Elden Ring Gameplay OverviewSource: Bandai Namco

Elden Ring is the next big action role-playing game from developer FromSoftware and publisher Bandai Namco. Ahead of the game's launch, some players are going to get their hands on it, with some dedicated Elden Ring network test sessions. Right now, it's unclear whether this is merely the first found of playtesting or whether this is the only chance anyone will have to try the game ahead of launch.

FromSoftware's long history of hardcore titles means it's quite possible Elden Ring will be one of the best Xbox RPGs available when it launches. If you want to learn more about what's in store with a first hands-on trial of the game, we've got you covered.

Elden Ring network test dates, times, and schedule

Elden Ring Gameplay OverviewSource: Bandai Namco

The Elden Ring network test is taking place at very specific times, with each session available for a three-hour period. There'll be five sessions in all taking place from Nov. 12 through Nov. 14, so no matter what time zone you're in, there should be at least one or two tests that fall at a good time for you to play. With that said, it's also a fairly limited span of a single weekend, so maybe keep your calendar clear. We've got the schedule laid out below:

Date Pacific Time Eastern Time British Summer Time
Nov. 12 (Session 1) 3 a.m.-6 a.m. PT 6 a.m.-9 a.m ET 11 a.m.-2 p.m. BST
Nov. 12 (Session 2) 7 p.m.-10 p.m. PT 10 p.m.-1 a.m. ET 3 a.m.-6 a.m. BST
Nov. 13 (Session 3) 11 a.m.-2 p.m. PT 2 p.m.-5 p.m. ET 7 p.m.-10 p.m. BST
Nov. 14 (Session 4) 3 a.m.-6 a.m. PT 6 a.m-9 a.m ET 11 a.m.-2 p.m BST
Nov. 14 (Session 5) 7 p.m.-10 p.m. PT 10 p.m.-1 a.m. ET 3 a.m.-6 a.m. BST

Please note that this test is only available on Xbox Series X, Xbox Series S, Xbox One, PS5, and PS4. Right now, it looks like there won't be a test for PC players.

What does this Elden Ring network test include?

Elden Ring Gameplay OverviewSource: Bandai Namco

Outside of the aforementioned information on how long players will get to try the game, it's not clear how much of the game will be included in this closed network test. Past FromSoftware tests of games such as the Dark Souls trilogy or Bloodborne consisted of smaller area, generally as "slices" from early on or partway through the game in question.

A huge feature of Elden Ring is how it's the first true open world game that FromSoftware has done, so it's possible this network test could provide a larger look at the game than tests for past titles.

How to play the Elden Ring network test and download size

Elden Ring Gameplay OverviewSource: Bandai Namco

The Elden Ring network test is available for anyone who was selected by signing up for the network test previously. Sign-ups are now closed and it's worth noting that not everyone who signed up got selected, as FromSoftware isn't looking for a massive number of testers, at least not right now.

If you were selected, you'll get an email from Bandai Namco with instructions for downloading the network test to your console. Here's how much space you'll need per platform:

  • Xbox Series X: 7.89 GB

We don't currently have the download size of the test on other platforms, but will be updating this whenever that information becomes available.

Elden Ring is currently scheduled to launch on Feb. 25, 2022, on Xbox Series X, Xbox Series S, Xbox One, PC, PS5, and PS4.

A brand-new adventure

Elden Ring Key Art Reco

Elden Ring

Elden Ring ... oh, Elden Ring!

Elden Ring is FromSoftware's next fantasy epic. If you're selected, you'll be one of the ones to get a chance to play it early and test out the multiplayer functionality.

We may earn a commission for purchases using our links. Learn more.