Microsoft is in the final month of its free Windows 10 upgrade offer for Windows 7 and 8.1 users, and it plans to nag some of those owners with a full-screen update message before the offer ends on July 29.

Windows 10 nag screen

The new upgrade message was first noted this week on a Microsoft support page (via ZDNet). If you see this message, and then click or tap on the "Remind me later" option, you will see it again after three days

Thankfully, there are a number of ways Windows 7 and 8.1 PC owners can avoid seeing this message, or only see it one time:

  • You have a recent version of the "Get Windows 10" app installed.
  • You have selected the Do not notify me again option.
  • Your computer is detected to be incompatible with Windows 10.
  • You have previously uninstalled Windows 10 after you upgrade.
  • Your Windows 10 installation failed and rolled back.
  • You have hidden the "Get Windows 10" app notifications.
  • You have disabled the Windows 10 upgrade or you have disabled the offer screen through registry key settings.

Microsoft announced earlier this week that Windows 10 is currently running on over 350 million active devices.