Skip to main content

Summer Game Fest showcase set go live today on June 9, 2022

Summer Game Fest
Summer Game Fest (Image credit: Summer Game Fest)

What you need to know

  • Summer Game Fest will go live on June 9, 2022.
  • The game showcase will be hosted by Geoff Keighley and will feature new reveals and updates.
  • The showcase is being held today at 11:00 a.m. PT / 2:00 p.m. ET.

Tonight, one of the biggest gaming conferences of 2022, Summer Game Fest will go live on June 9, 2022 at 11:00 a.m. PT / 2:00 p.m. ET / 7:00 p.m. GMT / 4:00 a.m. AEST. The event will be streamed on various live streaming and social media platforms. Also, for the first time ever, Summer Games Fest will appear in IMAX Theaters, providing gamers a means to witness the new announcements in person. 

According to VGC, Geoff Keighley has stated this year's event will focus on news updates for games that have already been announced. These include official gameplay reveals for The Callisto Protocol, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, Gotham Knights, Cuphead; The Delicious Last Course, and Street Fighter 6 among many others. 

However, even though Keighley has told fans to curb their expectations, we will be expecting brand new games to make their reveal during the show. 

Keighley, who also hosts Opening Night Live at Gamescom and The Game Awards, began hosting Summer Game Fest starting in 2020. In 2021, the Summer Game Fest showcase included several different games, most notably with the long-awaited arrival of FromSoftware and Bandai Namco's Elden Ring.

Meanwhile, the ESA has officially canceled E3 2022, while promising to make a return in 2022. The organization previously confirmed that there would be no physical event for E3 2022, but left the possibility of a digital event open.

This is the second major showcase slated for June 2022, as Microsoft already confirmed that the Xbox and Bethesda Games Showcase will be held on June 12, 2022. The event is almost certainly going to feature some big games coming up such as Starfield from Bethesda Game Studios. Other showcases could be announced as the month of June draws closer.

While the exact participants have changed through the years, publishers such as Ubisoft and Nintendo also traditionally hold a major showcase over the summer. Electronic Arts, which broke away from E3 branding years ago to form its own EA Play events, has confirmed that it will not be holding a showcase in the summer.

Samuel Tolbert is a freelance writer covering gaming news, previews, reviews, interviews and different aspects of the gaming industry, specifically focusing on Xbox and PC gaming on Windows Central. You can find him on Twitter @SamuelTolbert.