Battlefield 2042 Hazard ZoneSource: Electronic Arts Inc.

EA and DICE's Battlefield titles have traditionally been some of the best Xbox shooters available on the platform, and that trend looks like it's going to continue with Battlefield 2042. Featuring support for up to 128 players, tons of new weapons, vehicles, and gadgets, creative new gameplay modes and experiences, and more, Battlefield 2042 is one of the most exciting games of 2021.

Depending on which edition of the game you buy and which timezone you're in, access to Battlefield 2042 will open at a different time. Here's everything you need to know about Battlefield 2042's launch time, including when you'll be able to play in each region, what the game's download size is, when you can begin preloading the game ahead of launch, and more.

All-out warfare

Battlefield 2042

Battlefield 2042

Battlefield goes back to the future

Battlefield 2042 debuts Electronic Arts' next-generation vision for the military shooter, supporting up to 128 players, the largest-ever maps, devastatingly destructive weather systems, and more.

What is Battlefield 2042?

Battlefield 2042Source: Electronic Arts

Battlefield 2042 is the latest entry in the legendary Battlefield franchise that gives players the opportunity to work with and against each other using a huge variety of military weapons, weapon attachments, gadgets, vehicles, aircraft, and other pieces of equipment. Battlefield has traditionally focused on "all-out warfare" on large maps with up to 64 players, but Battlefield 2042 is expanding that player count to 128 on both next-gen consoles and Windows PCs.

In addition to standard Battlefield fanfare, Battlefield 2042 is also introducing two new modes: Battlefield 2042 Hazard Zone and Battlefield Portal. The former is a squad-based battle royale-style experience with an emphasis on tight communication and effective teamwork, while the latter is a customizable experience that allows players to mix-and-match characters, classes, equipment, and maps from old Battlefield games (and 2042) together in silly, action-packed mayhem.

Another unique addition that sets the game apart from its predecessors is the Battlefield 2042 Specialists system. This system replaces Battlefield's usual classes with characters that have specific abilities and traits. Battlefield 2042 also has a plus system for swapping weapon attachments on the fly, as well as a vehicle call-in system for having ground vehicles air dropped to your location on the battlefield. Of course, Battlefield 2042 also comes with plenty of new weapons, attachments, gadgets, and vehicles.

Battlefield 2042 release date and launch time

Battlefield 2042 CosmeticsSource: Electronic Arts

Battlefield 2042 is currently slated to release on Xbox, PlayStation, and Windows PCs on Nov. 19, 2021. However, for players who choose to get a Gold Edition or Ultimate Edition of a Battlefield 2042 preorder, early access will unlock the game on Nov. 12, 2021.

Note that while Battlefield 2042 is releasing at similar times globally on these dates, the differences between various timezones means that Battlefield 2042's unlock time will be considerably different depending on where you live. Below are the official times when Battlefield 2042 will unlock for PC players:

Region Launch time
Los Angeles 12 a.m. PST
Mexico City 2 a.m. CST
New York 3 a.m. EST
Sao Paulo 5 a.m. BRT
London 8 a.m. GMT
Stockholm/Berlin 9 a.m. CET
Moscow 11 a.m. MSK
Beijing 4 p.m. CST
Hong Kong 4 p.m. HKT
Tokyo 5 p.m. JST
Sydney 7 p.m. AEDT

Note that for both Xbox and PlayStation players, access to Battlefield 2042 will begin at local midnight time.

Battlefield 2042 download size

Battlefield 2042 Hazard ZoneSource: Electronic Arts

Battlefield 2042 is a relatively large game, but it's not anything too crazy compared to some other shooters in recent years. Here's the download size for Battlefield 2042 on each platform:

  • Xbox Series X|S: 51.42GB
  • Xbox One: 27.60GB
  • PS5: 42.71GB
  • PS4: Expected 25-30GB
  • PC: 47.46GB

Note that there will also be a 9.4GB day one patch deployed to Battlefield 2042 on all platforms when the game goes live.

Battlefield 2042 preload date and time

Battlefield 2042Source: Electronic Arts

Like most other AAA releases, Battlefield 2042 will be available to preload ahead of the game's early access and full launch on Nov. 12 and Nov. 19, respectively. Here's when Battlefield 2042 will become available to preload on each platform:

  • Xbox Nov. 6, 7 a.m. UTC
  • PlayStation Nov. 10, midnight local time
  • PC: Nov. 10, 10 a.m. UTC

We may earn a commission for purchases using our links. Learn more.