Skip to main content

Madden NFL 18 free to play this weekend on Xbox One

If you've been waiting to dive into the latest Madden title, you'll get a chance to do just that for free on Xbox One this weekend. Microsoft has announced (opens in new tab) that Madden NFL 18 (opens in new tab) will be free to play from October 19 through October 22.

Unlike a most of its recent free play days, Microsoft says this one won't be restricted to Xbox Live Gold members. All Xbox One players will get to check out Madden NFL 18's offline features, including Madden's Longshot story mode. Xbox Live Gold subscribers, meanwhile, can jump into online play with Madden Ultimate Team Squads and more.

If you decide you want to pick the game up, Microsoft says it will be on sale at 33 percent off throughout the free play weekend. As usual, all of your in-game progress will carry over if you decide to buy in.

Madden NFL 18 will go free starting today, October 19 at 9 p.m. PT (12 a.m. ET) and will remain so through Sunday, October 22 at 11:59 p.m. PT (2:59 a.m. ET).

See at Microsoft (opens in new tab)

Dan Thorp-Lancaster is the Editor in Chief for Windows Central. He began working with Windows Central as a news writer in 2014 and is obsessed with tech of all sorts. You can follow Dan on Twitter @DthorpL and Instagram @heyitsdtl. Got a hot tip? Send it to daniel.thorp-lancaster@futurenet.com.