The October 2018 Update (version 1809) is the second semi-annual feature update and the sixth major refresh for Windows 10 that introduces a new set of improvements and features around productivity, performance, and security, including the highly requested dark theme for File Explorer and new cloud clipboard.

In addition, this release includes two new built-in apps, including Your Phone and Snip & Sketch. Microsoft Edge and Windows Security receive several improvements, and a lot more.

Although this is another significant update designed to improve the overall experience, no every device is upgrading to the new version without stumbling into glitches, as many frustrated users have been reporting many problems with the update.

In this Windows 10 guide, we'll highlight some of the complaints users are shouting with the October 2018 Update.

Windows 10 October 2018 Update problems and complaints

Here are some of the most important problems and complaints from users moving to the newest version of Windows 10:

Install problems with Windows 10 version 1809

As per usual, the biggest complaints with the Windows 10 October 2018 Update are regarding installation.

Missing files after upgrade fiasco

Although hiccups during the early days of a new version of Windows 10 are expected, nobody expected to click the Install button only to return after the upgrade to find out that their files were completely gone.

Shortly after the company announced the availability of the October update, as manually download, a small number of frustrated users started reporting that the upgrade process deleted their documents, pictures, videos, and other personal files.

At the official Microsoft forums, Robert Ziko reported:

I have just updated my Windows using the October update (10, version 1809) it deleted all my files of 23 years in the amount of 220gb. This is unbelievable, I have been using Microsoft products since 1995, and nothing like that ever happened to me.

On Reddit, users tksn said:

I downloaded the assistant, and it started downloading. When I woke up this morning the download AND the install had finished (might be a bit scary to some, but okay - I was going to upgrade anyway). I then proceeded to go about my daily routine. Upon opening my music mixing program, I noticed something strange. Some of the packaged content had disappeared, and so had my user library. Upon further inspection of the containing folders ("C:\Users\Public\Documents" and "C:\Users\user\Documents") the files had suddenly completely vanished.

Also on Reddit, user mrStov3 shared a similar story:

I finished the update and restarted my PC. Upon arriving at the desktop, I quickly realized that several files and programs were missing. I grabbed a cold beer in anticipation of the rage to follow. Programs like Spotify and Discord were gone (no big deal, re-downloaded) but I also found that all of my Rainmeter skins and files were COMPLETELY gone, along with EVERYTHING FROM PICTURES AND DOCUMENTS.

On Windows Central, one of our readers (anon(10531315)) said:

Happened to me yesterday. "Documents" folder was emptied on my T470 laptop, and the files were nowhere to be found. Fortunately, everything was backed up on a NAS.

The missing files after upgrading bug is perhaps the biggest and most serious problem found in this new version, and it was so significant that even forced Microsoft to stop the rollout.

Thankfully, the problem now has been fixed, and the October 2018 Update should no longer delete files after the upgrade.

The only caveat is that the fixes will not recover your files. If you upgraded to the October 2018 Update before the fixes were available and your files were deleted, you'll need to contact the company directly at +1-800-MICROSOFT or find a local number in your area. Although the Microsoft support team will help you recover your files, the company will not guarantee that you'll get some or all of your files.

If you're planning to upgrade, make sure to backup your files before proceeding.

Intel Audio device drivers

While there hasn't been a lot of reports, as the new version became available, the Microsoft support website started warning users about a compatibility issue with a "range of Intel Display Audio device drivers," which can cause excessive processor utilization and significantly affect battery life.

According to the company's support site, "if you see a "What needs your attention" notification" when trying to upgrade, and the Intel Display Audio device driver (intcdaud.sys, versions 10.25.0.3 – 10.25.0.8) is installed on your system, you should click the Back button to cancel the installation. Otherwise, you will end up with problems.

If you're unable to get the October update because of this issue, Intel already released an update (version 10.25.0.10) that includes a fix for this compatibility problem.

Slow installation

Although there are a lot of factors that can affect the installation process, several users have been concerned about the time that it takes to install this release.

A Reddit user said:

Windows 10 October 2018 update - Stuck at 0% for 4 hours.

At the Microsoft forums another user explains a similar scenario:

When I try to update my laptop containing Windows Enterprise to Windows 10's October 2018 Update (version 1809). It gets stuck on 42% after several reboots. When I do a clean install with an ISO, it installs alright. I have the same issue on another laptop. >

Apps problems with Windows 10 version 1809

In addition to the installation problems, there has been a lot of complaints about apps breaking, disappearing, or not connecting to the internet.

Microsoft Store apps connectivity

While you can fix most app-related problems by reinstalling the app in question, this time around, after installing the October 2018 Update, many users noticed that apps, such as Microsoft Edge, Microsoft Store, and other modern apps could not connect to the internet even though the device had a working connection to the internet.

On Reddit, user zeroomegazx explained:

After applying 1809 to a very clean install of 1803 most of my apps will not see network connections including the windows store. IT professional here so I've tried all of the usual stuff. Anyone else experiencing this? Makes me mad cuz I can't play Forza...... among other network related apps...

At the official Microsoft forums, Gregorc Simon shared a similar story:

I have just updated my PC from 1803 to 1809 on company's PC. Now I noticed that Edge and Mail apps are not working. Meanwhile, I can use Outlook, Chrome, Firefox, IE without any problem.

On Windows Central, reader Vandrey Trindade explained:

I'm testing Windows 10 October Update 2018 on my work machine, it installed without problems. The only thing not working is modern apps not been aware of my Internet connection. Windows Store, Feedback hub, Movies, and TV... none of them are working because they can't find my Internet. Everything else is connecting just fine, even Windows Update searching online... lol

Microsoft hasn't acknowledged these as bugs with the October 2018 Update, but it appears that modern apps, including Microsoft Edge and Microsoft Store, relies on the Transfer Control Protocol / Internet Protocol version 6 (TCP/IPv6), and if this feature is disabled on the device, then apps won't be able to connect to the internet.

In many cases, users also reported that switching the network profile to "Private" to "Public" fixes the issue.

Microsoft Edge favorite syncing

Several users also complained about Microsoft Edge deleting their collection of favorite.

For example, on Reddit, user NyanPoyo reported the following:

After 1809 update I lost all my favorites in MS Edge on my PC. Because both PC and Phone are linked to the same MS Account my phone just synchronized to PC. Now favorites are empty on both devices. Thank you, MS.

In a different thread, user wotmate shares:

shared favorites are completely gone since updating my PC to 1809. Everything seems to be syncing OK, EXCEPT edge.

Bluetooth notifications

Also, several Windows 10 users have been reporting problems with Bluetooth devices after upgrading to version 1809.

User hasnogames on Reddit said:

My Sony MDR-1000x worked flawlessly in 1803, probably the first time in Win10's history, but after 1809 they constantly either lose connection or go mute every other second.

User zahaco shared a similar problem:

After updating to 1809 my Bluetooth earbuds have started to intermittently cut out. They appear to still be paired/connected, but I have to reset the sound output in affected programs (or re-connect them) in order for them to work again.

Other users also complained about Windows 10 unable to display battery percentage for the Xbox Wireless Controller:

1809: Still no Bluetooth battery percentage for Xbox Controller. Seriously? ).

Image source: Reddit

Feature problems with Windows 10 version 1809

In the early days of version 1809, a small number of users have also recorded problems with various features, including File Explorer, notifications, Task Manager, and Start menu.

File Explorer dark theme

Perhaps one of the biggest visual changes that you will find with the October 2018 Update is the new dark theme for File Explorer, but it appears that the feature isn't working as expected for many users.

For example, a user on Reddit reports:

File explorer dark mode not fully dark.

User VKorso on Reddit said:

I did a clean install however after reboot Dark Mode shows me now this… horizontal ugly bar, can I "reset" dark mode?

At the official Microsoft forums, user tr3zyy shares:

I updated to V 1809 last night, and I am having issues with the dark mode in file explorer and drop down dialog boxes.

Image source: Microsoft forums

A lot of frustrated users made their voice heard by simply showing a screenshot of the problem using the dark theme in File Explorer:

Notifications

Another bug that seems to be causing headaches is a problem with the notification mechanism. A lot of users have said that after upgrading to Windows 10 version 1809, they stopped receiving toast notifications and notifications no longer appear in Action Center.

Tailb_Dota on Reddit said:

"No New Notifications" magically appears/disappears. Also, Action Center sometimes shows on the other side. v. 1809.

In a different thread, user chandrashehar_sigh shares a similar story:

Notifications not showing after updating to 1809. For example after a screenshot, the snip and sketch pop-up must come as a banner notification. That doesn't show up. Nothing else shows up ever after the update.

Image source: Reddit

In the Microsoft forums, Radek Šamánek shares:

I updated all my devices to the newest windows 10 build 1809. On both surface 3 and laptop Lenovo G580 I experience a problem with not working windows notifications. The notifications icon in the Windows 10 task bar tells me I have new notifications, but when I click on it, I can not access them because the action center is empty.

Microsoft hasn't acknowledged a problem with notifications, but some users are suggesting to revise the Background Apps page in the "Privacy" settings section and checking apps you want to receive notifications fixes the problem.

Start menu

The Start menu also seems to have a few issues as several users have noted problems with the user interface and search.

For instance, on Reddit, user PM_COFFEE_TO_ME, posted a screenshot that clearly shows that search is not working as expected.

Image source: Reddit

User PrvRyan also shared another screenshot that shows how Live Tiles overlap when pinned to the Start menu.

Image source: Reddit

Also, at the official Microsoft forums, JoelBoydston1 complains about Start menu settings getting reset after the upgrade.

I've just installed the win 10 fall updates (version 1809). Now, whenever I reboot, windows restores the default start menu apps and icons, eliminating my customizations.

Disk Cleanup

Although the legacy Disk Cleanup tool doesn't seem to have problems, many people have been reporting potential accidentally file deletion as a result of the utility introducing a new option to delete the contents from the "Downloads" folder.

On Reddit, user wewegoeswild reports:

Windows 10 1809 Update includes Downloads Folder in the Disk Cleanup. Please do not include them, almost all of my files are still in the downloads folder.

The Disk Cleanup tool is now a deprecated feature starting with the October 2018 Update, and it's recommended to use Storage sense to free up disk space.

Settings

A small number of people have also complained about the upgrade process deleting their custom settings.

For example, a user from the Microsoft forums reported the following:

Latest October feature update reset and wiped things that weren't supposed to be wiped.

Some of the settings that the October 2018 Update deleted, include:

  • Task scheduler tasks have been brought back to default values, history has been wiped and turned off.
  • All past events viewable through Event Viewer have been wiped.
  • System restore has been shut off, and all restore points removed.
  • Windows update shows no updates in update history other than "Feature update to Windows 10, version 1809 Successfully installed on ‎03/‎10/‎2018" meaning that all past updates history has been removed.

On Reddit, user wthreex complains:

Why do all my settings change for each update? Like: Background desktop, sound setting, folder option, Everything! How do I stop this?

Although this may seem like a bug (as we've seen reports in the past), in the same thread, another Reddit user suggested that this particular problem could have occurred as a result of a corrupt profile, in which case, Windows 10 ended up applying the default settings.

Also, at the Microsoft forums, user ForsterM shares:

I installed Windows 10 1809 on my PC (automated update). I didn't have any Data loss, but one thing that's annoying is, I changed my Start menu (deleted some tiles, add new tiles, etc.) but when I restarted my PC, all changes are gone. I tried it several times without success.

Login

In addition, there have been various complaints filed about users unable to sign in to their account after upgrading to the Windows 10 October 2018 Update.

A user at the Microsoft forums said:

One desktop lost my login password and would not let me back in. I was lucky to find A YouTube video on how to get back in without my password. Microsoft should have tested this version 1809 better. This could cause major problems for users.

Also, on a different thread, user InformanceICT explains:

Today colleges of mine started to get the Windows 10 v 1809 update. Nothing to worry about, really, was my thought. But as the update finished, logging in 'stalled' the computer.

Performance problems with Windows 10 version 1809

While most people would expect a new version to perform better than a previous release, some users have been experiencing performance issues after installing the October 2018 Update.

Task Manager

Windows 10 users who recently upgraded to the October 2018 Update quickly started noticing that the Task Manager wasn't displaying accurate processor usage.

On Reddit, user invisiblehacker explained:

When I open my task manager and switch to more details. The CPU usage of the processes has one more division by 10. For example, when I open chrome, it will show the overall CPU usage to be 100% but chrome's usage to be 3-4 %.

User FF-2018, at the official Microsoft forums, reports in more details the same problem:

This bug was introduced in Windows 1809 (Redstone 5 Oct 2018 Update). The Task Manager reports total CPU use correctly, as is confirmed by the Resource Monitor. The Resource Monitor reports CPU usage by individual apps correctly, but the Task Manager does not. Instead, the Task Manager reports a fictitiously low figure, less than 10% of the actual usage for individual apps, even though total CPU use is reported correctly. This bug can be reproduced by doing a CPU-intensive task such as video encoding (H264 or H265), and in multiple instances, if need be.

The good news about this problem is that Microsoft has confirmed that this is a bug with the Windows 10 October 2018 Update, and it's working on a fix.

Gaming

Performance while gaming seems to have affected a few Windows 10 users after upgrading to version 1809.

For example, on Reddit, user gitbotv complained about low frame per second (fps):

Is anyone else getting low FPS in OBS which also translates to the Stream?

Although some other users suggested the problem was a graphics driver related issue, gitbotv said that after playing around with the settings, disabling Game Mode in the Settings app fixed the problem.

In a different conversation, user WhyAaatroxWhy reports:

After the latest 1809 October update, it became very sluggish both in-game and on-desktop.

In the same thread another user shares the same frustration:

Very sluggish even after dduing and reinstalling drivers. I've installed at least 3 different drivers and done 4 different ways of installing them (...), And the only better gaming experience I got was installing previous drivers 389.xx then dirty installing 399.24 on top of it and then reinstalling my monitor drivers. But honestly, I'm going to chalk it up to this October update and hope they release a fix.

Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)

After halting the distribution of the new version, Microsoft released an update to fix the data loss problem, but it appears that cumulative update is causing Blue Screen of Death errors on some devices from HP.

According to Reddit users, update KB4464330 that bumps the version number to build 17763.55 is causing bug checks that are not easy to fix:

One of These 'Quality' Updates Can Cause an Unrecoverable WDF_VIOLATION Blue Screen Error & Make Your PC Unbootable!

The Microsoft forums also includes similar reports:

This update has hit several computers in our organization, and it's causing them to all blue screen and prompts the user to perform a Windows repair. Performing a system restore from the day before seems to fix it for now.

Wrapping things up

And these are just some of the problems and complains. Across the web, you'll find a lot of reports unveiling other isolated incidents with the October 2018 Update. Again, no everyone is having issues, but it's now becoming evident that Microsoft is having update quality control problems, as the company has millions of people testing pre-releases of Windows 10 and some of these issues could have been prevented.

In the case that the October update isn't available for your device automatically, it's recommended not to install it manually until you know for sure that it's safe to upgrade. You can always block the update using this guide.

If you can't wait, don't forget to create a full backup of your computer or at least a backup of your files before proceeding with the install. In addition, you can also remove apps that may cause conflicts, and disconnecting unnecessary peripherals to prevent problems during the installation.

If you stumble upon issues with version 1809, remember to share them in the comments, or use the Windows Central forums to get help. Also, don't forget to check our comprehensive guide to troubleshoot and fix problems with this update.

More Windows 10 resources

For more helpful articles, coverage, and answers to common questions about Windows 10, visit the following resources:

This post may contain affiliate links. See our disclosure policy for more details.