Rainbow Six Siege Ember Rise locks down September 11 release date

Rainbow Six Siege Amaru
Rainbow Six Siege Amaru (Image credit: Ubisoft)

What you need to know

  • Rainbow Six Siege Ember Rise hits Xbox One, PS4, and PC on September 11.
  • Ubisoft has scheduled a staged per-platform rollout over three hours, starting 9 AM ET.

Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Siege will receive its next major update on September 11, 2019, Ubisoft has announced. Tailing three weeks of PC testing, Operation Ember Rise hits the tactical multiplayer shooter on Wednesday for all platforms. The third season of Year 4 brings two new playable Operators to the roster, alongside a full rework of existing map, Kanal.

Amaru and Goyo are the stars of Ember Rise, shaking up gameplay with a variety of new tools. The Latin American duo bring a grappling hook to quickly scale and enter the objective, while the incendiary "Volcan Shield" stows a blazing inferno just one bullet away. The fresh recruits already prove promising for all levels of play, injecting new variables in the game's evolving meta. The update also packs the latest of map reworks, revisiting Kanal with a hyper-tuned flow and refreshed visual palette.

With Operation Ember Rise poised for September 11, Ubisoft has outlined deployment plans for all platforms. The rollout will see each platform offline for one hour, before restoring with Ember Rise content.

  • PS4: 9am EDT / 1pm UTC - 1 hour downtime
  • Xbox One: 10am EDT / 2pm UTC - 1 hour downtime
  • PC: 11am EDT / 3pm UTC - 1 hours downtime

Upon launch, Amaru and Goyo will be exclusive to Rainbow Six Siege Year 4 Pass (opens in new tab) holders, with seven-day exclusivity to September 18. Remaining players can purchase the Operators for both 25,000 Renown or via the game's premium currency, with 600 R6 Credits. The Kanal map rework, seasonal cosmetics, and general balancing changes are available for all from launch.

In the meantime, Rainbow Six Siege is now available starting at $25 on Amazon.

Matt Brown is Windows Central's Senior Editor, Xbox & PC, at Future. Following over seven years of professional consumer technology and gaming coverage, he’s focused on the world of Microsoft's gaming efforts. You can follow him on Twitter @mattjbrown.