Skip to main content

Meet Rainbow Six Siege Steel Wave Operators Ace and Melusi

Rainbow Six Siege Melusi Leak Trailer
Rainbow Six Siege Melusi Leak Trailer (Image credit: @r6Leak on Twitter)

Rainbow Six Siege Melusi

Source: Ubisoft (Image credit: Source: Ubisoft)

Ubisoft is soon scheduled to unveil Tom Clancy Rainbow Six Siege's next seasonal update, titled Operation Steel Wave. The next update shaking up the tactical shooter marks the arrival of new Operators and a reworked map, delivering the second of four major expansions on the roadmap for Year 5. And while details surrounding Steel Wave remain scarce, recently securing its first teaser, it appears both new Operators have surfaced online — Ace and Melusi.

While Ubisoft's initial reveal provided a dark silhouette of the latest duo, we've now received a one-minute trailer, spotlighting the new identities for both Operators. Ace appears to be the new Norwegian attacker (and rumored hard breacher) shown navigating an elevator shaft with a background in firefighting or search and rescue. His appearance wraps with a tease of his ability, stating "There's no chasm too wide, no wall too thick, that will stop me from bringing you home."

Melusi channels her African origins in the savanna grasslands, scaling flora and scouting the region. We also see a pulsing visual distortion, seemingly some form of shockwave, which may allude to rumors of a device capable of slowing enemies and tagging gadgets.

The video also wraps with the reveal date for Steel Wave, seemingly shifted one day after the expected May 17 live stream. Following the cancellation of the Pro League Season XI Finals in São Paulo, the original host to the Steel Wave reveal panel, it appears Ubisoft has shifted to Monday, May 18 at 12 PM ET / 9 AM PT / 5 PM BST / 6 PM CEST.

If Rainbow Six Siege Steel Wave remains on schedule, uncertain in current times, expect the update to release next month. With a reveal on May 18, followed by around three weeks of Test Server availability, the update should hit PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC around June 9, 2020.

Rich Edmonds
Rich Edmonds

Rich Edmonds is Senior Editor of PC hardware at Windows Central, covering everything related to PC components and NAS. He's been involved in technology for more than a decade and knows a thing or two about the magic inside a PC chassis. You can follow him over on Twitter at @RichEdmonds.