How to remove 'Windows Insider Program' from Settings on Windows 10

Microsoft created the Windows Insider Program to allow enthusiasts and developers to test early preview builds of Windows 10 in exchange for feedback to help the company improve the operating system.

Anyone wanting to test upcoming features and willing to submit suggestions can quickly enroll a computer to the program by using the "Windows Insider Program" settings page. However, if you're not interested or you're sharing your computer, and you want to prevent other people from enrolling the device, it's possible to remove the option from the Settings app.

In this Windows 10 guide, we'll walk you through the steps to edit the Registry to remove the "Windows Insider Program" option from the Settings app.

How to remove 'Windows Insider Program' from Settings

Important: As always, this is a friendly reminder warning you know that editing the registry is risky, and it can cause irreversible damage to your installation if you don't do it correctly. It's recommended to make a full backup of your computer before proceeding.

  1. Use the Windows key + R keyboard shortcut to open the Run command.
  2. Type regedit, and click OK to open the registry.
  3. Browse the following path:HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\WindowsSelfHost\UI\Visibility
  4. On the right side, right-click, select New, and click on DWORD (32-bit) Value.

  1. Name the DWORD HideInsiderPage and press Enter.
  2. Double-click the newly created DWORD and change the value from 0 to 1.

  1. Click OK.
  2. Close the Registry to complete the task.

Once you completed the steps, open Settings (Windows key + I), click on Update & security, and you should no longer see the Windows Insider Program at the bottom of the list.

Settings with "Windows Insider Program" (left), Settings without "Windows Insider Program" (right)

At any time, if you want to participate in the Insider program, you can always revert the changes by following the steps mentioned above, but on steps 6 change the DWORD HideInsiderPage value from 1 to 0.

More Windows 10 resources

For more help articles, coverage, and answers on Windows 10, you can visit the following resources:

Mauro Huculak is technical writer for WindowsCentral.com. His primary focus is to write comprehensive how-tos to help users get the most out of Windows 10 and its many related technologies. He has an IT background with professional certifications from Microsoft, Cisco, and CompTIA, and he's a recognized member of the Microsoft MVP community.

10 Comments
  • I prefer to run the risk and help build a better OS but it is nice to see you guys write helpful articles like this.
  • I don't understand one thing. The insider programme is for people who wanna really help out (like me). What's the point of removing it ?! You either use it or don't right?
    .
    1) Microsoft should still have a legit "warning" for people who find using a PC difficult or don't know much, so that they don't "accidently" enroll.
    2) This setting should be shifted to some sort of advanced settings in the settings app and not shown along the normal update settings.
  • This could be useful for my domain machines. Never had it become an issue yet but JUST in case, it could be smart to disable it. Going to turn this into a GPO now. Good thinking, Windows Central. Please keep doing articles like this!
  • Indeed! This can be quite useful on some PCs especially when you need to restrict the machine on environment where user error is more susceptible, even its less likely.
  • or just re-install vanilla windows 10 ... way easier and most people shouldn't be playing with the registry 
  • Exactly, the registry is a powerful tool in the right hands but can cause a huge amount of damage if used incorrectly. That's why I never recommend that the average user does any of this.
  • Plain Windows 10 has this setting showing up as of build 10586 (Threshold 2 update). If you don't want it to show up, you would have to install the Windows 10 verison released in July 2015 and disconnect internet on that device.
  • Registry edit.. If something goes bad then we will end up dead system..
  • I don't get why people would be bothered by a tab in the Setting menu to the point of needing to remove it! And risk breaking something in future updates too.
  • Doesn't work...