Skip to main content

Destiny 2 The Witch Queen launch time, preload, and maintenance schedule

Destiny 2 The Witch Queen Savathun
Destiny 2 The Witch Queen Savathun (Image credit: Bungie, Inc.)

Expansions are always a high point for any live service game and there is none more anticipated than the latest Destiny 2 expansion, The Witch Queen. After its longest season to date, coming in at a whopping six months, The Witch Queen and Destiny 2's latest season, the Season of the Risen, is nearly here.

Here's everything you need to know about The Witch Queen and the Season of the Risen's launch time, preload information, maintenance, and more.

Destiny 2 The Witch Queen: What you need to know

While the Season of the Risen and The Witch Queen are not the same product, they will be released at the same time. The duo arrive on Feb. 22, 2022, and with that, there will be an extensive amount of content added to Destiny 2.

All of the content within these packages is not yet known, but the seasonal content that forms the Season of the Risen is expected to release slowly over a three-month period, as has been commonplace with the majority of previous seasons. However, the majority of content associated with The Witch Queen will be available upon its launch. Here's what to expect from the two expansions, once they drop.

  • A revision of Destiny 22's staple PvEvP game mode, Gambit
  • An overhaul of the Void subclass Bungie has branded as "Void 3.0"
  • Weapon crafting through a location known as The Enclave
  • A new weapon type called known as the "Glaive"
  • A new raid within Savathun's Throne World
  • New exotic weapons and armor
  • A sizeable balance patch
  • The Conflict Eternal six-player matchmade activity
  • Savathun's Throne Worlds as explorable locations
  • Returning crucible maps
  • Two new strikes
  • Plus, a whole host of world based loot to pursue

The release will start with scheduled maintenance, taking the game offline for a period of time, followed by an opportunity to preload, ahead of its formal release.

When does Destiny 2 The Witch Queen maintenance start?

Destiny 2 The Witch Queen Hardmode

Source: Bungie, Inc. (Image credit: Source: Bungie, Inc.)

Bungie has confirmed that Destiny 2's servers will be coming offline ahead of the launch. So, for those trying to squeeze out the last of the current season, take note of the times below and make sure you complete all your activities before Bungie flick the big switch.

Region/CountryLocal TimeUTC
Australia2pm (AEDT) Feb. 22, 20223am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
BrazilMidnight (BRT), Feb. 22, 20223am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
China11am (CST), Feb. 22, 20223am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
Columbia10pm (COT), Feb. 21, 20223am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
Egypt5am (EET), Feb. 22, 20223am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
France4am (CET), Feb. 22, 20223am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
JapanMidday (JST), Feb. 22, 20223am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
Mexico9pm (CST), Feb. 21, 20223am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
New Zealand4pm (NZDT), Feb. 22, 20223am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
Poland4am (CET), Feb. 22, 20223am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
Russia6am (MSK), Feb. 22, 20223am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
Saudi Arabia6am (AST), Feb. 22, 20223am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
Singapore11am (SGT), Feb. 22, 20223am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
South Africa5am (SAST), Feb. 22, 20223am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
South KoreaMidday (KST), Feb. 22, 20223am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
United Arab Emirates7am (GST), Feb. 22, 20223am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
United Kingdom3am (GMT), Feb. 22, 20223am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
United States of America7pm (PST), Feb. 21, 2022
9pm (CST), Feb. 21, 2022
10pm (EST), Feb. 20, 2022
3am UTC, Feb. 20, 2022

Destiny 2 The Witch Queen preload start time and date

Destiny 2 The Witch Queen Strike

Source: Bungie, Inc. (Image credit: Source: Bungie, Inc.)

After Bungie pulls the plug on Destiny 2 servers, there will be a two-hour period before the preload, update, and hotfix for The Witch Queen expansion will start to roll out across all platforms. While the times and dates are universal, the availability may be based on your region and preference of platform.

Bungie has advised that those playing on PlayStation 4 (PS4) will also be required to download the associated PS4 compatibility packs that are available after the completion of the Hotfix preload. It is advised that players close their Destiny 2 applications to speed up this process.

Region/CountryLocal TimeUTC
Australia4pm (AEDT), Feb. 22, 20225am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
Brazil2am (BRT), Feb. 22, 20225am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
China1pm (CST), Feb. 22, 20225am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
ColumbiaMidnight (COT), Feb. 22, 20225am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
Egypt7am (EET), Feb. 22, 20225am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
France6am (CET), Feb. 22, 20225am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
Japan2pm (JST), Feb. 22, 20225am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
Mexico11pm (CST), Feb. 21, 20225am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
New Zealand6pm (NZDT), Feb. 22, 20225am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
Poland6am (CET), Feb. 22, 20225am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
Russia8am (MSK), Feb. 22, 20225am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
Saudi Arabia8am (AST), Feb. 22, 20225am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
Singapore1pm (SGT), Feb. 22, 20225am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
South Africa7am (SAST), Feb. 22, 20225am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
South Korea2pm (KST), Feb. 22, 20225am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
United Arab Emirates9am (GST), Feb. 22, 20225am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
United Kingdom5am (GMT), Feb. 22, 20225am UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
United States of America9pm (PST), Feb. 21, 2022
11pm (CST), Feb. 21, 2022
Midnight (EST), Feb. 21, 2022
5am UTC, Feb. 21, 2022

Destiny The Witch Queen launch time and date

Destiny 2 The Witch Queen Throneworld

Source: Bungie, Inc. (Image credit: Source: Bungie, Inc.)

Destiny 2 servers will start to come online at 5 p.m. UTC, but the servers are scheduled to continue with maintenance for the following two hours. During this period, some players may gain access to Destiny 2 but, as with any previous release, high server volumes are expected and you may be expected to wait in a queue before being granted access.

Region/CountryLocal TimeUTC
Australia4am (AEDT), Feb. 23, 20225pm UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
Brazil2pm (BRT), Feb. 22, 20225pm UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
China1am (CST), Feb. 23, 20225pm UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
ColumbiaMidday (COT), Feb. 22, 20225pm UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
Egypt7pm (EET), Feb. 22, 20225pm UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
France6pm (CET), Feb. 22, 20225pm UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
Japan2am (JST), Feb. 23, 20225pm UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
Mexico11am (CST), Feb. 22, 20225pm UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
New Zealand6am (NZDT), Feb. 23, 20225pm UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
Poland11am (CET), Feb. 22, 20225pm UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
Russia8pm (MSK), Feb. 22, 20225pm UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
Saudi Arabia8pm (AST), Feb. 22, 20225pm UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
Singapore1am (SGT), Feb. 23, 20225pm UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
South Africa7pm (SAST), Feb. 22, 20225pm UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
South Korea2am (KST), Feb. 23, 20225pm UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
United Arab Emirates9pm (GST), Feb. 22, 20225pm UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
United Kingdom5pm (GMT), Feb. 22, 20225pm UTC, Feb. 22, 2022
United States of America9am (PST), Feb. 22, 2022
11am (CST), Feb. 22, 2022
Midday (EST), Feb. 22, 2022
5pm UTC, Feb. 22, 2022

It's not long until boots will touch the ground on The Witch Queen's fresh new soil, so stock up on completed bounties, finish any quests from previous seasons, and get ready for Destiny's latest expansion on Feb. 22.