Skip to main content

Gamescom 2021 Xbox Stream to show off updates for Microsoft's 'biggest exclusive games lineup ever'

Gamescom 2021 Banner
Gamescom 2021 Banner (Image credit: Microsoft)

What you need to know

  • The Gamescom 2021 Xbox Stream will be held on August 24, 2021 at 1 PM EST.
  • Gamescom is an entirely virtual experience in 2021.
  • Microsoft promises to share updates and gameplay of its "biggest exclusive games lineup ever."

Microsoft will show off gameplay and updates for its biggest upcoming games at Gamescom 2021. This year, Gamescom is an entirely virtual event due to the ongoing global pandemic. The Xbox stream will kick off on August 24, 2021 at 1 PM EST (10 AM PST). The next day, August 25, 2021, Gamescom: Opening Night Live will stream at 2 PM EST (11 AM PST).

During the Gamescom 2021 Xbox Stream, Microsoft will share in-depth updates and gameplay for some of its upcoming games. Hosts Parris Lilly and Kate Yeager will also discuss third-party titles that are on the way to Xbox Game Pass. This stream will focus on updates to games that have already been announced, so people shouldn't expect any new reveals.

The event will be streamed on YouTube, Twitch, Facebook Gaming, and Twitter. It will also be shown on other sites in select regions, including VK.com in Russia and Bilibili in China. Microsoft will support 30 languages for its stream.

See more

To go along with Gamescom, Microsoft will hold a sale for gamers in Europe. There will be discounts of up to 75% on Xbox titles and some of the best PC games.

The following day, Geoff Keighley will host Gamescom: Opening Night Live, which starts at 2 PM EST on August 25, 2021. Microsoft also points people to Bethesda Germany's livestream on August 26, 2021.

While many large events remain virtual, Microsoft still plans to interact with fans with a special edition of Xbox Fanfest (opens in new tab). The company promises more details about the event in the near future.

Sean Endicott
News Writer and apps editor

Sean Endicott brings nearly a decade of experience covering Microsoft and Windows news to Windows Central. He joined our team in 2017 as an app reviewer and now heads up our day-to-day news coverage. If you have a news tip or an app to review, hit him up at sean.endicott@futurenet.com (opens in new tab).