seems pretty popular... I'm using 820 to test W10. Certainly not using my 640 or even my 435!
  • Let's see how it will behave on 930. Downloading!
  • Did you have to downgrade it to 8.1?
  • I downgraded an hour after updating to 10080 when it came out. The phone was unusable for me. Start screen didnt want to appear, none of the apps wanted to open, it heated up like crazy. Will provide info after upgrading, currently on around 50% of the instalation process.
  • Plz tell me if it's stable enough for my main 930!
  • 930 is my DD also. Will provide info when it finishes installing.
  • After an hour playing around with the phone, I say its good enough for installing on a main 930. Hard reset after the upgrade is highly advisable.
  • how to hard reset correctly?
  • Hard reset from settings in Settings>About and then scroll down until you find the ‘Reset Your Phone’ box. The first w10 build killed my lumia 620. I read about dead phones all over
    globe, both in lower and higher ranged WPs - killed lumias 520, 620, 920
    even, also the x30 range. Most of them were 512MB RAM, but MS states
    the new 10080 and now 10136 support 512MB lumias. This build 10136
    definitely is an improvement, with less buggs. Still a bit laggy. Before
    anything, make sure you have 100% battery life and then do this: 1-hard reset phone = (if you have w10 10080, downgrade to w8.1 with
    WPRT in its newest version 2.1.1) + uninstall Skype if it remains; 2-download/install windows insider, log into with MS account, click
    "insider fast", go to phone update and download build 10136-the update; 3-after main update, another small update should come (i do not
    remember if before or after the inactive lock screen occurs) = wait
    10-15 minutes for time/date to appear - the unlock screen - do not
    restart or mingle with anything, let it do its thing; 4-once you are in OS = go to settings and hard reset phone again; 5-after hard reset = go to settings, store (no the new BETA one) and update store beta. 6-soft reset phone = wolume down + power button for 10-15 seconds HINT - "Due to the Nokia Lumia 630 and Lumia 635 lacking a Camera
    button the way you perform a hard reset on unresponsive smartphones has
    changed. The first thing you need to do is power down your Lumia. Next,
    press the Volume Down button and then connect the charger. At this point
    you should see an Exclamation Mark appear. When you do, let go of the
    Volume button. Now you need to press a sequence of buttons in the
    following order: Volume Up, Volume Down, Power, and Volume Down.Wait for
    your phone to reset, during the reset you will see gears rotating on
    the screen for up to 5 minutes, after which the screen goes blank for
    around 30 seconds and then your Lumia will restart."
  • Guys, before you rush in, I read that you need to downgrade to 8.1 then upgrade to latest build. There is a known upgrade bug for the current version.
  • Then why you rushed to the comments before reading the article?
  • Any new features...
  • One hand use for large screen phones.
  • So since my 930 can't revert we getting the shaft? Or a work around I'm not aware of?
  • Why can you not revert to 8.1? Computer can't recognise your phone? I had the same issue and hard resetting while connected to computer did the trick, try...
  • thank you!!!  
  • Is it in slow or fast?
  • I do not anticipate any new feature in this build, only polishing of unstable apps and a mere gradual speed gain.
  • one handed use is new
  • fast
  • Fast.
  • Fast
  • Fast ring ;)
  • Fast!
  • Fast as in isnt so laggy anymore or fast-food?
  • This is a good day to "die". Lets see whats cooking on MS labs :))
  • Kapla
  • Waiting for my phone to charge as well as someone else with a 930 to tell us how this build behaves. Cant believe I'm actually being patient when I was waiting on this forever lol.
  • I have seen some L930 on youtube taking this new build very good. Cant say that for lower end like 435,530,532,520,620,630,635...especially 535 seemed too slow. I have see it on lumia 520 and it performed better than the first build on a 920, so it is an improvement.
  • FINALLY!!!! But I'm not downloading it. Waiting for someone else to brick their phone first. :D
  • This ^ lol
  • This build should not brick or kill any other phones. If you update from w8.1, have a 100% battery life at the start, hard reset wp8.1 and after updating to w10 again hard reset, update apps and soft reset...it should work just fine. Seen lumia 520 handle this easy...
  • Lets go!!!!
  • This is the first build I'm going to install on my main device. Downloading!!!!!
  • Why not wait for a few hours to see if this is a stable build before installing on your main phone. Given all the issues with previous builds, that seems like a risky gamble.
  • Whats your lumia model and how did it went? The 1st w10 build killed my lumia 620, but this one looks greatly improved and not harmful, just slow, but faster than 10080 or previous builds. MS says this is very VERY close to final release even though its kinda questionable since the final release wont come, MAYBE, sooner than Q3 2015. Desktop w10 will be here Summer 2015. But, hell, GTA5 ditched its release 3 times, so...
  • Hope everyone read the important note before downloading the preview.. Lets just "sit back and relax"
  • I'm sure someone out there will not read it, mess up their phone and still complain about it. :P
  • Hahaha..Pretty sure those comments will annoyed us later..
  • One-handed use: if you have a device with a screen of 5 inches or greater, it’s now easier to use your device with one hand. Press and hold the Start button and your screen will slide down so you can reach items at the top of your screen. To slide the screen back up, tap the black space at the top of the screen, or press and hold the Start button again. One-handed use will also naturally time out after several seconds and return to your regular view. This is for the hamburger haters/not-likers.
  • That's great, how do u know?
  • It says in the official announcement in the Windows Blog.
  • Though i don't have a 5 inch lumia.but these functions are great to have.Microsoft is onnn
  • hesitant to actually use this one on my Lumia 1020. travelling this weekend and planning on taking a lot of pictures. after the mess of the last build, where my phone could barely function I don't wanna risk it
  • Guys its still showing a previous build instead of the new one. what should I do now??
  • Revert to 8.1 and then update
  • I have this too! I'm still on 8.1, but my phone shows the previous build as an update instead of this one! How can I install the latest build?
  • Why u don't read official blog??anyways hard reset your phone then sign in for fast insider...u will get 10136
  • Uninstall your Windows I sider app and install it again and sign in with you insider account
  • What is better, downgrade it from 10080 to 8.1, restore backup, install 10136 or downgrade to 8.1, install it 10136, perform hard reset then restore backup or wait next TP build?
  • I would go with the first approach, but when all apps are restored I would uninstall the ones I really don't need before upgrading to 10136 build. The less apps you have, the less cluttering you face later.
  • It all depends on how brave you are :)
  • Let me know if this is the version I wanna install.
  • It is the version you wanna install...!!! (...and three hours later he bricked his phone!!! *TH3 END* ;) )
  • If you read the blog there is an issue with skype. It says to uninstall skype before installing and install it later after upgrading.
  • Yes yes yes
  • Noooh T_T
    I didn't roll back to Wp8.1
  • So your pohone is dead or what is happenig to it? Describe
  • OMG they implemented the slide down to reach for >5 inch devices!!! Woooot!
  • Am still seeing 10080 what will I do
  • Wait?
  • am on 10080 and Also i wait for next build. Without downgrading.
    i guess next build coming very soon. Due many users didn't downgrade their phone.
  • Do builds just update over each other, or do you need to uninstall.
  • Sweet, It's about time!!!
  • I need a cheap WP phone to play with these builds. I can install this one in two weeks the soonest, I can't afford any glitches atm :(
  • Still doesn't work for HTC 8x. I thought they were supposed to be adding more phones.
  • Best advice of 2015: sell any non nokia, non microsoft windows phone, and get a nokia or microsoft phone, thus Lumia, if you want good W10 experience
  • On my 920 next year, maybe.
  • Will never understand these regression bugs they run into. How did the migration screens break?
  • It's probably something they slap on each time everything is done and this time somebody forgot :D The migration atm is not the highest priority for them, I guess, when they found out only now.
  • My Phone got repaired 2 months ago, w10 was on it, I am actually glad they reverted it back for me
  • My Phone got repaired 2 months ago, w10 was on it, I am actually glad they reverted it back for me
  • Is it stable enough for lumia 1320?? Because i got some pixel issues in last build.
  • So if Gabe Aul stated that we could wait a week for them to fix the upgrade bug, does that mean there will be another build pushed out next week or as soon as they fix it??
  • There will not be a bug fix next week!
  • Gabe gave a choice of a week long bug fix or 8.1 roll back, not both!
  • I think you got it wrong... the first choice remains, there should be a fix in the coming week
  • fi-fi-finally!
  • Downloading and psyched that they're already anticipating the release of the next build without the hassle.  Can't come soon enough!   On my Blackberry devices, we sometimes get betas in bunches, within days or even hours of one another.  Onward and upward MS!  I do wish the restore would be more consistent and comprehensive though.  
  • Does it support otg now?! o.O
  • And again no Samsung support. F ** U MS
  • nah.. I got too excited until "If you are running the previous build offered to the Fast ring (10080) and you want to get this build you will need to go back to Windows Phone 8.1 via the Windows Phone Recovery Tool first" if only my USB Data Connection which isn't and I haven't gone to a nokia/microsoft center. I can charge but I can't sync nor transfer data using USB. so a let done for me. I think I need to wait a little longer.
  • I'm having same problem... htc one m8 with 10080, device won't recognize on windows 7, 8.1, or windows 10 desktops (I have a computer shop with access to any OS to try it on). Some devices won't even recognize it's plugged in, other devices just see unknown device in device manager (and it almost always only even gets that far in phone's recovery mode) Phone recovery tool won't see the phone, numerous hard resets wont revert to 8.1... guess I'm stuck until update comes..
  • installing on my 640XL
  • If am at 10056, can i upgrade?
  • Exactly what about those on build 10051(.56) and 10052(.59)  
  • Yes you can, but first downgrade to w8.1 via WPRT, the new version is 2.1.1 and I havent used it yet...With WPRT 1.2.1 and 1.2.4 I had a problem to roll back ym lumia 620, killed the phone. Now Im going to upgrade my lumia 630 to this new 10136 build. If it kills the phone, I will never again buy a WP EVER!
  • As I type this, I'm at "Preparing to Install 60%" on my Lumia Icon.  I'll let other Icon owners know if there are any major issues when I'm completed.  I'm willing to be your Guiney Pig, so if you have a Lumia Icon and are on the fence about whether you should upgrade (test) Windows 10 Mobile, I'll be happy to share here when everything is completed.  Check back for more information....
  • Haha.. Good guy Nola. :)
  • Thank you...much appreciated...I'm on 10080 now and it's working ok-ish. If this build performs better i might revert back and do the upgrade.
  • Thank you so much! Please let us know asap! 10080 was a showstopper for me so I'm riding the fence until I hear more!
  • Tha ks NOLATechy, apreciated plz let us know i also have LUMIA ICON ;-)
  • OK, sorry for the delay folks, but I had a major CATASTROPHY!  I dropped my Lumia Icon shortly after the upgrade to Windows 10 and shattered my screen.  (Funeral services are being held.  In lieu of flowers, please purchase apps from the Windows Store in memory of Iconia - lol) Fortunately I have insurance and they are sending me a new phone that I should receive today.  I do plan to upgrade to Windows 10 again on the new phone once I receive it, but for the moment, I'm stuck reverting to my LAGDROID Samsung Galaxy Nexus. Results of Windows 10 upgrade: First, when you upgrade from Windows 8.1 to Windows 10 (Build 10136), there is one thing you MUST do.  There will be a long wait once the phone restarts before the date/time will show up on the lock screen.  DO NOT TOUCH THE PHONE UNTIL THE DATE/TIME SHOWS UP!  THIS IS IMPORTANT!!!  DO NOT TOUCH THE PHONE UNTIL THE DATE/TIME SHOWS UP.  Usually when you do an upgrade, you will see the progressive bar showing the "migrating apps", etc.  This is not showing up in this upgrade version and you will only see the lock screen until it completes.  Gabe has stated that if you try to unlock the phone or mess with it while in this process, you could cause the phone to work very poorly.  Again DO NOT TOUCH THE PHONE UNTIL THE DATE/TIME SHOWS UP ON THE LOCK SCREEN! The upgrade process will take a considerable amount of time if you have a lot of apps on your phone.  It took me almost 2 hours to complete the upgrade.  I HIGHLY suggest you UNINSTALL as many apps from Windows 8.1 as possible (or if you are downgrading from Window 10 Build 10080, DON'T reinstall any apps until AFTER you upgrade to Windows 10 Build 10136).  Here's why...Upgrade to Windows 10 will probably go a lot quicker.  The second reason is that most of the apps I had installed on my Lumia Icon did NOT have a live tile on the start menu and for whatever reason, I COULD NOT add those apps to the start screen.  I had to UNINSTALL the app first, reinstall the app from the Store and then I could add the app to the start screen.  (Get why I'm saying uninstall apps first?) When I first installed, I noticed the phone was getting pretty hot, but that might be because it was doing a lot of processing during the upgrade.  After a little while, the phone did cool down considerably.  I did still notice a lot of ......loading..... again when trying to get back to apps or the start screen from another app, so it is still a bit "laggy" in transitioning from app to app or app to start menu.  Otherwise, the phone works rather well. I had intended to test the bluetooth, WiFi, network capabilities, but as previously stated, CATASTROPHY!   I intend to reinstall Windows 10 Build 10136 when I receive my replacement Lumia Icon from the Insurance and will continue my testing and let everyone know the results.  However, in my opinion, I would still NOT recommend this build if you plan to install it on your everyday driver phone.  It's cool if you have a secondary phone (as I do - previously stated Samsung Galaxy Nexus) that you can use as your primary phone.  But, if not, I would stick with Windows 8.1 for now.  Gabe did say a newer version would be released once they fix the upgrade issue and perhaps they will address this "previously loaded apps not pinning to the start menu" problem in the next build. More to come....
  • Seriously I was going to post a reply asking if you had issues and if everything was alright since we didn't get an update but figured it would seem a little to pushy Sorry for your loss... With what you posted I will wait for the next build with he upgrade bug fixed. I am running 10080 on my everyday driver ICON and it is running ok, for now. THANKS!!! for being the guinea pig
  • Installing now on a Lumia 640XL. I'm running factory Windows 8.1 and this is my first Insider update (on this device). I've done this before in the past.    If it blows up I still have other phones.
  • Install Important Update An important update is ready to install. Your phone will update automatically if you don't install the update by 6/20/2015 3:00AM. You won't be able to use your phone while the update installs. This should take 5 to 10 minutes, but could take longer. Insider Fast configuration update. Windows 10 Technical Preview for phones (10.0.12634.131).
  • Hey guys how do i find out which build i am updating to??
  • If i get my phone downgraded i'll keep W8.1.1 ...Go home Gabe "U R drunk!"
  • Since i'm still on WP8 and didn't get official WP8.1.1 i was hoping for WP10 today. But again MS has failed me. SO THERE WILL BE VIDEO ON YOUTUBE HOW I'M DESTROYNG MY ATIV S. Take my money Apple
  • Its called trolling
  • Poor guy.. Blame Samsung for that..
  • ^this.
  • My 920 shows that build 10.0.12634.131 is available. Went back to 8.1 yesterday!
  • Good luck :D
  • Yes, there is something strange going on about Build 12634 being offered. Unfortunately I installed that version by mistake. Gabe Aul says it's the same as 10080 Build. I'll see what happens once it's finished installing on my Lumia 920.
  • Hmm, I actually did get an upgrade to something which is newer than 10080. It says 10136 in the About window! The upgrade notification text was wrong, that's all.
  • say nothing for a l920 in uk on 3 network  
  • Can I turn off cellular data now? Also, is it safe to install on a primary device?
  • My phone shows build 10080 as available, not the new 10136, how can can I make my phone check for updates again?
  • Why u don't read official blog??anyways hard reset your phone then sign in for fast insider...u will get 10136
  • Did you mean you're on 8.1 but still being offered the 10080 build?
  • Pics or it didn't happen!
  • Does anyone have some magic words to how to downgrade to Wp8.1 without pc  ̄ˍ ̄
  • Not possible.  You will need the Lumia Software Recovery Tool on your PC, connect your phone via USB, and then download and install WP8.1 back to your device.  That is the only way to revert back to WP8.1 from WP10 Preview.
  • Rolled back to Wp 8.1 update and received update just now.    After update now OS version 10.0.101360.0.   is this correct ?
  • I'm getting 12562.84. You got too many digits there?
  • FFS I'm trying to upgrade my Lumia 530 but not working.  Rolled back to 8.1 first as required and now upgrade got stuck at 60% of preparing to install because the phone memory is at 0.  After a while it timed out and said clear some space.  Unfortunately there is nothing to clear.    
  • Same problem here :(
  • have you hard reset or uninstall apps on your phone before upgrading?
  • Not working for myself either. I'm trying to restore back to 8.1 w/ Denim, then redo it from there. This is my 3rd attempt and it's really testing my patience.
  • Me too.  It seems that the 530 just doesn't have enough space.  I had some trouble with previous builds too but was able to get around them with some jiggery-pokery but I'm about 100 MB short for this one.  It looks like we'll have to wait for a smaller build or one that can make use of the SD card during installation.  That last feature will be present at RTM but who knows when they'll actually add it in.  I want to provide feedback to Microsoft to add that as soon as possible but I'm not sure where if not via the phone itself.
  • I've added a thread here about this issue  http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/insider/forum/insider_wintp-insider_u... Hopefully it is the right place to let them know about this and get some help
     
  • Sounds like the trick of getting 8.1 update 2 is gone.
  • Installing on my spare 928. Build 10080 was way to unstable.
  • currently unable to check for updates  
  • I'll pass this one as I'm not going to revert back to 8.1 just to upgrade to this build. I'll hold on to 10080 this the upgrade bug is fixed.
  • can neone help me by letting me know wat the os version is for this build..? im currently on 8.1 update 2 ..so should i revert back?
  • My apolgogies if I'm being really dumb but how do I know what version I have, I see on the MS post announcing 10080 the following:
    "We’re releasing Build 10080 of the Windows 10 Technical Preview for phones to the Fast ring today (will show as 10.0.12562.84 in Settings > System > About)"
    How does one make the leap from 10.0.12562.84 to 10080???  I guess I can see 10.0.12562.80... This is relevant as I may need to go back to 8.1 first! Thanks, Longtrail
  • Ha! Just posted the same!
  • This could how they made sure this build wasn't offered to people already on build 10080, by offering a build with a lower version number and then removing 10080 from flighting? All speculation of course!
  • 930 successfully updated to 10136. I had reverted to Windows 8.1 after 10080 had completely failed to reboot.
  • Even worse than 10080 for me. Just updated and can't even get passed the lockscreen. The lockscreen is completely broken. Great... Edit: The lockscreen finally activated, it must've been doing the data migration without actually giving me the screen..
  • Same to me. How long data migration had taken? On mine there is no even settings app, and it advises to download it from the Store, which is not present as well.   Lumia 830
  • About a good 5 minutes. I'm not running into the missing settings problem though.
  • That was started clearly in aul's blog post
  • Well excuse me for not seeing what was "started" on the blog post, you better lower your voice pal...nah I kid. But on a serious note, I jumped the gun, however, it all worked out in the end.
  • How long did you let it sit?  With this build they mentioned that there's a screen missing while it the install is finishing, so you end up seeing the lockscreen without the time & date. you're best off waiting for the time/date to show up on the lock screen before trying to use it, if you don't you may get into a weird state as the OS is still completing the install
  • Yeah I waited about 5 minutes and did a reboot and the time eventually popped up. Thanks for the help.
  • Correct.  Gabe stated that this would happen.  The normal "migrating apps...." screen did not show up in this upgrade, but it takes place in the background while the lock screen is showing up.  You have to wait until the date/time shows up on the lock screen before trying to access the phone, or it could cause issues, as stated by Gabe.
  • What's the build number? Is it 10.0.12562.84? Need to be sure it won't give me 10080 again.
  • I'm waiting for an answer to this too. I upgraded my L930 to 8.1 update 2 a while back via the insider app, but have been ignoring the subsequent W10 update notifications. I've now let the upgrade process start, but it has downloaded the 12562.84 build and I don't know if this is actually the one I want (not that I can do much about it short of a reset if it isn't the right one).
  • reseted my fone (920)on update 2 n chkd fr updates by installing windows insider app again..n got update build no as (10.0.12564.0) ..gues ds s it for 13160 build.....was showin 10.0.12562.84 before reseting on fast ring updates ..hop it helps
  • I'm feeling kamikaze! Lets install it on my main 930 and pray. Last release was unusable. Went back to 8.1 in less than 2 hours. Was the start screen problem from 10080 fixed?    
  • I m going to make a backup first and remove most apps I really never use. The app reinstallation process after upgrading is a real pain ..
  •               
  • Weird...
    I had Denim, on my Lumia Icon.
    When I updated to 10136, it said "Welcome to Lumia Cyan".
    JJ
  • I got that one too LOL
  • I got that on the 10080 build. Check your Extras+Info section in Settings. It will be blank but if you tap the info icon it will bring you to the Denim website.
  • Anybody knows how i can recheck for updates. My phone update settings is stuck in the previous build. I didn't download it. Now i can't check for updates to get the new build.
  • It's not even unstable.  Downgrading now... It's more polished, but still very much unusable. Lumia 930
  • Did you try the hardreset after upgrading?  
  • Yes. And after that the "Start" screen went missing :( Downgrade complete.
  • works great on Lumia 1520, but then again I did not have much issues as others in the last update. I never downgrade, since I started on tech preview, never had a reason 
  • My Lumia 535 still stuck on build 10.0.12534.59, didn't get any update . I had soft reset and rechoosing fast ring on windows insider app. Anyone know how to solve it?
  • Just updated to the new build on Lumia 920. I have to "play" with it a bit to see if there is something wrong. Two questions though :   1. On the IE icon, now writes @\Programs\Interr (it is not visible how it continues) and I can't start IE. Is anyone having the same issue? 2. On the lock screen, just beside the time there is a little horse head. Does anyone know what is this?
  • Is this build not using more battery power?
  • My phone dont have the update yet..
  • At first I as very happy withis build due to the performance and fixed issues.,   However after using it for the past 6 hours I'm very dissapointed and will be rolling back.  Issues that werent present in the previous build are no there.    1.  Can't open music app fails to install 2.  All new apps in beta store fail to insall and go in retry state 3.  No vibrate or sound notifications for text messges 4.  Most apps wont uninstall 5..Missing Navigation settings for phones with On Screen Soft Keys 
  • Have you tried reseting once you was on the latest build
  • too many issuse for me. start screen items not restored: messaging app, and every person i had pinned. then pinned one and it wasn't on the start scrween, but thought it was pinned. wifi settings not restored. i had to set it up again. cortana notifications not working. quiet hour settings not restored. had to set it up again, then wasn't able to add anyone to the breakthrough list. back to update 2 and wait for the next build.
  • When is the slow ring build coming?
  • wait and watch..
  • When slow ring user gets this version?
  • I Upgraded my L930, evreything was ok until it started restarting, now performing a reset. Hope it gets better
  • After reseting, Restart issue fixed  new store is updating all apps  Music app is working Notification showing for incoming msg UI is more stable and fluid  And everything is almost fine  except it seems like its using more battery, maybe its updating all aps and using the internet too much Happy with new build  I recommend you guys to RESET your device after upgrading
  • Reset?? That means all my app data would be erased, ryt!? Then what's the point in upgrading to this build??
  • no if you haave a backup in onedrive (device backup) but yea the saved games and chat history, stuffs like that would be lost and something is always lost before we discover something new ;P  
  • Hard reset?
  • No reset from your phone which is in general settings -> about it gives you more stability i did and im happy that im gonna use it as my primary os now coz its amazing
  • hard reset or soft reset after update?
  • Much better than 10080. My issues - so far:
    - Lost all my folders. Apps that were in the folders can not be re-pinned to the start page, since the phone thinks they are already pinned (in the lost folders).
    - IE is missing - with all my pinned shortcuts to different web pages
    - Most of the live tiles do not update anymore
    - The app name and icons are missing in the list of background apps (there is a list with blank icons without names - impossible to know which one to modify)
    - Cannot customize ring tones
    - Cannot customize notification sound
    - Some apps constantly crash
    - In some apps the fonts are now really blurry
    - OneDrive does not show any files - just folder names
    - Calendar does not sync anymore
    - Live lockscreen data does not update
    - Still some "Loading ..." and "Resuming ..." screens But I think I can actually use the phone on a daily basis (but I am not a heavy user). EDIT:
    I did reset my phone several times, re-installed apps, re-pinned app, etc. Still have all the problems listed above
  • if you resent once after the upgrade its much better
  • OK, I cannot use the phone on a daily basis. The phone is also losing the network connection to my mobile phone service provider ...
    Back to 8.1
  • I accidentally stumbled upon a workaround for the folders not showing on my L1520...Here is what I did
    - On you start screen, pick any one tile and try to create a new folder by dropping it on to the other tile
    - It will create a folder, however, now you will see additional tiles which were part of an earlier folder also
    - The folder will not have any name...so rename it to whatever you had it earler
    - repeat the steps till the time you are able to find all the folders You are good to go now...Hope that helps!
  • and AGAIN this NEW Version is NOT GOOD. OK MORE STABLE BUT NOT FOR FIRST DEVICE :(
  • After i upgraded to the latest build and finished the setup I'm receiving Loading. I waited like 30 minutes and nothing happened. I'm using Lumia 930
  • Anyone knows how to fix the tiles?? i turned off the the " show more tiles " but nothing changed
  • Hey All, I'm running a Lumia 520. I first ran the update for 10136 from 8.1 and tried it out. There are lots of issues. 1. Start screen - cannot resize or move tiles for the most part. Could not add new apps to start 2. Apps and settings never launch (email accounts wouldn't launch, some other stuff) 3. Super slow and sluggish I didn't want to give up on the build so I backed up my photos, music , etc to my PC from both the phone storage and the SD card. Then I went to about, and chose to reset the device wiping both the internal and sd storage. The process took about a half hour. Afterwards I set the device up like new and did not restore from backup. My text messages came down so I really didn't lose anything critical. At this point I've been using the phone all day for work and it is doing well. Start screen is customizable, phone works, messaging, email, etc seems fine. It is a bit sluggish but I am on a 520. If you want to give it a run , I say do it, but definitely reset the device and get a clean slate with Win10TP.
  • UPDATE: After several hours the Phone app would no longer launch. Tried a reboot but no good. Facebook quit working too. Pretty strange how things work fine and then stop. Ultimately I rolled back. I get my 1520 in the mail today. May try it on there as I've seen some say that it has fewer issues. Oh well, hopefully next week we see 1014x
  • Windows Central app live tile doesn't work.
  • I am trying to install this build. And the spinning gears are running for some time , then a sad smiley appears :-( like this. Then again the process starts from the beginning. Do anyone know the reason and fix for this? Please help.........
  • ☹ AS ASAAASSSSX WAS =.=,
  • Well, I now have a completely bricked 1520! Restoring back to 8.1 stuffed it
  • LUMIA 630 here. I had wp8.1 with Denim. I hard-resetted the phone, after that I uninstalled all apps, manually, that could have been uninstalled. I updated phone (tnx to windows insider app) to something that precedes build 10136, but is definitely not build 10080. Phone finished update, after rigs, sim pin screen popped up, I enterred my pin code and started to explore the OS. To my SURPRISE no blank screen nor black screen issue happened. All works - WIFI, notifications, action centre, settings tile gets you to settings, which I heard will not do. I began to be sceptical. how come it feels like a fully working OS? In February, the first build killed my lumia 620 instantly after I tried to downgrade via WPRT 1.2.X (WFRT 1.2.4 did not help at all = phone is DEAD) PS-the new version is 2.1.1 Now, The background is a diver in the sea, stock, the only app I have is the Windows Insider app (great to see it) all seems to work. I, after trying all from personalisation to deep settings, have not tried music app and store beta (nor the classic store app) and went to phone update. I got an update, this made me feel uncomfortable, since I supposed I already am done. NOPE Phone gets update really quick (unlike the previous update, that, dowload/install, took approximately 1 hour and 10 minutes for me. Now I AGAIN see the wheels grinding as I write. I expect the unresponsive screen without date/time indicators. I will wait not 10, but 15 or 20minutes, to be sure!!! OK, this is what happened. This update/installation lasted for 10-15minutes. After, again sim pin validation and the lock screen AGAIN immediately with date/time +  a brown green background with leaves. AGAIN the diver background and only my 1 app windows insider. PHONE WAS ALWAYS CONNECTED TO PC, NEVER WAS HOT. This time, the WIFI rememberred my settings. CAMERA, calculator...work. Everything seems to work. although if you press an app, it takes, on the L630, like 2-3seconds to load. In wp8.1 this was only 1 second. Windows maps, music need to be installed? they are already installed. Now I see the Store BETA will be a problem. Going to do a HARD RESET.   EDIT: You need to install or update apps like music (17.2 MB) - funny thing, maybe only my case, is, that from 1.5Mb to 17.2Mb it jumped like in 2seconds - indication was wrong. People hub shows people normally. There are two "phone" apps - one has a bigger phone picture in tile and doesnt work. The one with the msaller phone is working. So does "search", too. SEARCH is btw Cortana - speech to text works but aside that, IT DOES NOT WORK. I probably need to setup some things.  In photos I got my onedrive saves immediately. PROJECT SPARTAN works just great. Stock FB app works as usual. Stock Weather app doesnt work. In Store you have some updates. Everything needs to be updated to work.
  • EDIT 2 : In settings/notifications & actions, there is a screen glitsch - looks weird, but the settings there work. Language keyboard cannot be updated, nor some other apps - this is the biggest flaw so far. In both Store and Store BETA, soem apps cannot be updated OR downloaded OR they start to download after repeated tries. Messenger for FB - could download at 3rd try. OneDrive and Video app wont install no matter what.
  • Lock screen image canot be changed even after soft reset, battery saver doesnt show usage of apps. Seems as another HARD RESET, to me. Battery doesnt drain any more then with wp8.1. Seems, the phone is downloading many things in the background. Weather app cannot be set as lock screen background either. Windows still cant be slided up, only down, to dismiss them. The stupidest thing is this - a tile that contains more apps/tiles, once pressed at the visible part of the screen at bottom, the tiles that come out are nor prioritized by the screen, thus you get an open aand empty tile and the ones you want are not shown unless you manually scroll down. Imagine this like you open a web page that opens up in another bookmark, but in a phone, it is frustrating.  
  • in settings, personalisatio, lock screen, show quick status is "YSTEM" shoul this not be "system" ? in settings, keyboard settings, there is another glitch in appearance whe selecting off/left-right handed usage
  • A second hard reset  a day after updating of build 10136 made something better, something worse and something that wasnt there the 1st hard reset. For example, time doesnt display a 24h option, only 12hours, but that changes after some time. A new app "contact support" is present, has option to uninstall, but doesnt do it. Search/Cortana does not have the double icon/tile, but phone still does have. Store beta is stell a laggy mess, but seems to me a little bit faster than before. Everythign seems to more faster. Cortana still present as "Search" though I doubt that is Cortana and it still doesnt work - it works in terms of opening up and writing something, but aside that, nope nope NOPE. Still a shame the response after pressing a tile is slow like 2-3 seconds. FEW LAST WORDS: hard rest and soft reset is the KEY to making this work. After each of the 2 MUST hard resets, wait for the apps, sync...to do its thing updating. You dont notice it, but the phone, via WIFI, does at least 30mins of adjustments SO LET IT BE!
  • Well, I updated my phone to the new build, but it's extremely buggy and slow on my L920. So I decided to downgrade, but when I try to downgrade, it offers me to 'reinstall' the same build. Now I can't downgrade (I guess). Does anyone know a solution?
  • i was installing windows 10 from windows 8.1, i did the proccess as said in the page and the bar with the gears filled up completely, then my phone restarts with the cogs and keeps restarting preseting a cogs spinning. i unpluged my phone and it never turn on again by itself. if i press the power buttom it shows up the nokia logo, and the spinning cogs again for like 1 minute the turn off again.   plz help
  • OK maybe I am thick but how do i check what version i am on. Using Settings>System>About> More I see OS Build 10.0.10586.107 Surely that is newer than10136   Ah just spotted the problem. What a pain,  Email arrives today subject "Windows 10 Mobile Insider preview build 10136 is now available!" why this is from a year ago. what a daft thing. who sends thesea nd why Cheers